We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel In A Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent just 2 nights here, which was definitely not long enough.... but due to work commitments, we had no choice. The location is very quiet and peaceful. The hotel is larger than we expected and the rooms are very spacious with all the necessary amenities. I loved the bathroom!! A very comfortable bed and the breakfast was amazing - nice buffet style with a good selection of food to suit all tastes. We booked a romantic dinner for 2 on the beach to celebrate our anniversary, but, unfortunately, the weather didn't allow us to stay there long. But Amari gave us a complimentary cake in the room, which was sumptuous. As we were moved from outside to inside for our dinner, there was a slight mix up with the bill, which meant that they came to our room at 10:30 to amend it, but other than that - everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room... very spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiveInPattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
There are newer reviews for The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

The staff here are wonderful and couldn't do enough for us, (I was in a wheelchair).

The hotel is lovely, with really big rooms, comfy big beds, good sized bathrooms, & balconies, wooden floors, and free, quick wifi.

We were in an "accessible" room, which meant that we could wheel into the room, although the staff had to put a ramp up to the front door. There was plenty of room to manoeuvre in the room, but unfortunately there is a step into the bathroom, which was fine for me, but may not be for others. Our bathroom had both a bath, and a walk in shower, and the shower had a built in "seat", which was great, (if a little small).

We were there for our honeymoon/ anniversary so we were greeted with a lovely cake, scattered rose petals and a lovely note from the manager, which was a really nice touch.

The design of the hotel is not ideal for those in a wheelchair, but it is manageable. There are wooden walkways connecting the rooms to the reception and main restaurants. However, at the end of the walkway there are 3 steps up, and then down to the pool. This is such a shame, because without this rather pointless structure you would be able to wheel fully around the whole grounds. As it happens, in order to get to the pool, and the spa, we had to wheel all the way back to the reception area, (in the opposite direction), and access it on the other side of the hotel. This got rather annoying after 5 days.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, accessible by a lift. Unfortunately the lift is very small, and only just big enough for my manual wheelchair. Measurements should be requested first if you are in an electric wheelchair and need to use it. We also kept getting stuck in the lift, as there is a lip and a ramp at its entrance, which is really difficult to get over.

The design of the pool is also not ideal for those with mobility difficulties, as unfortunately there is only one set of steps at one end of the pool to get in and out. If therefore it is busy and you were only able to get a sun lounger at the top end of the pool, (next to the pool bar), you have to walk the entire length of the pool to be able to use it. This is shame.

This is also the case for breakfast too. Breakfast is available in one of the restaurants, and unfortunately there is a step down. Thankfully on the third day, the food & beverage manager arranged for a ramp to be put down for us, which was very much appreciated.

The shop and tour desk are accessible down a ramp, but then bizarrely, up a step?! Someone just missed the design concept with this one! The bar too, where they have live music is also up a flight of steps, so unfortunately I didn't get a chance to check this out.

Breakfast itself was really good, with a big selection of cooked breakfast, pastries, fruit etc. We were happy with both the quantity & quality.

The staff were exceptional, particularly the concierge, who would go out of his way to assist us every day, and deserves a special mention - he was lovely!

The hotel is right on the beach, but unfortunately there was quite a lot of rubbish in the water, so we spent our time at the pool instead. It's a lovely view though, looking out on the sea, from your sun lounger.

We had dinner in one of the restaurants one night, as it was included in our stay. The restaurant could do with a few more portable fans, as unfortunately I overheated so much, that I couldn't finish my dinner. This was a shame as the food was good. Unfortunately though, there were only 2 other families in the restaurant, so unfortunately very little atmosphere. Some music might have helped.

We also had a one hour massage included in our stay, and I have to say that the massage was lovely, the spa rooms beautiful, but not at all accessible. The spa is accessed up several steps, and then the rooms are down several more. They are beautiful though, and look out right on the beach, although I did feel slightly exposed at the end of the massage, with the lights on, no clothes on, and the curtains open!

All in all, a lovely hotel, with very comfortable rooms and lovely, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor accessible room if in a wheelchair.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelindaMulberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during a weekend motorcycle trip. The hotel is nice, but a bit far from the main spot where all the restaurants and bars (white sand beach).

The room was large, nice and clean, with wooden floor and free Wifi. The breakfast was great with a good choice of food. The Amari is the best hotel on the island and definitely recommend it, for a stay on Koh Chang.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

People always say this hotel is 5 stars hotel in Koh Chang. But for me I can give them only 3.5-4stars. My first impression with this hotel isn't so good due to the check in service. Staff is not so helpful and give me wrong information about ABF. Room is quite old but enough space for small children. Some equipment in toilet are not functional. ABF is very simple. It's not so much choice of food, taste of food and service are average. The swimming pool is very big and very nice. This is a highlight of this hotel. Beach is beautiful but not recommend for swim. I would rate this hotel 6.5/10.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thanaphol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were blown away by the resorts gardens and pool. It is immaculate and in prime position to watch the sun se over the sea. On our holidays we never spend all or time in the resort, but everything was so divine that we ate all our meals here, enjoyed drinks at the bar and enjoyed just about everything this resort had to offer. Probably because it was slightly away from all the action, but 10/10 for everything else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was our fourth visit to this resort. Why? Because we are made to feel so much at home we keep coming back.on our first visit we stayed in a standard room which was a good size room but not great view.on subsequent visits we had deluxe room which had beautiful sea view and we could sit on our balcny in the evening and watch the wonderful sunsets.the hotel has a good location on Klong Phrao bay and although the beach immediatly in front of the hotel is a bit rocky there is a long stretch of wonderful sandy beachvery close by.Breakfast is really excellent with wide choice also Thai,Italian and european restaurants to choose from in the evening.
Close by is a small selection of shops with supermarket and 2 kilometers away in Kai Bae village more restaurants and shopping.All in all excellent value and good location.

Room Tip: Best value deluxe room with garden and sea view.rooms are on three floors with lift.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed about 3 nights here and I do enjoy the facilites. The room was nice and I absolutely love the bathroom. Staffs are ok though always busy to help more. Made use of the gym and I enjoyed the privacy given thruout. Enjoyed the pool most with it's unique design but the beach was a tad disappointing. Wanted to go for a morning beach run instead of the jogging mill but when I reach the 'beach', i couldn't find a spot to even run around. Breakfast was good altho it's quite warm to eat under the sun. I would recommend this hotel to my friends but I would not come back to Koh Chang again. There should be better islands in Thailand for me to explore...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venusattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.7 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.1 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#10 of 73 in Ko Chang
992 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.4 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
1.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Address: 88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £38 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Emerald Cove Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wild beauty and peaceful setting of Koh Chang, one of Thailand's best-kept island secrets, at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang. This five-star Koh Chang resort on set on secluded Klong Prao Beach offers 165 rooms and suites, all with views of either the sea to the west or the jungle-covered hills to the east. While the soothing modern Thai interiors of the rooms and suites tempt you to relax inside, Koh Chang adventures await just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Emerald Cove Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Amari Emerald Cove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing