We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings - Not so beautiful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings - Not so beautiful service”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I recently (1 week ago), spend 5 days at this 'paradise on earth' hotel. You cannot ask for a better view than this. The palm trees reach further up than you can see, without starring into the sun. The surroundings are just out of breath, and if you want picture gold to make all of your friends drop their jaws, then this is the place to go.

The beach is less than a mile from every room at the hotel, and when you reach the hour of the day, when the sun sets, then you want to stay even closer to the beach, because that sight is what you came for - trust me, it's gorgeous.

Despite all the glamour, this is the most expensive hotel on Koh Chang, which is understandable. However, on the service part there are a few disappointments. Whenever you stay at a hotel, you want to try their food at one point, but not here. The breakfast - which is included - is of course amazing, apart from the waiting, if you arrive together with everyone else, then there's a long waiting-line until you get a table, so be there early or late. When it comes to lunch and dinner - which is overpriced - then you are really left with a bad aftertaste.. The food is worse than any mediocre restaurant you can find along the beach, and the time it takes, wow. The entertainment when I was there, was a band consisting of 2 girls that rarely hit the nodes, and a guy on a guitar who never hit them. A long lasting torture was our experience when eating dinner at the hotel.

Overall a really nice hotel on the outside, but be careful to not dig deeper than that.

Room Tip: A room with beach view is not necessary as they charge twice the price, while you can still see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    281
    78
    19
    10
See reviews for
252
510
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

25/2 - 3/2 2014
Second time around. We were here exactly two years ago, and we liked it so much we came back. Not much changed. Buildings with rooms surrounding the pools, plot situated on the beach. Big nice rooms, 45 square meters, with all facilities and a 5 square meter balcony. Room is above standard for this type of hotel. Room cleaning is good but not perfect. Only critisism; the pillows and bed cover in syntethic material. Not very nice. Breakfast, included in the price (I like that), and restaurants of very good standard. Romantic dinner at the beach to be higly recomended, they do it really nicely. All personell are very friendly and servicable, even if sometimes difficulties with english. Especially we would like to mention Supichaya for a very friendly and efficient help with our air tickets. The garden is nice and well kept, but not very big. Deck chairs are many and very close, but with the advantage that there is always availability. Like on last visit, pool toilets could be cleaned more often.
A long walk on the beach outside the hotel is a must.

Room Tip: We go for rooms 300-302-304-306-308-310. Third floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsonMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We are returning guests at the Amari Koh Chang. Came there 5 years ago and since then returning once or twice per year. Still we are surprised about the ever increasing level of service. You can feel and see the management around the place. Staff is very motivated and absolutely friendly. Breakfast buffet offers a wide variety. At the pool and beach area there are always enough sun chairs, so no need to fight for a place in the sun. Always looking forward to the happy hour at the beach to enjoy our sun downer at the beach. Room are spacious and clean. We always feel at home there. Peter, thank you for the great time!!! We will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YenniBze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very well-run hotel, well maintained and with attention to details. friendly staff everywhere. Good restaurants but remember that they add 10% service + 7% taxes on all advertised prices.
What could be better? prices too high in the spa.
Tips for guests:
1) the hotel next door on beach side (VJ Hotel) serve good BBQ every evening for very reasonable prices 300-400 Baht per person with free salads and fruits buffet.
2) the second hotel on the same beachside (The Dewa Koh Chang) have a very nice beach Spa where you can enjoy all kind of massage for very law prices (1 hour for 300 Baht).
Overall Amari is one of the best hotels on the island and a hotel that we can highly recommend to others and will certainly return to if we come back to Koh Chang.

Room Tip: Choose seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Thank you for an wonderful and amazing vacation. I just had a great time. In all aspects during my stay, I have to say WOW. It is a very well customer focused, organized and friendly running Resort. YOU MADE MY VACATION!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank happykater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My vacation in Kho Chang was the most amazing vacation I ever had. The Amari resort was worth it. Amazing service, clean rooms, nice pool, great beach, reasonable pricing in restaurants and for their services. It was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Udo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochboisdale, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The title should give a hint.
We just spent 6 nights here and overall had a super time.
I feel some reviewers on Trip Advisor do NOT give local
management a chance to put those little or not so little problems
right, and just leap in with a negative review.
We did have a problem with our plumbing which was dealt with
efficiently and to our satisfaction.
This is a large modern Hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff team.
Our room did not have the most fantastic views 272 but was large and well
appointed.
We ate on three occasions in the Hotel in the Italian and traditional Thai restaurants
The food was excellent and served with 5star aplomb.
Yes it was pricey but no more and far less than many places I have eaten in the U.K.
If your looking for a great place to eat just outside the Hotel is OWEN just on the left
we ate here on a number of occasions great food and much much cheaper,
but if you want to splash out as I said the two places in the hotel were fantastic.
We did find out the hard way that you can over order easily in the Thai and found we
had enough to feed far more than just the two of us.
I understand they are going to introduce a taster menu to help Thai food novices
like ourselves.
My wife choose to have her hair cut at the spa and was very pleased with the results.
So a big thank you Amari Emerald for our first Hotel experience in Thailand.

Room Tip: not all rooms have great views if important to you check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.7 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.1 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
971 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.4 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Property: The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Address: 88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Emerald Cove Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wild beauty and peaceful setting of Koh Chang, one of Thailand's best-kept island secrets, at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang. This five-star Koh Chang resort on set on secluded Klong Prao Beach offers 165 rooms and suites, all with views of either the sea to the west or the jungle-covered hills to the east. While the soothing modern Thai interiors of the rooms and suites tempt you to relax inside, Koh Chang adventures await just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Emerald Cove Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Amari Emerald Cove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing