We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful 22 night stay - Thank you Amari Emerald Cove Resort.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful 22 night stay - Thank you Amari Emerald Cove Resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a wonderful stay. Tonight is the last night of a 22 night stay.
Our pickup from the airport was on time, the ferry journey was great as we could stay in the cool van, due to my back problems I did not want to climb stairs.
We had a very smooth check in, welcome drinks, refreshing towels. From the management team Peter welcomed us and made us feel very welcome. There was no waiting for our room which was abt 50 square meters, a bath and shower room was in building1, 3rd floor, pool and ocean facing. Every building has a lift and stairs for the healthy folk.
A very comfortable bed, 4 pillows of different firmness, fruit bowl which was changed every 3 days, a daily newspaper.
Bed turn down nightly by in our case Dom, what a lovely cheerful lass. Out room was always spot on.
The breakfast - was amazing. We ate every morning at 8am, so we never had to wait. The range of food would suit any nationality. You could eat inside or out under umbrellas.
Every day you see management around the place making sure everything and everyone is ok. Staff are very motivated and extremely friendly. All have good English and ever helpful with any queries. At the pool and beach area there are always enough sun chairs, so no need to fight for a place in the sun. The beach does not have rolling waves and is suitable for people to wade out in gentle waters.
Happy hour is from 4 - 6pm every night with 1/2 price drinks.
The pool is what most would call a lap pool, very long in length, easy step access at 1 end, there is also a Jacuzzi and a toddler pool. The spa :-))) Total relaxation. The treatment rooms are separate and facing the ocean. There is also a well equipped gym.
There are 3 restaurants, Italian, Thai and the beach area by the pool, all having a great menu and very reasonable prices.
Will I return, very much so.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    271
    78
    19
    10
See reviews for
241
502
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Amari Emerald Cove for 8 nights.

After the long drive from Bangkok the Amari is definitely the best place to make the 6 hour trip worth it! The welcome from the team at the hotel is great; smooth check in, welcome drinks, refreshing towels and a personal tour of the hotel and room.

We booked a Grand Deluxe Ocean Facing room which offered indeed Ocean view, as well as pool view. The room was very, very spacious. We had asked for 2 extra beds for our children and with the beds in place there still was plenty of living space!

The bathroom had a separate bath and shower. A minor detail about the shower was that the temperature was not easy to set and the temperature was not very constant.

Wifi was relatively fast and free.

The garden, pools and private beach where immaculately clean and very well maintained.

On the first night we ate at the hotel's Sassi Restaurant. The kids loved their pizza! For the rest of our stay we ate at different restaurants on the neighboring beach. They are much cheaper and offer also great food and drinks. Plus, the children could continue to play on the beach while we would sip our Caipirinha. We also ate twice at Phu-Talay a great fish restaurant, which is located next to Aana Resort (worth the 10 minute drive!).

The breakfast buffet was super with lots of great food to choose from.

In the future when we return to Koh Chang we would not hesitate and we would stay at the Amari again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra baht, dollar or euro and book an Ocean View room. The other rooms all look towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ErikB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned after spending 13 nights at the Amari Emerald Cove hotel. Our experience was that the hotel was very comfortable and the staff were fantastic who went out of their way to help. Managers were always around and approachable. We were met by Miguel who is the resident manager who was extremely pleasant and always took time to greet us and ask how we were doing . Breakfasts were brillant with plenty of choice and something for everyone. We dined twice in the hotel the italian beach barbecue was outstanding with great food and lots of choice. We dined one evening at Simply Thai and again the food was brillant.
Our room was a beach view and was extremely comfortable and clean.
i celebrated my birthday there and received a lovely cake and card which was a lovely suprise - thank you once again Miguel.
i will certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and will hopefully return soon.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra for a beach or pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is an amazing hotel situated at the best location on Koh Chang. Within walking distance to many great restaurants in Kai Bae and Klong Prao.

The hotel is quite big but the staff and specially the managers make it feel like a very personal experience. The service is excellent. Our room with ocean view was awesome and we really enjoyed the view. We also got everything you could ask for when traveling with an infant - things we usually never get from other five stars hotels (like a separate trash bin for diapers etc.).

We loved the breakfast which had a huge selection and - most important - everything tasted like it should!

The three swimming pools were excellent and even though there werw lots of guests it was quiet and peaceful all the time. A huge different compared to other equivalent resorts we also stayed at during our 1,5 months on Koh Chang.

The only complaint we can think of is a slow wifi connection.

We really recommend a stay at Amari!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johana889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent 8 nights here after 8 days of hectic sightseeing elsewhere in Thailand. By the time we left we were relaxed and ready to face the reality of home. Our room was large and spacious. The hotel/resort itself gave us everything we needed to unwind and enjoy relaxing. The pool was gorgeous. It was large which meant that even at peak times there was room to feel peaceful. Our breakfast each morning was sumptuous and covered every possible taste sensation. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Whenever we asked for assistance, the staff were only too happy to try and answer our questions, or to help us get to where we wanted. We ate in the Thai restaurant at Amari twice, and decided that the food was every bit as good, if not better, than a very, expensive, very highly regarded Bangkok restaurant we'd eaten at. For an exerciser, I found the gym to be well equipped and clean. We couldn't fault anything at the Amari.

Room Tip: We paid the extra for an ocean facing room and were pleased we did. It was quiet and the view did h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I finished up our time on the islands with a bit of luxury. The Amari was amazing! The pool was large, and open 24 hrs. We went for a night swim and had the pool all to ourselves and it was like a warm bath. We dined on site 3 times and the food and service were outstanding. It is close to shops and services, but unbelievably quiet for its size. The room was large, the bed was comfortable, and the staff were helpful and friendly! We spent a bit more than usual but found excellent value in return!!!
Our experience was such that we booked the Amari in Pattaya for our next two days! Superb experience with the only complaint being slow wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitspoint19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
638 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

First Impressions: we were told at Ayiapura Hotel that the Amari transfer transport would come at 12.00. It arrived at 12.30. When we reached Amari Emerald Bay, we were told that our room would not be ready for over 2 hours! Why, then, had they chosen that time to remove us from the delightful beach at the Ayiapura? We took a lunch at their Cove Restaurant, ordering Pad Thai. This looked very professional but tasted like a greasy chicken omelette inside, with no Thai spicing at all. A small bottle of Thai water is charged at 80 baht (plus 10% service and 7% tax). That is nearly £2! The local restaurants, including the one nearest the hotel, charge only 10 or 15 baht. After these unfortunate first impressions, I told my wife that I could not possibly score the hotel above 4-stars in my eventual Tripadvisor review, whatever happened subsequently.

Eventually our room was ready and it was handsome indeed. Very comfortable beds and pillows, a great balcony with an impressive sea view. The swimming pool is something like 50 metres by 15 metres and must be one of the best in Asia. The actual beach by the hotel is narrow, particularly at high tide, and the hotel lounger area is on sand-and-grass behind a beach wall. Each pair of loungers has a red sun umbrella but they are all fairly tightly packed together because the available area is limited. The loungers each have a thick mattress and are very comfortable. As the sun swings round during the day, you have to move the shades or switch loungers but this works fairly well. Between 4 and 6 the hotel has a Happy Hour where all cocktails and fruit drinks are half-price. Just as well, when you look at the full prices, but the drinks are good.

The breakfasts are excellent, with the bakery particularly good. Both crispy and soft bacon is offered. After our experience on the first day, we always ate out for lunch, walking either left or right on the beach. On our fifth evening, we decided to try the hotel's Thai restaurant after reading favourable Tripadvisor mentions. Since local water is priced at around £2 for a small bottle, as already mentioned, I ordered just one bottle to start with. A waitress arrived with a bottle, poured out two glasses for us and placed the bottle at the wall end of our table, with the name turned inwards. I spun it round and saw that it was Evian imported water, which I would never dream of ordering. The menu price for this water was an exorbitant 190 baht (+17%) = 222 baht, which is around £4.50. Most diners would let this pass, rather than risk any embarrassment. Since I was already unimpressed with their price for Thai water, I summoned the waitress and told her that I had not ordered this type of water and been given only Thai water throughout the previous 11 days of our holiday. The manageress of the restaurant was seemingly unimpressed by my point of view but after a few seconds of frowning did tell the waitress to remove our bottle and glasses and give us Thai water instead. I mention this at length because the hotel may well want to alter their questionable practice in this area, spoiling the overall impression of what is basically an excellent hotel. The ensuing meal was the best we ate in Ko Chang. We shared a dish of fried crabmeat with Thai salad. My wife then chose a Mussulman lamb curry, while I enjoyed a red duck curry. The meat and the sauce was delicious in both dishes

Room Tip: We were happy to have paid extra for an ocean view room. We were on the top floor of Block 3. Blocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.7 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
1.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Property: The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Address: 88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Emerald Cove Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wild beauty and peaceful setting of Koh Chang, one of Thailand's best-kept island secrets, at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang. This five-star Koh Chang resort on set on secluded Klong Prao Beach offers 165 rooms and suites, all with views of either the sea to the west or the jungle-covered hills to the east. While the soothing modern Thai interiors of the rooms and suites tempt you to relax inside, Koh Chang adventures await just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelbag so you can book your The Emerald Cove Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Amari Emerald Cove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing