We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect - but far from perfect - and far from everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel could really been SO much better,- if just they tried little more.

When we arrived there where no towels in our room (the same problem in our friends room). They used 2,5 hour to provide this !!! Had to wait to take shower 3 hours - when arrived.
- TV not working, bed-side lamp not working and so on...
Why not check this before allow new customers to their rooms.

The pool look VERY nice,- but water was to dirty that you could not see your fingers if you put your arm under water - so max visibility 50 cm. (When we asked in pool-bar about this, they say "Will be better tomorrow" - but this was their reply every day).

The pool-bar was only partly with staff - could wait 30-45 minutes between someone there to take your order. This is NOT ok!! No bell or anything to get anyones attention...so just had to sit and wait. Many frustrated customers near pool on a hot day.

Cleaning in room was good, but when people order food in room-service and leave plate with food still on it, in hallway - nobody come to take this away (then animals come). (This was still in the stairs after 15 hours).

Breakfast - good. But,- ants all over table, that also crawl in to food made our experience bad. So little they need to do, for fix this - but still - not care.

This hotel look very nice when you arrive, a real "hide-away", and a nice place for 2-3 nights, but bcs it is SO far from all activity you getting bored easy. To get to any shops/restaurants, you need taxi to White Sand beach, over a small mountain (very bad road), and this will cost you, if you not use hotel shuttle, that end early (7.30 pm).

All over - maybe a 4 star hotel when new - but not anymore. And to far from everything...for long-term stay.
And if staff only do SO little - more.....customers would be 10 times more satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Engely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat P, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Khun Engely,
Good day from Koh Chang,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking out your precious time in reviewing our Hotel, and providing your comments. Furthermore then in response to our comment, I would like to clarify our stand as per the review you've sent in but before I do so then I must say that It is unfortunate that you have felt that we have not lived up to your service expectations and that are Hotel Resort Property as well was not up to the standards and expectations you had when you decided to choose us as your accommodation provider in Thailand,

Moving on then I do apologise on behalf of the management that you & your friend had to go through a bit of discomfort. However, nothing was escalated to my attention as I am at the Resort at all times, and would have taken immediate action to resolve the matter and move you to a more comfortable setup. At times then due to miscommunication and minor management errors on such a large scale resort do take place but we make an effort not to let it happen too often and do the best we can to service our incoming guests,

Furthermore then your feedback on the Pool has been taken up with the Engineering Department and have actioned the request to provide our residing guests as well with clean pool and the grounds around it,

On the other hand then the resort covers a large area of 40 acres land and we try to service guests and their needs as much as possible in the best way we can, delays in picking up of meal trays, or at the pool bar are due to a seasonal shortage of staff for which we look to have replacement staff at standby to service our guests whenever possible. It is a management concern and we have taken serious steps to review this and action them in the coming weeks,

I thank you for complimenting the breakfast menu, the food & its presentation. We are in a tropical setup and as much as we would like to curtail the incoming small friendly troops of nature guests then we also share a green and friendly environment where we do not use chemicals or pesticides to harm nature. However, we have natural remedies & oils placed at all places on the resort to reduce ants, termites or mosquitoes for which we have not had any complaints till date,

Never the less, we also have our in-house shuttles in plenty to take you to the island center / shops / restaurants and Night Life but a schedule is maintained for which our shuttles run back on forth to pick our guests from the selected pick-up points. This service is FREE and available at no cost at the Resort so it is the guest’s responsibility or choice to reach out to the front desk or information counter to avail these facilities,

Finally, I would like to conclude that we cherish our guests and we try our best to service them in the best possible manner. Like I mentioned in an earlier review then we genuinely know the meaning of hospitality and our years of experience & service towards all our guests in the past would render clear evidence to it,

Never the less then we would like to thank you for visiting our Resort and hope that we could be of service to you once again in the near future if you choose us as your accommodation provider when traveling to Thailand again,


With kind & sincere regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We arrived at the hotel very hot and tired as it is quite a trek from the airport and the ferry trip felt very long. We were seated in the reception and the staff brought all the booking in forms to the seats. We were offered cold drinks and towels as well which were very welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful, whenever we phoned for anything the service was very prompt and professional. We arrived in our room and it was beautiful.It had a huge bedroom and separate bathroom and shower. We had towel art on the first day which was a nice touch. The pool was clean and the maid cleaned the room every day. Watch the room bar because if you move anything they will try to charge you for it. It was sorted out after discussion at the reception. We had a private pool so didn't use the main pool. We stayed in October so the hotel was very quiet. On the first night we ate in the restaurant and my main meal was undercooked but it was quickly rectified by the staff. Word of warning the price of wine is extortionate so be careful and I would advise drinking something else. We had room service most days for lunch and it was perfect. Quick service and good food. We went into Ko Chang most nights and ate at Buffalo Bills because the food was really good. I ate stuff from the street vendors a couple of nights and they were fine - just make sure they cook it in front of you and you will be ok. We booked the elephant trekking which I have mixed feelings about. The animals were wonderful and gentle and we got the opportunity to go swimming with them but they are not as 'free' as they make out. They are chained and work but they appear to be healthy and well looked after and when I think that I put my dogs on a lead it kind of makes sense but I couldn't help feeling sorry for them. Although I have to say it was still fantastic to be so close to these wonderful animals. We went to the Ko Chang Shooting Range which my husband wanted to do. I was going to spectate but I couldn't resist! It was great fun and very safe, I really enjoyed it. The hotel provide free transport into Ko Chang but you need to pay 300 baht to return and 650 baht after 2230 hrs. I would definitely recommend staying here - it is a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of Ko Change but that didn't bother us at all. It meant we had the choice of peace and quiet or the hustle and bustle of the town, the best of both worlds!

Room Tip: We stayed in the royal pool villa as a treat and it was definitely a good choice if you want privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burdybouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We Stayed here for 4 nights,..First time to visit Koh Chang and was very glad for choosing this resort,.Really exceed our expectation,.Friendly & Helpful staff,.A huge swimming pool with an excellent pool bar,.We Really enjoy the quiet atmosphere,We Had a nice relaxing stay..The Lady singer (Ms.Renee) is such a wonderful lady..Very Accommodating..We really enjoy listening to her music., We will definitely come back.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Found this hotel as a break on the way home from AUstralia and lucky to have done so. We booked very early for six nights and got a terrific deal. The island is about a 4 1/2 hour cab ride from the international airport, there is also a VIP bus (much cheaper but longer) then a short ferry ride after which we were picked up by a hotel shuttle. The hotel is isolated from the frenetic White Sands Beach area land has many grades of accomadation, some with private pools. We opted for a superior roomk which was spacious, well appointed and had a balconyy. The hotel is as in the pictures. I don't think it is still in the Furyama group. It is well established and the staff are efficient and very helpful. The breakfast buffet is generous and changes daily. A selection of activities are offered. Ideal for a quiet breakaway with the choice of going to the noisier nearby party area of White Sands Beach for a change of scene. A novel feature is the big flock of pecocks that roam around the grounds. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat P, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Khun Michael J.,
Good day from Koh Chang,

Thank you very much for your very kind words regarding your recent stays with us. Your comments will be valued by the entire team who will be most proud indeed to have contributed to your positive experience in Koh Chang.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang in the not too distant future.

With kind & sincere regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Excellent, very friendly staff. Great location-very quiet and relaxing. Good food and good selection. We stayed for 5 nights and had a wonderful restful time here. Swimming was great. Free use of kayaks and mountain bikes was a bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellingdog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat P, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Yellingdog25,
Good day from Koh Chang,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us following your recent stay. I am delighted to read how much you appreciated your time at “Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang”. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again in the very near future.

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We had a 4-day-company-meeting with 25 staff in Jan 2013. K.Chaiwat personally greeted and welcomed us on the 1st day. He's always attentive to our comments & requests during these 4 days. His way of treating customers is exceptionally professional and kind. It's a pleasant surprise to receive this kind of treatment by the top manager and staff. The facility is nice and clean. They're quite nice to guests even though it's during high season. We definitely want to go back!! Highly recommended to family trip and company meeting. The atmosphere is nice and relaxing. Thanks to wonderful staff and Chaiwat for great service!'

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank skvipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat P, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Khun skvipa,
Good day from Koh Chang,

May I thank you for choosing to stay with us at Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang and for the time that you have taken to write a review regarding your stay.

I am delighted to read that we were able to create a relaxing environment for you following the 4 days of meeting you had with your JNJ team. We strive to provide each of our guests with a memorable stay and I am pleased to read that the atmosphere at our resort overall played an important part in doing that.

We look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you and your JNJ team back for another relaxing stay.

With kind & sincere regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our honeymoon at this lovely place. The hotels grounds were beautiful and well-kept; the room was clean, spacious and comfortable; the staff were friendly and efficient; and the food was delicious. What more could you want?
Aiyapura is the perfect place to visit if you want a peaceful, beautiful place to holiday. Surrounded by greenery on one side and the beach on the other, everywhere you look you've got a great view.
The accommodations at the hotel range from private pool villas, to bungalows, to hotel rooms so there is something to fit every budget.
We were especially impressed with the beautiful flower arrangement we found in our room wishing us a "Happy Honeymoon."
We'd like to make special mention of the manager, K.Chaiwat, who is attentive and accommodating to all the hotel guests.
We've recommended this place to everyone we know and now that we have a family, we are eagerly looking forward to when we can return to this lovely place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMagero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat P, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Khun PMagero,
Good day from Koh Chang,

May I thank you for choosing Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang as the first stop during your honeymoon and for the time that you have taken to write a detailed review regarding your stay.

I certainly welcome your feedback as it is an important part of our self-assessment in knowing we are providing the services for the most important aspect of the hotel – our guests. Moreover, I am delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stayed so much, I have shared your comments with the team to recognize their efforts and we all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming both of you back to our resort in the very near future.

With kind & sincere regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
9.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
317 reviews
7.3 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
826 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
#12 of 73 in Ko Chang
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
5.8 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aiyapura Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aiyapura Koh Chang

Address: 29 Moo 3 | Klong Son Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Aiyapura Resort & Spa Koh Chang)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £58 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aiyapura Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Pet Friendly Resort- Situated in the Gulf of Thailand is a tropical island paradise, affectionately called Koh Chang or in English, Elephant Island. Koh Chang is the second largest island (429 square kilometres) in Thailand after Phuket. Despite its size Koh Chang is quite undeveloped. It is a picturesque island of virgin rainforest, untracked jungles, high mountains, spectacular coastlines, fine white sandy beaches, clear blue sea, colourful corals, breathtaking waterfalls and an abundance of marine life. Aiyapura Resort & Spa Koh Chang is an independent hotel located on a forty acre beach-front property in Klong Son Bay. Beautiful Thai style villas and suites are surrounded by green tropical gardens with ocean views, set around a large 30 metre leaf shaped swimming pool. We offer the perfect natural environment for rest and relaxation, and a well-located base to explore all the activities Koh Chang has to offer. Koh Chang can be reached from Bangkok by direct flight in only 45 minutes, or in 5 hours by car or the hotel van service.Only 5 minutes from the ferry pier (many high end resorts are up to 1 hour from the pier) and White Sand Beach is easily accessible with the hotel shuttle bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sawasdee, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Aiyapura Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiyapura Resort And Spa
Aiyapura Resort Koh Chang
Aiyapura Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing