We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My family and I had a great time at Aiyapura where we rented the Royal Pool Villa. The staff was very professional and accommodating.

Unfortunately I had a mishap the first night and wounded my leg really bad so there wasn't enough bathing in the pool.

All in all I would recommend any family with kids to go there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYazd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat-Furama, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear MYazd,
Good day from Koh Chang,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review. We are very happy to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Please accept again our apologise that you had a un expected accident by the pool in the first night.

Thanks for reporting the issue with the space in the inroom private pool. That' s very useful and we will look into this right away.

Thanks again for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcome you all back to Aiyapura soon again.

Thank you & Best regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

I booked a late deal to stay at this fantastic resort whilst staying with my friend in Pattaya. I have to say how happy I was with both the price, and quality of the resort. Its only about a 5 minute drive from the ferry. Checked in quickly, and the view from the restaurant behind the check in was stunning.

Top notch accomodation that you would get from most 5 star hotels in Europe, but with a better view!

Spent the next two days chilling in the infinity pool, having some food and drink and playing with my friends wee girl in the pool.

The island itself is really nice and chilled out. The main town is just nice, and I recommend the fire show on the beach and the bbq.

Will be back - first class place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtabbit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat-Furama, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Dtabbit77,
Good day from Koh Chang,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are very happy top read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Koh Chang so much and that you plan to be back again to South East Asia and Aiyapura Koh Chang in the near future. We are pleased to share your kind compliments with the whole team. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation.

We do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon again.

Thank you & Best regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed here with my 2 grown up sons and daughter in law and on arrival realized we'd found a little gem. The service from start to finish on out trip was fantastic. I have read some other reports on here saying the place was dated and dirty and can only imagine they must be confused because it was, in my opinion a spotlessly clean perfect holiday destination and one I will most definitely be returning too. Its off the beaten track but thats what makes it so fab as the resort itself gives you everything you need and if you want something a bit more lively you can hop on the free shuttle bus to go into white sands where there a good selection of bars and restaurants. If you miss the bus back you can easily hop into a cab for the ride home for the equivalent of about 4 euro. The service was top class and the food fantastic, very reasonable in price and they had a great selection.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat-Furama, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Mairead M,
Good day from Koh Chang,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. It's a great pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and that you choose the right place for your vacation in Koh Chang.

We are happy to share your review with the whole team and we are all looking forward to be able to welcome you and your family back soon again.

Thank you & Best regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel in April and hot the royal pool villa, we had the shuttle bus picking us up from the port and had a nice Thai tea welcoming us...
After 20 minutes we checked in and had our room, the bedroom was nice and have private pool with an outdoor seating area ( seating room with aircon )...
The toilet was a big problem because it was tooooo old and the shower shaped as a heart somehow, and have an extra shower room and the toilet in another room....
The hotel offers a free mountain bike every day, and we tried it but couldn't even get to the Main Street because it was soooo freaking far.

The hotel is a big zoo having monkeys and birds in many kinds wondering around...

The disappointment in the hotel was:
1. Service not that good and lazy.
2. The resort is not quit at night having all these animals and birds.
3. Have a looooot of bugs in so many kinds.
4. The hotel is not even near the white sand beach or lonely beach and need to rent a car or just go with shuttle which finishes at 7 Pm.
5. Had a problem in the air con and couldn't fix.

I liked it but don't think in going again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat-Furama, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Khun Rami E,
Good day from Koh Chang,

Thank you very much sharing your experience after your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Transportation, Welcome arrangement, Rooms and the resort's atmosphere.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the Hotel location at Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang, We are in a private bay 15 minutes away from the bustle of White Sand Beach. What makes a better hotel depends on what you look for in a hotel. If you value tranquility, privacy and traditional luxury with the beautiful views of the lagoon, the mountains and our extensive gardens then we may be what you are looking for.

We also thank you for pointing out the "little things". This is very useful and will help us to improve this area we will look into this right away.

Once again I personally thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Beautiful resort with an EXCELLENT service , free kayaking and Mountain Bike to used.
Nice swimming Pool and Kids playgroud. Free wi-fi and GYM. Free shuttle bus going to White Sand Beach by schedule. Quiet place to relax good for Fanily outing if you want a place to relax Aiyapura Resort & Spa is the best place to relax..

Room Tip: Booked Premier Room Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat-Furama, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Khun Stella B.,
Good day from Koh Chang,

Thank you for your recent stay here at Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang, Our Team is glad to hear that you loved and enjoyed your stay overall, It gives me great pleasure to share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized.

It has been our pleasure to take care of you. We look forward to have a chance to serve you and your family again in the near future.

Thank you & Best regards,
Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here over Christmas and New Year 2012/2013. Unfortunately, at best this a 3 star hotel in a 5 star setting.

Pros:

Staff – the vast majority were very helpful, smiling and polite (particularly the
ladies on reception and the guy in the breakfast room / Thai restaurant)

The spa is very good

The grounds are lovely and the setting is beautiful

The breakfast is OK and the Thai restaurant is good

Cons:

The rooms are quite dated and shabby. Sheets with holes and stains, the towels were old and worn out, the duvet had yellow stains on…I could go on.

The bathroom in our room (which was one the cheaper rooms, so they might be better in the more expensive rooms) was actually quite disgusting. The shower curtain was mouldy, there was dirt in the corners of the room and grime in-between the tiles. This was old ground in dirt, not fresh, so you could tell this wasn’t a case of not being cleaned properly but general neglect over time. Also the shower curtain was a good 40cm from the bath so the floor got soaked every time you had a shower.

The location is blessing and a curse. It’s lovely, but there is nothing in walking distance. If you want to eat or have drink outside the hotel then you have to get the shuttle bus (there are a few throughout the day, the latest being 7.30pm going and about 11pm coming back) or a cab. Because the hotel is in a scheduled location, you will end up paying 200baht each way. I’m happy to barter and once got it for 150baht, but the majority of the time the taxis will drive off rather than take less then 200baht.

There is nowhere on site to really have a drink and admire the view (apart from your balcony) and the restaurants really lack atmosphere. As a result we wanted to go into White Sands most nights, so at least once a day you end up paying for a taxi. When you consider you get can get a meal for 2 for 400baht , paying 200baht each way gets a little tiresome.

The pool is nice, but it needs maintenance. There are cracked tiles and a general lack of care.

While the majority of staff are very nice, the service is not 5 star. You will wait for everything the at the pool bar and plates were left outside our room for 2 days after we had room service.

The hotel could be great, but it needs updating and the service needs to step up. This is not five star as it says on the website. If you go with 3 star expectations and you don’t mind the travelling to reach anything, you won’t be disappointed. We had paid in advance and the hotel was full, so we didn't bother complaining. Plus the majority of the of issues, couldn't really be easily fixed.

The manager might reply to this to say these things will be looked into, but unfortunately if you look at previous posts these aren’t the first time these issues have been brought up. Also if this is a five star hotel, you really shouldn’t need your guests to tell you these fundamental things are wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat-Furama, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Khun LondonDboy,
Good day from Koh Chang,

I refer to your recent stay with us and very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang.

Glad to hear that you appreciate the excellent service by our well trained staff, the spa, outstanding Landscape, Breakfast and Ruen Plub Plueng Thai Restaurant. These have always been our unique selling points, things that valued guests like yourself have come to appreciate.

Please note that here at Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang, appeals most to people looking for a private location away from the bustle of the tourist areas. Most people appreciate the beautiful views of the lagoon and the mountains, and our extensive gardens.

I have also noted of your feedback regarding the room, service in the pool bar and room service, as well as pool maintenance. These items are definitely for our serious considerations in our future upgrading plans.

I will definitely share all your comments with the rest of the team, I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to be of service to you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you & Best regards,
Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The service was great, it really was. They must have a great GM who knows what's what, and it's probably killing him because the place is just falling apart! I entered a photo of the place into a photography competition where the category title was 'decay'.

It's sad, the place has it all, but needs investment... Desperately!

Strangly I don't feel cheated, but it is vastly over priced for having holes in you sheets, threadbeare seating, and a bathroom designed in the 60's.

Room Tip: Don't book a pool Vila, you'll be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesEtangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiwat-Furama, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Khun LesEtangs
Good day from Koh Chang,

Firstly thank you for your recent stay with us at Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang, Secondly, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our superb service from our staff. It is always gratifying for the whole team to receive these positive comments.

At the same time. We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied at all with your stay here and did not bring it to my attention or escalate the issue at the Resort to the General Manager during your stay with us for prompt action and resolution. Moving on then as soon as we received this feedback then we have gone ahead and taken action to the above issues and made the necessary changes so that are future arriving guests do not face similar problems and reviewed at great length with our Top Management regarding the upgrading plan.

Please also note that some of the renovating plan such as both interior and exterior re-painting in the guest room, Restaurants, Facilities were completed and the furniture as well as other facilities improvement plan will making start this coming green season.

It would be great and possible if you please let me know your recommendation and more details regarding the improving of Pool Villa where you stayed as I am surely that all the room are in good condition with a well maintained, please let me know directly at my email gm@aiyapura.com

Last but not least, Once again I personally thank you for your kind comments and hope we will be able to serve you once again in the near future,

With kind regards,
Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager
Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
9.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
317 reviews
7.3 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
826 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
#13 of 73 in Ko Chang
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
5.8 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aiyapura Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aiyapura Koh Chang

Address: 29 Moo 3 | Klong Son Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Aiyapura Resort & Spa Koh Chang)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £58 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aiyapura Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Pet Friendly Resort- Situated in the Gulf of Thailand is a tropical island paradise, affectionately called Koh Chang or in English, Elephant Island. Koh Chang is the second largest island (429 square kilometres) in Thailand after Phuket. Despite its size Koh Chang is quite undeveloped. It is a picturesque island of virgin rainforest, untracked jungles, high mountains, spectacular coastlines, fine white sandy beaches, clear blue sea, colourful corals, breathtaking waterfalls and an abundance of marine life. Aiyapura Resort & Spa Koh Chang is an independent hotel located on a forty acre beach-front property in Klong Son Bay. Beautiful Thai style villas and suites are surrounded by green tropical gardens with ocean views, set around a large 30 metre leaf shaped swimming pool. We offer the perfect natural environment for rest and relaxation, and a well-located base to explore all the activities Koh Chang has to offer. Koh Chang can be reached from Bangkok by direct flight in only 45 minutes, or in 5 hours by car or the hotel van service.Only 5 minutes from the ferry pier (many high end resorts are up to 1 hour from the pier) and White Sand Beach is easily accessible with the hotel shuttle bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Sawasdee, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Aiyapura Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiyapura Resort And Spa
Aiyapura Resort Koh Chang
Aiyapura Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing