We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant service appalling!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Currently enjoying our last day on the beach at the front of this hotel! The staff are friendly, rooms lovely and food good but the problem is that you just can't seem to get food and drink! I've just waited over an hour for two bottles of water from the bar an this has happened every time we wanted anything to drink or eat! Food takes ages an ages an ages and sometimes you can be shown to your seat in the restaurant and sit their with no drink or even being given a menu. For two nights we have had to leave the restaurant and go outside of the resort for food as they just don't seem to want to serve you!! Most nights the restaurant is empty so we just can't seem to understand why the lack of service...having worked in the restaurant for years it does seem to be due to lack of training! The management blame the trainee staff which seems unfair as they seem to just be a bit lost as they don't speak English!
All the staff are friendly, in particular the reception staff just lovely! Same two entertainment singers every night who were good but sang the same songs!
I wouldn't return due to the really really bad lack of food and drink service. I don't mind waiting when people are busy but this is just a joke! Sorry to say this but I am still waiting for our waters...1 hour and 20 mins later! They are in bottles usually, with no glasses ...why so long??

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank sclements1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonas S, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We had some very busy days in the Kitchen and Restaurant in the Peak days and covered the extra needed manpower by hiring extra staff. We can not blame the extra staff for low service and long waiting, this is poor supervising from our side. This has been addressed with both Restaurant and Kitchen and we have now daily training and briefings. We hope you can reconsider to come and visit us again as we want to show you the improvements made, and if you will decide to come, please mail us before on ckc@chr.co.th so we can prepare accordingly, and I remain,

Sincerely Yours,
Jonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel has the potential to be really nice but it's not quite there yet. The layout is good and landscaping is nice, service was good, facilities were also fairly good, rooms (deluxe cabana) spacious enough and beds were comfortable. It also offers very easy access to the beach.

On the "requires improvement" are: rooms are a bit old, housekeeping a little sloppy, breakfast is fairly basic with limited variety and somewhat low quality items, kids club could be better managed in a more proactive and energetic manner.

Room Tip: Right across the street from the hotel is the excellent Kati Culinary restaurant which offers very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonas S, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! We also believe the Resort has the potential to be the best Resort in Koh Chang. Your comments about our house keeping, room and our Kid Club program is well noted and addressed with all concerned departments. For the Cabanas we have coming new Decoration pillows, Cushions, Curtain and black out curtain, Hair dryer, Scale and Electric kettles. Flat screen TV's has already been installed. We think by this that the Cabanas will be a bit more modern.

Thank you again and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back as our guests in the future, and I remain,

Sincerely Yours
Jonas Sjostedt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This is my fifth visit since Centara took over the property, and every visit i see improvements. My family and I live in Bangkok so its an easy drive to leave the city, and get some real relaxation. Food in the main restaurant is very good, breakfast buffet could be better and should be upgraded, things like no bacon for 2 of the 3 breakfast we had was frustrating, both overall we love visiting the hotel. We will back again soon. One final thing the GM Jonas is a top guy and always walking the resort checking on guests, which i really like, and ken in the restaurant is a star

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzyp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonas S, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write these comments, they certainly have lifted the moral and team spirit among all of us working in the Resort! There should be bacon daily on our breakfast, this we have addressed with our Kitchen team.
We hope to see you soon here again and please mail us before so we can check location of your room if you have any request on this. ckc@chr.co.th

Best Regards,
Jonas Sjostedt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.8 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#10 of 73 in Ko Chang
997 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.4 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
2.0 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.3 mi away
The Dewa Koh Chang
The Dewa Koh Chang
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort

Address: 26/3 Moo 4 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Koh Chang Tropicana Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £49 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found on the sands of Klong Prao Beach, Koh Chang's west coast, the four-star Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort is framed by lofty green palm trees and the deep blue waters of the seascape. The natural surroundings of the resort and its rustic-styled cabanas ooze tranquillity yet guests will enjoy a wealth of facilities and activities including an oceanfront swimming pool with Jacuzzi, a swimming pool with children’s pool and waterslide tucked into the gardens, a sumptuous spa, a fitness centre, beach sports, kayaking, and water sports. Snorkelling and diving are available on request while nearby attractions include forest paths, waterfalls, and a fishing village. Families and younger guests are well taken care of, with two aged specific kids’ clubs, a games area with table tennis and darts, and family-friendly rooms and cabanas with ample living areas (from 37 to 67 square metres). The cabanas, some of which set steps away from the beach, use natural materials and thatched roofs to blend seamlessly with the rustic feel of the resort. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort. Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort is easily reached from the pier via the island's ring road (approximately 30 minutes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelbag, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Tropicana Resort And Spa
Koh Chang Tropicana Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing