We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
416
263
88
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
263
88
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstropical gardenroom maidfew minutes walk awaybreakfast buffetbeach frontsuperior roomswim up barthe main roadslidersnice beachtrat airportswimming poolhotel managementrainy seasonbad smellevery eveninglow tide
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We have just come back from this hotel , we had a luvly holiday , lovely surroundings ,friendly staff , pool and beach were excellent , food was good in restaurant , my only gripe was the service charge and the tax which was added on every time we had a drink or a meal ,, which increased the price of everything considerably , so we choose to walk 10 mins down the road and get drinks /food a lot cheaper , we would definately stay here again and I am already looking at options for next year thanks

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Angela1488,

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort and thank you for staying with us recently.

We are happy to read that you had a relaxing holiday here with us and that you in particular liked our lovely surroundings, friendly staff, the pool, the beach and the food served in our Sea Breeze restaurant. Please note that we apply service charge and tax on our menu prices as common in any international hotel in Asia. The charge is clearly written on the menus.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit some day.

Best regards,
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We stayed the week of 27th October 2017 for 3 nights.

Overall we felt that someone visiting Koh Chang for the first time and staying here would not elect to return.

The hotel was probably once pretty and alluring once. Unfortunately it has been let go and it is evidently suffering from under investment in upkeep and maintenance. In addition we found the food to be over priced and disappointing at best and inedible at worst.

DONT ORDER THE PIZZA!!!

The hotel promotes its facilities and amenities. Something our son was looking forward to very much. An example of upkeep is the old fashioned Pool Table has only old pool cues with all of the tips broken down to the wood. Hardly inspiring.

The upside were the staff who were smily, charming and helpful. It seems their management is less caring.

Will we be back? No.

Room Tip: Dont go. Superior ground floor rooms can smell when the sewage is being eptied out daily
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Tom D

Warmest greetings from the Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your recent stay while in Koh Chang.
We do not think our prices in the restaurant are overpriced. Indeed, our prices are slightly higher than the local restaurants around our resort, but you should also know that those restaurants do not offer any vacation nor offer any any days off to the staff...which all has it costs! We do promote our facilities and amenities and all of them are available..so we not sure what your son was missing!! Our resort tries to match with its local environment, we are using a lots of wood and bamboo, which gives the resort its special tropical feeling which most guest appreciate very much.

At least, we are very happy to hear that you felt so good about our smiling , charming and helpful staff, because we take good care of our staff and it shows that the management is not less caring.

Best regards
Pius M. Luechigner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

My wife & I are staying here at the Hotel now. We are having an awesome time. We chose Kho Chang as we had been told it was still not as hectic as some of the other Beach Holliday spots. The hotel is great the staff super friendly and go out of there way to make your stay relaxing. The room we have has ocean views and right near the pool & the beachfront restaurant. It is a late room with a huge king bed and nice covered Deck. We have been very happy here. It is also a short walk to a nice part of the island shops and local restaurants/ street stalls. We are enjoying our stay very much. We will return.
Thank you Centura.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Stephen C,

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort.

Thank you for the excellent rating you have given to our resort during your stay. We are happy to know that you were pleased with your room and that our team made your stay so relaxing. Your comments will be shared with everyone.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Awesome Beach vacation for first trip to Thailand for the kids. This island provided a perspective of a less developed and commericalized beach life of Thais. I chose it for what the activities it can offer and it turned out to be the best decision! If you want snorkeling, elephant trekking, waterfalls, this island has it all. In the middle of it is Centara tropical in krong proa. The location is great and the staff/ services were friendly and great as well. For the 7 days that we were there, it was great to learn about the staff's life and conversed with them. They took such wonderful care of us. Our family , the kids especially enjoyed the pools every day. The beach can be cleaner but the jotel staff did work hard to pick up the trash that comes down from the villagers. For low cost, the best time to go is August but most staff would say to really enjoy the beach and snorkeling the best time to go is in mar-june timeframe because the water is calmer and clearer but the price will be higher. My husband and I loved the area , the local markets, restaurants and street food. We sampled many. The massage parlors were especially nice at a cost of $15. I highly recommend this hotel for the rustic, traditional Thai style look, staff, affordability , food and services. Definitely get the breakfast buffet. It was awesome! The beach is wide but the sand is not white and lots of coral. Still the kids did enjoy the beach. My recommendation to the hotel is to keep up with the maintenance more in the pool, bungalows and beach erosion. We also did not have problems with crowd at the hotel in the August timeframe.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank nutthinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear nutthinee,

Warmest greetings from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana.

Many thanks for your positive review and recommendation. We are delighted to read that your family had a wonderful stay here with us and that both you and your kids enjoyed our location, facilities and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Firstly it is important to know that my wife and I own a chain of casual restaurants internationally and have a hotel development company, building and managing hotels throughout Asia. Therefore we may look at things a little differently than the usual traveler.

Unfortunately at this hotel the saying 'you get what you pay for' is lived by in every way. I suppose we paid for a good night sleep and a breakfast. If that is what you seek, then our review below may go into too much details.

First of all when we arrived by car I stopped at the portico as it was raining. We had one medium size bag and two backpacks in our car. The bellman was standing on the stairs to the hotel and looked carefully how my wife unloads them and brings them to the lobby. No Service was therefore provided upon arrival which already left a very bad first impression!

We then moved on to the check-in counter to register ourselves. Unfortunately there was only one person, which I understand as we were the only guests, but she took a good 15-20 min to check us in. Here is why: my wife booked one day later under her name directly with the hotel, which means our booking was not under arrival of the day but would have appeared in the PMS if the GSA had searched for her name. As she was maybe not aware how this can be done, she disappeared into the back for a while and then came back informing us of the booking. We finally had our keys and moved to the room.

As we had entered the room there was this moldy smell in the air from the exterior humidity but it was quite disturbing. I am sure we will get judged here by not having informed the Front Desk and at this point I'd say if there was a properly trained HK Supervisor in place who checks the rooms and assures all is perfect, we would not have had to call anyone in the first place. There are various ways on how to deal with humidity.

We then made our way to the pool area by the beach and later on moved to the pool in the back. I suppose the biggest problem this hotel has is 1) maintenance and 2) service. Or better said they don't have a service problem because there is NONE! Unless you consider service being you going to ask for absolutely everything without ever anyone paying attention to you and asking you if you would like to order something, then there is no service. For example did we ask for the pool towels by the beachside pool and instead of going the extra mile, or better said the extra 10m to get us the towels and setup our sunbeds, which BTW would have earned him some tip, he simply pointed us in the direction of the towel hut with a 'warm and friendly' - > "there".

At breakfast you also feel like you are walking around a cementary if it wasn't for the other guests who are in a pleasant holiday mood. You can tell the associates really don't like their job and look like someone just died. No smile, no good morning simply some souls walking around and collecting the empty plates.

The last point I'd like to make here is guest safety. As you can see in the attached images, the pool deck would have required some upgrade or fixing a long time ago. Maybe nothing happens because management is never walking around their property, which BTW in our three days we didn't see anyone of managerial level greeting or speaking to guests, or because they simply don't care. Although there is a funny disclaimer sign saying anything happening to guests is their own responsibility, I find it a little hard to believe that they simply don't care.

We are giving this property 1 point because the easiest things to do in hospitality is service delivery. Any tier of hotel can train its associates in any part of the world to deliver great and friendly services. It's not science. The fact that guest safety and well-being is completely neglected is an absolute no go. The deck was where the kids run around and go on the slide. I mean seriously, how careless can you possibly be?

As we are well connected to Centara and know the top management, we will have to report this because at least we do care about others...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mendes Osiris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pius L, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Mr Mendes Osiris C

Warmest greetings from the Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort. Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your recent stay while in Koh Chang. We do apologize for the shortfall of service you experienced during your stay.

However, your comments are not so correct and as a professional in a hotel development company we expect you to be fair.

Your booking was not done directly with the hotel but through a 3rd party. When your wife was checking in, our staff remembered the guest name and knew that she had a booking for the following day and advised your wife. But your wife insisted that the booking she made was for this day. Our staff asked for the voucher but she was unable to provide (apparently the mobile phone where she kept it was out of battery). Our staff went inside to double check the reservation we received from your agent and confirmed you back that your booking was indeed made for the following day. Our staff advised you to contact the agent to solve this problem and we charged you for the additional night (we guess you made a wrong booking as you checked in 1 day early and also checked out 1 day early).

The person you saw standing was not the bell boy but the waiter from Lobby Bar. He can not just leave the outlet. But indeed he should have called someone to assist your wife with the luggage.

When using the beach pool towel, guest have to sign in at the counter, therefore the staff can not just bring you the pool towels to the long chairs. I believe this is a procedure applied in many hotels. But yes, the pool boy should have help you arranging the pool chairs afterwards and not just looking.

If there is one point we are very proud of it, it is the friendliness of our staff. Its where we are receiving constant good feedback from our guest.Therefore, we are very surprised about your comments towards our staff and are convinced that our staff provide a very polite and friendly service to our guest.

We are not careless! We do care about the safety of our guests and have a team over 20 persons just looking after the maintenance of our resort. The pictures you have attached indeed do not look very nice but are safe. We will work on this next month as the wood for this area just has arrived. During the rainy season, when occupancy is a bit lower, we are using the time to work on the guest rooms to make sure the rooms are in good shape.

Finally, September is the most quiet months of the year in Koh Chang. It is the time, when the management can take some vacation. But I am quite sure that our Manager on Duty did inspect all the area to check if everything is under control. I feel very sorry I was not able to meet you and discuss all above items during your stay but I am also on holiday until the end of this month. For any further questions you may have, please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

We agree that we can and should do better. But we also require to be fair and not only blame the hotel for mistakes done by the guests.

Best regards
Pius M. Luechinger
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews