We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost ON the beach, little old but cosy”
Review of Koh Chang Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Our room (a little house) was a bit old, it leaked a little when is rained hard and the shower didn't have hot water (broken boiler). However we really enjoyed staying here. The room was clean and cosy. Within 50 steps you are on the beach, when you are in the front row you even have sea view. The staff was very friendly and hospitable, they give good advice when you asked them about the area. They worked really hard for two days to prepare everything for the new-yearparty. The restaurant (breakfast-lunch-diner) is at the beach, beautiful sunset-place there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annet_Erwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

I booked this hotel for my wife, and entire thai staff (of 10) for a gift to their hard work. It was horrible. I booked my wife and I (and 2 year old daughter) to a nice upgraded jacuzzi suite, and my staff in an 10 person room. Our room was old, hot and run down. The water was yellow (my wife would not touch it) and we had no hot water. They changed our room 3 times.. no hot water. Finally they found a room which had hot water for 1 minute. We bathed our 2 year old by turning off the water, soaping her up and quickly turning back on the water. Not Fun! Service was horrible, food was bland, prices were expensive. I was promised free internet and did not get it. Hotel said it was my problem. Oh, and the cheap room with 10 people, plenty of hot water. Pick something else. OH the 2 computers they had for internet broke the 2nd day anyway. Not "high speed" by a long shot! Oh and no phone in our room for room service. We were on the beach front room!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Had superior bungalow. Picturesque from outside but husband described it as Hansel and Gretel cottage. Decor a little tired - but on reflection it had enormous bed, large bathroom with good shower, air conditioning, ceiling fan, television, fridge. Didn't have hot water tap in sink, challenging for washing through things. Solution - invested in bucket from local shop - filled hot water from shower - problem solved. Breakfast better than we had anticipated but did seem to vary on occupancy of hotel, but most acceptable. Hotel on beach - ideal -and also had front on main road. Easy to pick up taxis. Noted that the more expensive hotels further round Klong prau had long distance to road. Would have been no good for us. Local plaza has good eating places within easy walking distance. Shack on beach next door to hotel has excellent food and cocktails. (Hotel probably not happy about this). Trips to White Sands in evening 50 baht in taxi per person each way - likewise into Klong Prau. 100 baht to Ban Baou - base for getting all the boats - however - closes quite early in evening - so unless you want an early evening sea food meal - make sure you do it in the day. Klong Prau waterfall within easy taxi reach - with short walk. Worth the visit.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissieWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

It's a very nice place, very friendly staff, clean clair room. We have no problems during our vacation. The territory is very beautiful, many flowers and trees. We lived in a main building. The room overlooks the garden and the sea. Breakfasts are various, with a big choice of hot dishes of thai cuisine. The weather was nice, there were rains, but it was warm. The temperature of water was about 30 degrees. There is also a good spa center at the hotel. It's a very good place for relax. I felt like I visited paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Athena_lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2007

My husband and I live in Bangkok and wanted to show his brother and girlfriend from the states a beautiful Thai beach. However, we were disappointed with the hotel. Our rooms were dark and cramped, the food at the resturant was probably the least inspired Thai food I'd ever eaten. Since we stayed over the Thai New Year, there was a mandatory dinner one night - the price of admission was extremely expensive for the terrible buffet food that we had to wait in long lines for. My brother-in-law informed the hotel during check-in that he was strict vegetarian, however, it was towards the end of the dinner before we managed to flag someone down and to get some decent food for him. On top of this, they double charged for their warm beers! That night, we were kept awake by the kitchen staff below us yelling at each other and banging around dishes and pans. Unfortunately, we were wide awake the next morning at 6 AM when they started up again - this time with loud Thai pop blaring from their radio.

Thank god that it was our last day there when we found a swarm of , what I think were termites, outside of our rooms. We called the hotel to tell them but no one came to our aid. So we packed our bags and literally ran out of there, only to be charged twice for what we had been told earlier for a taxi ride to the dock.

For the price of the rooms, I don't recommend this hotel and I wish we stayed somewhere else. Oh well, in spite of this, Koh Chang is a charming island that should be visited before a Starbucks pops up.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wanderlust_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

We originally booked in for 2 nights but left after 1. We stayed in a Superior room with an extra bed for our 11 year old son and had to have the 4 year old sleep between me and my husband. The room was tired and shabby. The tiles and taps were hanging off in the bathroom and the whole thing needed a clean. The outside and grounds are pleasant as is the beach but you cant walk up the beach any further as there is rocky headlands.

Try the Kacha instead.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walker1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Thailand
19
Reviewed 28 December 2005

Supporting the other review of this hotel: indeed, if you are looking for a place to stay - there are so many alternatives on the beautiful island of Koh Chang, that you don't want to have your holiday's spoiled by this resort. At check-in, there had been made a mistake by the hotel staff. The manager (worst staff of all) had the arrogance to laugh in our face and claim that we had to sort this out ourselves with our travel agent (Xmas eve!) and pay for the additional cost ourselves! Waiting & strongly insisting on solving this issue for almost 1 hour, in the end it became clear that the mistake was made by the hotel and we should be grateful to the manager that he would now help us out :( The next evening, after a day out, in the evening we found our cabin full with flies/bugs/ants (thousands!) .... which gave us some thoughts about how this could happen-in a totally closed, dark cabin.

PS1. We learned from at least two other cases of wrong reservations at this place.

PS2. Koh Chang is great!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.2 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
192 reviews
8.6 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Sand Princess
White Sand Princess
#53 of 73 in Ko Chang
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Na Tara Resort
Na Tara Resort
#32 of 73 in Ko Chang
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
#51 of 73 in Ko Chang
79 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chang Cliff Resort
Chang Cliff Resort
#41 of 73 in Ko Chang
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Resort

Address: 39 Mu 4 | Chaiyachet Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £25 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Chang Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KOH CHANG RESORT & SPA has been the pioneer in exploring the beauty of Trad since 1987. At that time there were no roads, electricity or other facilities. Our professional experience will let you have a memorable time for your holiday. Here are some of the outstanding facilities that make us feel proud of our resort: PROPER LOCATION - Coral reefs close to the beach on 6 islands, suitable for skin diving and exploring the amazing sea-life. - The best sunset view point in Koh Chang. - Breath - Taking view of Chaiyachet cape. - The location with its crystal clear water and white sand beach will give you more privacy to have the real relaxing holiday. - The gradual slope of the beach makes it safe for swimming and all other sport activities. - The green moutains behind resort are full of wild life and nature. - The resort is located near Klong-plu waterfall which is generally perceived as the most beautiful and biggest waterfall in island with plenty of water all year round. - We can offer you a wide range of activities including snorkeling, scuba diving and exploring the beautiful nearby islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Koh Chang Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing