We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice although not on the beach provides shuttle beautiful garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice although not on the beach provides shuttle beautiful garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Very nice hotel, although not on the beach provides shuttle transportation and also transportation to and from airport good breakfast thai and western,very friendly staff, make efforts to speak and understand English .very relaxing atmosphere beautiful gardens techno music some days very loud destroying the peaceful atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trotamundosAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhoranin S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
07 January 2012
Dear trotamundoAmsterdam,

Warm greetings from Ramayana Koh Chang!

Thank you for sharing your comments through TripAdvisor. We welcome guest comments and accept them as a measure of our performance.

Please accept our apologies if there were certain things that were not to your liking. A plan to further improve the resort facilities is on the way to meet the changing needs of our clients. Please do give us another chance to be of service to you and I will personally handle the arrangements you require.

Thank you and happy holidays!

Sincerely,
Dhoranin Siripattanodomsakul
Executive Assistant Manager
dhoranin@ramayana.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    212
    58
    21
    6
See reviews for
96
241
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

There's nothing actually *wrong* with Ramayana and I feel slightly guilty giving it three stars...but we assumed from the website and price that it was going to be a little boutiquey kind of place and we couldn't have been more wrong. It's a pretty big package tour type hotel located in a neither-fish-nor-fowl area of Koh Chang (though there are hourly songthaews to the beach and you can hire scooters) and all the other guests were...well, old, and we're not. The rooms were lovely, the minibar ludicrously cheap and the 'activity schedule' packed (if you like that sort of thing) but we paid about 10x more than we could've at a cabana down the road. The food was definitely passable but the nightly entertainment dreadful - you'll want to go somewhere else in the evenings unless you like retiring to bed with bleeding ears! Lonely Beach, around 6km away, is not lonely at all and much better for food, nightlife, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfWomanHalfShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhoranin S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
07 January 2012
Dear HalfWomanHalfShark,

Warm greetings from Ramayana Koh Chang!

Thank you for sharing your comments through TripAdvisor. We welcome guest comments and accept them as a measure of our performance.

Please accept our apologies if there were certain things that were not to your liking. A plan to further improve the resort facilities is on the way to meet the changing needs of our clients. Please do give us another chance to be of service to you and I will personally handle the arrangements you require.

Thank you and happy holidays!

Sincerely,
Dhoranin Siripattanodomsakul
Executive Assistant Manager
dhoranin@ramayana.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. The facilities were good, staff very friendly and a decent breakfast. However I was appalled by the Gala Christmas Dinner we were forced to pay and subsequent service from the Manager.

We paid nearly £200 on a compulsory dinner for Christmas Eve, the food was awful and they made 1 turkey to share between about 60 people. They were serving parts of the turkey we would normally give the family dog! The hotel also had the cheek to add 25% the normal drinks prices. On complaining about this I was given normal prices but asked to keep it quiet in case other guests complain!

On complaining to the manager, Tony, he said the dinner was compulsory and it is the hotel policy not to refund. I also complained to Head Office but with no avail. All Tony's response was that every hotel does these gala dinners and it is our choice whether we attend or not. On complaining further we were offered £20 to spend at the pool bar but not much in return for what I consider a theft of £200.

I think this is a terrible attitude and a very short sighted view. Hopefully the hotel will change it's policy in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drcompt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhoranin S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
07 January 2012
Dear drcompt,

Warm greetings from Ramayana Koh Chang!

Thank you for sharing your comments through TripAdvisor. We welcome guest comments and accept them as a measure of our performance.

Please accept our apologies if there were certain things that were not to your liking and do give us another chance to be of service to you and I will personally handle the arrangements you require.

Thank you and happy holidays!

Sincerely,
Dhoranin Siripattanodomsakul
Executive Assistant Manager
dhoranin@ramayana.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Ramayana is a great place to stay if you want some peace and quite away from the busy Ko Chang beaches. The room was comfortable and clean, and the staff extremely friendly.

The food was good but not amazing and the restaurant too playing too loud music and badly placed by the road.

The jacuzzi didn't work and no effort was made to fix it.

Was disappointed by the fact that you have to pay for wi fi in your room and the common, free Internet was down constantly.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhoranin S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
27 December 2011
Dear Gordon C.,

Warm greetings from Ramayana Koh Chang!

Thank you for sharing your comments through TripAdvisor. We welcome guest comments and accept them as a measure of our performance.

Please accept our apologies if there were certain things that were not to your liking. A plan to further improve the resort facilities is on the way to meet the changing needs of our clients. Please do give us another chance to be of service to you and I will personally handle the arrangements you require.

Thank you and HAPPY NEW YEAR 2012!

Sincerely,
Dhoranin Siripattanodomsakul-TONY
Executive Assistant Manager
dhoranin@ramayana.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

The hotel is in an awkward and slightly isolated position. Rooms are nice and have the cheapest minibars in the world (cheaper than the local shops!). We didn't spend a lot of time there, we hired bikes and went down to better areas for the beach. We wish we'd booked just one or two nights and then moved to somewhere better located, and cheaper. This appears to be mainly a package tour hotel, with people of a certain age, for a younger, hipper scene, go elsewhere. The nightly 'entertainment' is awful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhoranin S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear fruitus,

Good day! Thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.Our resort is located in famous of Klong Praow, with lots of bars, restaurants around. We also provide free shuttle bus service to our guests that can take them to beach and waterfall.

We are glad you had a great stay with us. On your next visit to Koh Chang, we hope to welcome you back again at the Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Dhoranin Siripattanodomsakul
Executive Assistant Manager
E-mail: dhoranin@ramayana.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Great stay from start to finish. front office staffs all excellent go the extra mile .the breakfast was a lovely jesture. Especially, Khun TONY, he is perfect guy and helpful. I will be back and stay Ramayana Koh Chang Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chayanin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhoranin S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Good evening Chayanin N, Thank you for staying at the Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa. I hope that you would return in the near future and email me if I can assist you in any way. Thank you for your comments and I wish you a pleasant day ahead. Happy Merry Christmas&New Year 2012
Dhoranin SIRIPATTANODOMSAKUL-TONY
dhoranin@ramayana.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Very nice service @ RAMAYANA. Very peaceful place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhoranin S, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Dr. Sumate P.,

Good day! Thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor. Our resort is located in famous Klong Praow. We also provide free shuttle bus service to our guests that can take them to beach and waterfall.

We are glad you had a great stay with us. On your next visit to Koh Chang, we hope to welcome you back again at the Ramayana Koh Chang Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Dhoranin Siripattanodomsakul
Executive Assistant Manager
E-mail: dhoranin@ramayana.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.8 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#7 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
4.8 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
2.7 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Property: Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramayana Koh Chang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ramayana Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Ramayana Resort Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing