We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asia Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Grande Resort & Spa(Ko Chang)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AWA Resort(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
29
19
12
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
19
12
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaonice beachhostelpattayapierbangfridgebaht
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This spot was great, quite clean and new and I had a great time.. I met nice people, I could walk to the beaches nearby and to the bang bao bay with the pier, shops, restaurants..
It's quite close to lonely beach, you can try to hitchhike, rent a bike or get a shared taxi to get there.. But walking is still far and not very safe, specially at night, cause the street has a lot of curves and is a bit narrow..
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Skra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Owner at Asia Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words, it means a lot to us all here, may we wish you the very best of times where ever the road takes you and we hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hostel is super clean and great showers / bathroom facilities. Brand new so some building rubble about but owner is super friendly, accommodating and helpful. Short walk to Bang Bao pier and stilted village. Can cook for yourself but reasonably priced restaurant really close.

Room Tip: Dorms are clean but windowless, also bungalows available for couples at great prices.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Owner at Asia Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and for spending your time with us, if your are still travelling then may wish you the safest of journeys and if you are making your way home may your memories sustain you until your next adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay. Bang boa is beautiful and the hostel is in a great location. Friendly helpful staff and nice clean bungalow with lovely garden view. Very good value for money. Good facilities in bungalow, towel, safe and fridge.

Few niggles but nothing major. Water pressure was poor which meant that the shower and bathroom tap were more of a trickle at times. Facilities not yet ready as owner is in the process of doing some work which meant there was no bar or communal area. Ok for us as we were in the bungalows but possibly a bit frustrating for those in dorms. Saying that there's plenty of lovely bars and restaurants near by. There was quite a bit of noise from the road and karaoke bar (very popular with the locals it seemed) but this all quietened down fairly early (11) so wasn't a huge problem. The garden was quite messy due to the building work, however I'm sure this will be great when all complete.

Overall very good hostel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Owner at Asia Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you your comments and the fact you chose to spend time with us does mean a lot to all the staff here, safe journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 nights here before arrival, and booked about another week after that at a reduced rate. The area is nice and relaxed, and close to a couple nice beaches. The staff was quick and happy to help with any problems we had, even had an electrictian on site when one of our outlets started to pop and stop working. Had it fixed within half an hour at no extra cost! The rooms are bungalow type style and very clean, beds are comfortable too. If I had just one small bad thing to say its just a great deal of ants (and this might not include every room, I think there was an ant hill close to ours.) We found out quickly that we had to take any garbagd from food into the town and dump it there or our garbage would be infested. This should not convince you to skip this place, we thouroughly enjoyed our stay in the Bang Bao area at Asia Backpackers.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Owner at Asia Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We do truly welcome your comments and from all the staff may we thank you for spending time with us, may good fortune and happiness follow you where ever life takes you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I initially only planned to stay on Ko Chang for a week or so but ended up staying more than 2. Asia Backpackers is in the southern part of the island, near the village of Bangbao. The Bungalos are very nice and the dorms are excellent, as is the staff. Location is nice for folks who want to have a bit more removed experience from the all night party that is Lonely Beach. There are good food places and easy access to diving trips and island tours from Bangbao which is about a 5 minute walk down the road., and the walk to the beach is about 10 or 15 minutes.

It's nice to have a place where you can meet people, as I often travel alone, and the facilities and other visitors made this experience excellent.

Room Tip: the dorms are all very nice, all have AC, I would choose the dorm over a fan room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiedotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Owner at Asia Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your adventure, from us all here may we wish you the best and that life continues to bring you happiness and good fortune.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews