We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Nearby Hotels
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Grande Resort & Spa(Ko Chang)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AWA Resort(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
596
166
45
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
596
166
45
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadprivate pool accessrocky barhuge bathtubshuttle busthai stylepool roomplenty of sun loungersmain poolhigh tideour honeymoonrooms are largefront officenice pool areabeach frontlong weekendstayed days
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our wonderful holiday in Panviman Resort & Spa on Koh Chang. We were looking for relaxation and were perfectly happy with our decision. We also wanted a good standard of luxury accommodation, but still "personal" with a grade. In Panviman Resort everything was perfect

Guests came from all over the world, German, French, Swiss, of course Russians, but who were contrary to other comments not misbehaving and not disturbing us. The staff is very good, as well as the Thai GM, which always marked his presence and was worried that everything is working properly.

We stayed in one of the pool villas with a direct access pool. These are very large, fully equipped and beautifully decorated! The rooms were cleaned twice a day and most of the standard was excellent. A large and clean bathroom with all the amenities you wish. If we can criticize one thing, sometimes there were a lot of ants in the bathroom, but we know that this can hardly be avoided on a tropical island.

Every employee was friendly and courteous and they were trying really hard to ensure that we have a perfect stay. Nothing was too much trouble from the moment of our arrival until our departure. The staff could not do enough for us, of course, their English is not perfect, but they have always tried their best.

The food was also very good with an excellent buffet breakfast. Nevertheless we would prefer a little more of local dishes on the lunch and dinner menu. For us it was a bit too much “European / American” style, but very good in taste and quality. The standard of cuisine and hygiene were top notch.

The resort is just a 15 minutes' walk from the village. If you do not want to walk a bus service brings your almost every hour. From our perspective Panviman lies on the most beautiful beach of Khlong Phrao Beach. A perfect sandy beach with almost no stones and no broken pieces of corals.

We can recommend Panviman Resort not enough to anyone looking for a very beautiful and unique resort on a wonderful and unspoilt island. It is a perfect holiday away from all the hustle and bustle in Europe. We will definitely come back! Don’t worry about the cost just go, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetoNadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear RetoNadia,

Many thanks for your excellent review of your recent stay at The Panviman Koh Chang. It truly made all of our hard work worth while.

We are delighted to note that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us and that we succeeded to meet your expectations in so many aspects. In particular our team values your kind observation of their friendliness and helpfulness. I feel that it is important for our staff to have a great positive energy so that it will translate into their services for our guests.

Our staffs and I would like to extend our thanks to you and Nadia for bringing us fine Swiss Chocolate! It was such a wonderful surprise and extreme pleasure for our taste buds. You both were such a delight to have as our guests at Panviman and we hope to be apart of your next holiday. Please note that we do have loyalty rates for returning guests to all of our sister property at Panviman Koh Phangan and Chiang Mai.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had booked the trip to Thailand months ago before the protest. We were a bit nervous about that. We thought about canceling but decided to try our luck. Boy were we right.

Panviman tag line is paradise alike, and it truly was. We arrived on one of the 3 daily flights to Trad and the transfer we arranged with the hotel picked us up on time. The ferry ride was pleasant and we didn't wait too long. It was about a 30 minute ride. We past white sand beach and noted to ourselves to make a night of it.

The hotel was about 15 kilo from the ferry. We were greeted by friendly reception staffs. We were shown to our room and the first thought was wow. The room itself was big and roomy. The bathroom was spa like. Huge bath tubs and working waterfall. The TV was big too, 40" we were told, but the channels did not have much variety. At least the wireless internet was free throughout the whole resort.

Restaurant food was okay, breakfast was definitely the best. Lunch and dinner can be a hit or miss. I usually go for the daily happy hour from 5-7 pm because it was buy one get one free. Spa packages were great. Ask for their monthly promotion. It was a steal compare to the regular priced menu items. Housekeeping ladies were nice and helpful. Actually all staffs were great. Always smiling and cheery. Although speaking them might make your hands tired.

It was a great 6 nights stay. We now await our fate at the airport. Hopefully on our next trip will be more of an ease on the mind.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paopaodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Paopaodog,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

We know how many guests feel about the protests and the anxiousness that is going on in Bangkok, but rest assure that it is under control. The treat level is nearly none in the outside provinces of Thailand. Hopefully everything will be sorted out soon.

We are delighted that you had a great time with us. I am happy to read that you appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of our staffs. Our goals is to be our guests' extended family and home away from home. I sure will pass on your appreciations to our hard working staffs. We are glad to be a part of your wonderful vacation.


Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a really great week at the Panviman. The location is brilliant and accommodation very nice indeed.

However we had booked a 'deluxe with pool access' room and were very disappointed that the pool access was not on our doorstep as advertised online; there was access through our back door, but we couldn't see our door from the pool. I couldn't be locked from the outside which meant we had to go out the front door, passed the main pool and round to the private pool (totally defeating the purpose!). We complained to reception staff who were super nice and went out there way to be helpful. They couldn't do anything that night, but we were moved the following morning, to a great room with the private pool on our doorstep.

The room is absolutely lovely, a good size for a couple with a fantastic bathroom and the decor is lovely. It was great having the pool so close, but also the chance to escape to your air conditioned room when it all gets a bit too much is invaluable! Housekeeping are great and the whole place is spotless.

Breakfast is everything you would expect, lovely omelettes ;-)

We only had dinner in the restaurant once as it was quite pricey compared to eating out. FYI the tiger next door is v cheap, a bit hit or miss, but when it's good it is REALLY good and all at your usual Thai prices.

A couple of pounds will get you to white sands beach where there is a good selection of bars & restaurants and of course many massage places.

I guess for some the slightly remote location could be an issue, but if you want pure relaxation and quiet beach time this is for you! Besides it is only 10 mins in a cheap taxi whenever you want out or of course there is the free shuttle bus by the hotel that goes several times a day.

For room service it is again very expensive (in Thai terms!). We ordered twice, one sandwich was very nice, but a roasted chicken was VERY dry and really not worth the money.

But, there is happy hour in room service where all drinks are BOGOF between 1-3 and in the main bar the same deal is between 5-7. Some very nice cocktails worth sampling ;-)

So despite a few minor grumps we had a really great time. In terms of standard of accommodation, location and staff it really is a great hotel that I would recommend to others.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul_A_Daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Paul D,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang!

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us.

I am glad were able to sort out your room preference in due time for you to enjoy your stay. I understand that our neighboring restaurants can offer a lower cost menu item because they do not order supplies and ingredients from a reputable source. Our vendors have passed all the safety standards and quality, but they also come at a higher price than the island's local vendors.

Again, we thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I planned this vacation with my family for awhile. I was reading through the reviews of other guests through TripAdvisor and decided to book with panviman.

I was a bit nervous since the road leading to the hotel was quite far. It was exactly 1 kilometer I was told. But I understood why it was important. The secluded location was great for an old couple like us. I do understand why other people was talking about no bar scenes since Klong prao beach isn't as happening as the white sand beach area.

The food was very good. Breakfast had a lot of variety. We stayed 6 nights and there was something new each day. The seafood BBq was my favorite. The only thing I didn't like was the insect that made a very loud noise at exactly at 5 in the evening until about 8 at night. It was a type of cricket with a very annoying alarm like sound. We had to book the vs pa by panviman for any treatments after 5.

I'd love to take my wife here again soon. Last notes for their friendly and helpful staff. They made us feel very welcome. Ask for lek or ba at the restaurant. They'll take good care of you.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naratipacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays.

We were told by the National Park Ranger that the insect is a close cousin of the cricket. After the rainy season into the winter months, they are out looking for their soul mate. It is romantic for them, but very annoying for us I know. They should stop by December (thankfully).

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

All rooms are large, villa-style accomodations. We stayed in a pool-side access villa and were very pleased. The staff is very accommodating and the restaurant menu has very authentic Thai food on offer (Nam Prik, for example). Check out the Reggae-style pub next door on the beach. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Keep in mind that it is located about 1 Km from the main road, so you should rent a motorbike to get around.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the pool-access villas
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear JeffC,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman Resort, Koh Chang!

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. We do offer shuttle services to main road more often now so no worries about getting around on your next visit.

Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews