We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Nearby Hotels
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Grande Resort & Spa(Ko Chang)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AWA Resort(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
596
166
45
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
596
166
45
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadprivate pool accessrocky barhuge bathtubshuttle busthai stylepool roomplenty of sun loungersmain poolhigh tideour honeymoonrooms are largefront officenice pool areabeach frontlong weekendstayed days
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

How wonderful here! it's really great to choice this hotel on my holidays, great deluxe pool view which I stayed, the breakfast was great they served several of choices for breakfast and lovely dinner, like it so much, the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, WONNA back here again for the next holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 729CHAN1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear 729chan1984,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays. We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful resort, beautiful beach, setting, garden, swimming pools, rooms.. But:
the staff really tries their best at speaking English, but they don't understand you when you ask them a question. This resulted in some discussions and annoyment. When you receive guests from all over the world, speaking English is fundamental I would think.
The food in the restaurant is not spectacular, at the mainroad you can find much better Thai food. This leads to a few people at the restaurant and no atmosphere.
Tips: keep some bottles of white wine cold, so you can serve right away. Btw the price for a bottle is double of restaurants at the mainroad..
The fruit at the breakfast is great, why not make your own jam and fresh fruit juice?
Serve tea by the cup instead of the brown coloured tea pots..
And last tip: your new V- spa at the mainroad is very good and up to half price compared to your Spa at the beach. Maybe you can arrange more transfers or level the prices.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Averhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Averhag,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I understand the frustration of not being served satisfactory. During the peak season in Koh Chang, all hotels are in desperate of staff. We did not have much time to prepare them for English training, just the service training. At least I'm glad that they were friendly and helpful to you.

Again, as I've explained to many other guests, our cost for producing a dish is much higher than the street food/restaurant vendors. Our suppliers are reputable and the ingredient source can be tracked and certified. I feel very bad when I have to send guests to the hospital for food poisoning after eating at someplace else. Other travelers please bare that in mind.

We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013


On arrival at the Pandeman we were greeted by pleasant staff, shown around the complex and finally given a room at the outer edge of the complex nestling between a generator under full power (due to a power cut) and at the front facing us about 3 metres away a building housing noisy air conditioning units. The room itself was dark and dingy and it smelt of drains. Instead of cleaning out the S bends in the bathroom plumbing, the management had placed lemon grass fresheners to mask the stench. I would call this the "Room 101" of the complex, or the "Room nobody wants". Naturally we asked to be moved and without a hint of surprise the staff relocated us the following day to a delightful room well inside the complex, near the sea and with its own back entrance to a swimming pool. The rooms are generally a bit dated, but quite nice. In the rooms, by one side of the bed, in a homage to 1960's Star Trek or Blake's 7, there is an electronic flashing panel that controls everything electric in the room. Why have switches on things? They are soooo 20th Century! The only problem is if your other half wishes to get up in the night they must somehow get around the bed in the dark and fumble around the panel to turn any lights on. You see there are no switches on the bed side lights! Lol

Be aware that the complex doesn't have a proper beach due to the tides which only completely recede in the evening. You get some beach in the afternoon but the sand is never dry. We were here at Christmas and due to space being reserved for the festivities found that everyone was squashed like sardines onto one sun deck overlooking the sea. It is strange that the complex is so enormous and yet so little space is allocated to those who wish to sun bathe by the sea. The pools however were in the main, empty, so we retreated to these on occasion.The resort is 15 minutes walk to the main road that leads to a sparse "one horse town" with a few eateries and not much else.The hotel operates a free shuttle to the main road and dumps you there. The rest of the time the vehicle lies idle in the resort car park. I must ask why on earth does not the hotel run the shuttle to and from Kai Bae a bustling town a few kilometres away. This would create so much good will with their clientele. At the moment once the shuttle has dropped you off you then have to flag down a taxi to take you somewhere decent, like Kai Bae to shop and eat. The taxis charge 100 baht per person for the 2/3 Kilometre trip to Kai Bae. So for a family of four I reckon once the shuttle has dropped you off, you will pay about 700-800 baht just to get you to and from Kai Bae. No wonder the shuttle always has spare seats!

If you want lunch, the resort menu is limited, although the food is quite nice. The young lunchtime staff are pretty hopeless and trudge around looking dour and miserable. I think they are just badly trained. I saw one family stop, sit down and eventually leave because they received no attention. I ordered Spaghetti Bolognese and never received the Parmesan cheese I was promised. I can't understand why everything is priced ++ ie plus service and plus VAT, so make sure you add 17% on to everything. If you leave the resort and walk down the edge of the beach, left you find the Tiger Hut which serves below average food, has awful service and be prepared to share your table with a swarm of flies. To the right you have a little beach hut which supposedly serves food and even as I write we have been waiting over 2 hours for a soup and a rice dish which actually never arrived. Of course you could walk for 15 minutes in the baking heat to the main road and eat. All In all not very good.

Generally the resort is very nice, some would say, "Paradise". Personally speaking, we felt a bit marooned here. If the weather had turned bad the lack of good local eateries and shops could have turned "Paradise" into Hell. Maybe, if the resort operated a proper free shuttle to and from the bustling town of Kai Bay or similar town and the local food improved, we would probably consider returning in the future. The WiFi was intermittent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pcgrowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear PCGrowler,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I completely understand about the room allocation especially during this peak period. We would love to give all of our guests the best possible location and we do accommodate when ever availability opens up. I am glad we were able to satisfy your needs room-wise.

Secondly, I thank you for complimenting our food. We are actually priced 20% lower than our competitors in the same category. We have to bare the cost of getting the best ingredients from a reputable source so that our guests can enjoy safe and hygienic preparations.

Lastly, we do offer free shuttle to the main road almost every hour. Kai Bae and White Sand beach is nearly 15 km away each way. I think that not all of the "Taxi" would charged the ridiculous rate that you paid. Most of the time, our guest tells us that it is 60 baht per person to all destinations on Koh Chang. So for other travelers, do not pay more than 100 baht/pp to go anywhere on the island with the local Taxis please.

We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I was a bit nervous when my boyfriend wanted to come to Koh Chang, rather than our usual escape to Hua Hin. It seems so far away and not even on a mainland. It took quite a lot of convincing, but I finally gave in. The ferry over was pretty fast and the waves were calm enough. The scariest part was the road that brings you up from the mountains down to where the resorts are. Panviman was about half an hour away from the ferry.

Room- On arrival, we were welcomed by Kul and Rassy. Their cheeriness made us feel very at ease (I think I might have been the only one who was worrying). We arrive a bit early for check-in time, but they said they had our room already ready for us. It was great since we were pretty worn out from the travel. The room was huge and spacious. You can fit a bed in the bathroom for sure. Our room has a lovely garden view. Luckily our neighbors are very nice and we ended us dining today and hanging out by the porch together a few times.

Food- The breakfast selection was quiet impressive. We were there 5 days and the hot dishes were different each day. They also have some hot coconut pudding that a girl makes it from scratch right in front of you. We took advantage of their 1 2 3 deal where each time you come back to dine, you get a bigger discount. Love the happy hour from 5-7 pm. It was a good time to hang out by the pool with a few (a lot actually) drinks.

Spa- The spa experience was very good. Although the price in the hotel was very expensive. They did have many monthly promotions going on which were a great deal. I had a 2.30 hour treatment for around 1,200 baht at the V-Spa. Not bad at all. Considering the local massage place charges about the same price, but it stinks of other people's sweat in there.

Surroundings- Granted that the property is old (about 10 years old), it did look like they try very hard to maintain the place. The lawn and garden was very well kept and the wooden porch at the beachfront looks brand new. There were a few cracks here and there, but very forgivable.

Tips- Rent a scooter to get around the island, but always were a helmet. The local police are often on the road collecting fines from naive tourists. We had to pay a "fine" of 300 baht. We could have rented a bike for another day. Orchid Bar and Grill was tasty and it was right in front of the entrance to the road leading to the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same size and have the same amenities, but the location of the rooms is what matters. We love the setting for the pool access rooms, but it was pretty pricey. I was told it costs half the price after May.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mr_ton66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Mr_Ton66,

Thank you so much for your excellent review of your recent stay at The Panviman Koh Chang.

We are delighted to note that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us and that we succeeded to meet your expectations in so many aspects. In particular our team values your kind observation of their friendliness and helpfulness. I feel that it is important for our staff to have a great positive energy so that it will translate into their services for our guests. We know how anxious traveling to a new destination might be and we are glad that we've eased your worries.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our wonderful holiday in Panviman Resort & Spa on Koh Chang. We were looking for relaxation and were perfectly happy with our decision. We also wanted a good standard of luxury accommodation, but still "personal" with a grade. In Panviman Resort everything was perfect

Guests came from all over the world, German, French, Swiss, of course Russians, but who were contrary to other comments not misbehaving and not disturbing us. The staff is very good, as well as the Thai GM, which always marked his presence and was worried that everything is working properly.

We stayed in one of the pool villas with a direct access pool. These are very large, fully equipped and beautifully decorated! The rooms were cleaned twice a day and most of the standard was excellent. A large and clean bathroom with all the amenities you wish. If we can criticize one thing, sometimes there were a lot of ants in the bathroom, but we know that this can hardly be avoided on a tropical island.

Every employee was friendly and courteous and they were trying really hard to ensure that we have a perfect stay. Nothing was too much trouble from the moment of our arrival until our departure. The staff could not do enough for us, of course, their English is not perfect, but they have always tried their best.

The food was also very good with an excellent buffet breakfast. Nevertheless we would prefer a little more of local dishes on the lunch and dinner menu. For us it was a bit too much “European / American” style, but very good in taste and quality. The standard of cuisine and hygiene were top notch.

The resort is just a 15 minutes' walk from the village. If you do not want to walk a bus service brings your almost every hour. From our perspective Panviman lies on the most beautiful beach of Khlong Phrao Beach. A perfect sandy beach with almost no stones and no broken pieces of corals.

We can recommend Panviman Resort not enough to anyone looking for a very beautiful and unique resort on a wonderful and unspoilt island. It is a perfect holiday away from all the hustle and bustle in Europe. We will definitely come back! Don’t worry about the cost just go, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetoNadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear RetoNadia,

Many thanks for your excellent review of your recent stay at The Panviman Koh Chang. It truly made all of our hard work worth while.

We are delighted to note that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us and that we succeeded to meet your expectations in so many aspects. In particular our team values your kind observation of their friendliness and helpfulness. I feel that it is important for our staff to have a great positive energy so that it will translate into their services for our guests.

Our staffs and I would like to extend our thanks to you and Nadia for bringing us fine Swiss Chocolate! It was such a wonderful surprise and extreme pleasure for our taste buds. You both were such a delight to have as our guests at Panviman and we hope to be apart of your next holiday. Please note that we do have loyalty rates for returning guests to all of our sister property at Panviman Koh Phangan and Chiang Mai.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews