We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We know Koh Chang quite well and are really pleased that this time we decided to splash out and pay Panviman prices for our nine day stay. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday. The staff were attentive and very helpful from the moment of our arrival until we left nine days later. They noticed that my husband had difficulty in walking and upgraded us to a room closer to the beach and restaurant. The resort was obviously built some years ago but it is beautifully maintained and set in lovely gardens with many of the species plants named with their botanical names as well as common names. The resort is right on a lovely long white sandy beach that shelves gently into the ocean. We would both love to return before too long.

Room Tip: We loved our room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SallyandJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear SallyandJeremy,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang!

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs.

Again, we thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    130
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
126
281
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have been to Koh Chang many times, so i decided to come back for 4 days and spent some time at the Panviman.

I booked the de luxe pool access Option, in hope of some privacy and quiteness for the little time i had.

When I arrived after a long drive from BKK i had to wait, the room seemed not be ready. They also told me I have to give them 3000 Bath in cash as a deposit, to make sure all expenses are covered. So much for starting a trusting relationship....

The room then finaly was ready.

High prices generate high expectations. However this hotel never is worth the 200US a night. Hardly anyone speaks english, the service is mediocre. Once I Ordered Dinner with roomservice, which was difficult enough due to the language barrier. However the leftovers and plates stayed in my room for the next 2 days, nobody picked it up.

The Bathroom looks nice, but its dirty. Spiderwebs under the roof, the bathtube full of stains, the area which is covered with white little rocks is full of hair and toilette paper yuck.

There was no night i was able to sleep without earplugs, last night some chinese guy rented the room right beside me together with 3 girls. There was party all night long, laughter shouting, jumping into the pool right in front of my veranda.

I tried to get the attention of the receiption, no success.

The garden is well kept, and the beach is nice, however I am not to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riticulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Riticulous,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. It is quite surprising to hear about the cleanliness of our rooms, but I will bring it up at our head department meeting to ensure high quality of cleaning standards always. It is also a first to hear about noise complaints because our security patrol the ground 24 hours. Any guests making loud noises that would disturb the other guests are asked to kindly stop.

Again, I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I was impressed when staying at this hotel. Groomed employees greeted with a friendly smile.
Delicious food and a spa for a relaxing massage. Staff were great
The beach was beautiful, but unfortunately the second day of relaxation faced with climate change are around rain fell, but it is worth staying there. I really can not go wrong Need to try it to know it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupaponJeerachotrhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear SupaponJ,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

We are delighted that you had a great time with us. I am happy to read that you appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of our staffs. During this season in Koh Chang, we can expect a 95% sunshine throughout the month. I'm sorry that one of your days was part of the 5% rain ;(

Our goals is to be our guests' extended family and home away from home. I sure will pass on your appreciations to our hard working staffs. We are glad to be a part of your wonderful vacation.


Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have had a number of opportunities to reside at several resorts in Koh Chang, yet I perceive Panviman Kohchang to be the place that stands out from the rest with it's remarkably well-rounded in every aspects. Definitely worthwhile visiting and absolutely recommend for both local and foreigners.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Tam H,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays.

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were a party of 8 staying in a Pool Access Villa for 2 nights and felt it was not enough. The staff could not do enough to make sure that we were taken care of and were well entertained. We only ate at the resort throughout the trip. While I may agree with some posters that food option was limited, the quality, on the other hand, was excellent. Breakfast, especially western options could also be improved though the Thai dishes were tasty. We were in Thailand after all.

Drinks were very affordable and well prepared. The 2nd night we asked staffs to set a table on the balcony on Rocky Bar side to watch the sunset during cocktail hour. They did it so beautifully and it was as if we had a rock star private party. A must-try experience. Music could be improved to elevate overall experiences though we brought our own gadgets.

The pool there is amazing. The garden is lush and well kept; a true tropical atmosphere. The exterior of the room is amazing and feel like you are in a true traditional Thai house. My friends tried Spa and they all loved it. I couldn't wait to go back again! Thank you Panviman team for such a graceful service and wonderful experiences.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Torsak,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman Resort, Koh Chang!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. We thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services. Thank you for spending your holidays with us.

Have a safe traveling and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Dear GM, you need to either get rid of those trainees and staff at the Rocky Bar or urgently provide them any customer service training. Everyday if they are not sitting behind the bar or under the shade doing nothing, they will talking to each other so loud that you can't relax or just read a book at the poolside.The service at the Rocky bar can not be worst. Onetime I saw the staff member smoke a cigarette just behind the bar and the supervisor said nothing. They should spend their time when there is no customers collecting trashes on the beach in front of the resort or do some cleaning around the pool. Beside this I like your resort and I must say that the staff at the breakfast time were great and very caring. Housekeeping is average. I felt that everywhere on Koh Chang felt a real Thai hospitality. Either lack of training or too many foreign workers from Cambodia or both. Please invest more on your staff providing them training classes. This will lead to more regular customers and more revenue for your resort in high and low seasons. Your resort has big potential to become number one on Koh Chang.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paradaCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear paradacologne,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I understand the frustration of not being served satisfactory. During the peak season in Koh Chang, all hotels are in desperate of staff. We did not have much time to prepare them for English training, just the service training. That's why we positioned most of the seasoned staff during breakfast time because they can take care of all of our guests. Never the less, I will bring this issue up at the management meeting and find a way to improve this matter immediately.

We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

By far the most amazing experience you will have in Thailand . The setting the food and the staff will make this the most memorable time of your life! My wife and I had the time of our lives, we were made to feel so special always greeted with smiles. The staff here cannot do enough for you. Everyone speaks excellent English so there's no communication problems.the food is fantastic we recommend the seafood platter, and BBQ. We have never felt so relaxed and cared for. Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Panviman. Until next year, Mike & Sawinee ;)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cappobianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Cappobianco,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays.

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.3 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
2.5 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Property: Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Address: 8 /15 Moo 4 | Khlong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort) We are in the process of rebranding Panviman Koh Chang Resort, which will be called SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT effective immediately. We look forward to welcoming you to our new Santhiya destination soon! Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is located at Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand, only about 300 km east of Bangkok. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is a traditional Thai retreat majestically set on the stretching fine sandy beach at Klong Prao. Klong Prao beach is not only tranquil but also idyllic for swimming. Not to mention it is one of the most spectacular spot to enjoy the view of sunset. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort nestled at Klong Prao beach, a tranquil part of the island and idyllic for swimming, offering a unique blend of serenity and relaxation within a traditional Thai architectural setting. Great value for money and a unique experience of traditional Thai hospitality. All of the resort’s 50 deluxe rooms are majestically set in a tropical lush garden; it reflects the mood of pure comfort. All rooms feature private spacious terraces, and beautiful back-to-nature style bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Resort Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing