We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

Me and my husband stay at the Panviman hotel for 13 nights.
It´s was a very pleasent stay.
Bungalows: Nice. Bathroom excellent. A litle bit hard beds but we sleep very well.
Garden at the hotel: Lovely.
Restaurant 4 Angels: Breakfast buffé very good. Dinner at night you can choose från à la carte both western food and thai food.
The food was very frech and taste very good.
Staff at the hotel was very friendly.
Beach: Every day we take a long walk at this lovely beach.
I think Klong Prao beach is better than White Sands beach.
Massage at the Panviman: Highly recommended. While you get your massage you can see the sunset. Lovely.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The road to the hotel
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LottaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    135
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
129
292
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vianen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

Stayed for 10 days at panviman and had a great time!!
Yes, the dirt road sucks... Yes, they do not speak the best english but when traveling trough thailand.. how many people speak fluently english?? And you'll need a motorbike to go around the island anyway (if you want to see more than just the stunning swimmingpool and beach) So walking this road is not nescessairy... And if you do not want to rent a motorbike, the resort is happy to arrange transfer for you for a little price... (2 times a day is complimentary from the resort!)
I think that people working at panviman are doing their best! They really try to help you and I think that the "real" management (probebly a german guy or an other european person) makes it sometimes quite hard for them...

As for the amazing bungalows, they are very clean! The bathroom rocks and you'll have a nice terrace to chill out in the evenings...
We stayed in july wich is low season at koh chang. Booked the "shock shock" rate at their site and had a very cheap stay for only 3200bht per night (excl breakfast, which we had once and is ok but 400bht pp.) (normal rack rate is 5500..)
so my advise: check their own website! and if traveling in the low season, waiting might save you a lot of money!

Staff is very freindly and very very polite..! Always happy to help you (if they can..) And also had complimentary pick up at ferry..! So call/mail them in advance when arriving!

Next time when I'll be on koh chang, I'll defenitly stay here!

  • Liked — Total ambiance of the resort
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Femque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

This is a great resort, centrally located on Koh Chang Island about 13 Kilometres south of White Sand Beach, it is a bit isolated and we hired a motor cycle which was great. The resort has good size room and a big bath room off the bedroom. comfortable beds, a big swimming pool and located right on the beach.

Down side, no internet in the rooms and it has a dirt road access to the resort, they do supply transport to and from White Sand Beach (free) twice a day.

  • Liked — Very quiet and comfortable
  • Disliked — Access Road
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Radar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2008

We ( myself, my husband and 5yr old son ) have just returned from our Thai holiday, and spent a very pleasant 9 nights at the Panviman. I must say we pondered for a long time on where to stay on Koh Chang, getting very confused with various conflicting reviews, but were extremely pleased with our choice.
The hotel is charming, located on an idyllic stretch of beach. The room was very spacious and very well equipt and decorated.
We found all staff very pleasant and keen to please.
The only real negative point was the food. Not great. Even breakfast was lacking in the usual standard you would expect. I'm still not sure whether this is a Panviman issue or a Koh Chang issue. Despite this, we were still very pleased with our stay and would consider returning again, as the the location was so good.
We never ate in the hotel in the evening - a combination of being put off by breakfast, and there being 2 excellent restaurants a short walk along the beach. Excellent food at silly prices. The 'fire show' at the Barracuda was a particular highlight for our son. We did have lunch by the pool a few times, and this was fine.

The 'dirt track ' approach to the hotel was not really a problem as the hotel does run a shuttle service to White Sands beach, and also provided various other taxi trips for us at reasonable prices.

Koh Chang is certainly not as sophisticated and developed as Phuket or Samui. Don't expect much in the way of shopping outlets. However, for a fabulous setting and a real sense of 'getting away from it all', we would all highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Idyllic location, lovely room.
  • Disliked — Food needs improving.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2008

this 3 star hotel is located on a nice stretch of beach. the architecture is hideous, mock thai palace, really ugly and out of place on a lovely beach. service is ok for a 3 star hotel, certainly not 5 star as mentioned in a previous review.
i cant remember staying at a more hideously ugly theme park like hotel anywhere in the world.

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — arriving
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauldublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2007

Booking through hotel site – Had some problems with the booking, but it was eventually sorted out.
Reception – Very unimpressive, but the staff and reception very friendly.
Room – The rooms are very spacious and nice. If you need to fit a 3rd bed in there, you should not feel cramped. The veranda’s are great, but should have had a fan. Full complement of amenities
Bathrooms - Nice and interesting. Large bathtubs with a waterfall. We never tried it – looks like it could take a while to fill.
Swimming pool – Very theme-parkish. Probably great entertainement for kids.
Staff – Friendly and helpful
Accessability to restaurants and shopping – A few nice restaurants accessible from the beach. Forget about trying to walk to the main road. As often stated, it is quite a distance from the main road on a bad, dark road. So shopping is not an option unless you have transport. However, the hotel lays on a free minibus service to White Sands twice a day.
Beach - nice enough.
Breakfast – Not up to standard for a hotel of this class.
Prices - we found the price of food and beverage in the hotel quite high. Much better value right next to the hotel. The hotel guests seemed to leave the hotel en masse at sunset to go eat/drink at the smaller places on the beach.
Business services – Limited
General – Certainly not a hotel that you will leave with great memories, but also not with bad memories.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TomYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2007

The Panviman resort is beautiful in its setting. The pool area is paradise (I'm not a pool person really). The rooms (we had a deluxe cottage) are very special. Huge baths - we moved rooms to one where the bath was on the balcony above our hut - so it was possible to have a bath listening to the sound of the ocean. Was amazing, even if the bath did take an hour to run. It was worth it.

There are lots of little things wrong with this place however. It really needs new management to shake things up a bit. It's just too boring. It's a gated complex but nothing happens inside. They have a restaurant on the beach (Stoney Beach Restaurant) where a band (Duo Band - yes there are two!) play really cheesy numbers. They seem to be the hotels crown jewels. Go figure. Breakfast is OK - there are no fresh juices which I find unacceptable for a five star resort, especially with fruit falling from the trees all around you. The restaurant by the pool is the same. They need to rip off the table cloths, turn on some chill music and get the staff to remove the pokers. It breathes uncomfortable. The prawns are really awful too - mush.

There are lots of cool little places in the village - in particular a little hut run by a German dude called David. Does amazing Thai food. There is also a place opposite it that does non MSG food, run by a couple. Also excellent.

All that said, it's a beautiful resort. The road to get there IS as bad as everyone says. I have never been on a worse road in my life. After about the 6th time doing the run (that lasts 35 minutes), you don't want to do it anymore.

If you want a place to completely chill, you don't care about the atmosphere so much. Go here. They also do really annoying things like make you pay 60 baht for a broken glass. 5 Star resorts don't do this type of thing. I also complained about a massage I got - instead of immediately taking my word for it, I had to talk to 3-4 people before anything happened, and at that stage, I was getting very pissed off. They just don't the 'service' thing very well. I'm sure that will change.

All in all, a nice place to stay, but stuffy, and lots to learn when charging that sort of money.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Stuffiness of the place.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank garvangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.5 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Property: Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Address: 8 /15 Moo 4 | Khlong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort) We are in the process of rebranding Panviman Koh Chang Resort, which will be called SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT effective immediately. We look forward to welcoming you to our new Santhiya destination soon! Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is located at Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand, only about 300 km east of Bangkok. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is a traditional Thai retreat majestically set on the stretching fine sandy beach at Klong Prao. Klong Prao beach is not only tranquil but also idyllic for swimming. Not to mention it is one of the most spectacular spot to enjoy the view of sunset. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort nestled at Klong Prao beach, a tranquil part of the island and idyllic for swimming, offering a unique blend of serenity and relaxation within a traditional Thai architectural setting. Great value for money and a unique experience of traditional Thai hospitality. All of the resort’s 50 deluxe rooms are majestically set in a tropical lush garden; it reflects the mood of pure comfort. All rooms feature private spacious terraces, and beautiful back-to-nature style bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Resort Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing