We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel on the River”
Review of Aana Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aana Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Hotel on the River”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our stay was ok in this resort, although being located on the river running into the sea there is no beach at the Hotel, one can take a Bus ride two times a day to the resorts beach. The rooms were clean but the maid service was sometimes behind schedule in making up our room. Food at this resort was excellent with a very generous breakfast buffet with made to order items available. This resort is set on a hill side so I would not recomend if you have problems traversing the stairs as there are quite a few stairs to get to different parts of the Hotel. The Spa service here is probably one of the best we have experienced while touring through Thailand. Being located quite far from any attractions a rental car should be considered, the Hotel can arrange this for you as well

Room Tip: Private Bungalow on the river side excellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayKojak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    195
    77
    35
    22
See reviews for
64
235
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here with family and friends and we weren't disappointed ! The most beautiful location on Koh Chang. Fabulous to kayak down to the beach and an evening boat trip to see the fireflies is a must. Breakfast was great, only one negative thing is the rooms are getting a little tired and could do with some maintenance .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaLav1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked this hotel based on their website and as others reviewers have pointed out, clearly the photos were taken some time ago. The resort is looking a little tired and the rooms definitely require some refurbishment. The cleanliness of the room left a little to be desired and there were cobwebs all over the ceiling and in the wardrobe. The mosquito net was torn and had large holes in it and the towels and bed linen had seen better days. The room had a safe, mini bar, TV, hair dryer and complimentary toiletries and there was a dish of fruit provided on arrival along with bottled drinking water which was replenished daily. The plunge pool over looking the river was a nice touch but in low season was a little chilly! The spa is in a nice quiet location but there is very little in the way of restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance so hiring a moped is a good idea or using the local taxi's. We didn't have the opportunity to visit the hotels private beach but kayaks are provided free of charge if you want to spend the day on the beach. There is also a daily shuttle bus to take you to Whitesands Beach if you want a change of scenery. The low point of the hotel was definitely the restaurant. Breakfast was a buffet and the dishes were poorly replenished and more often than not cold. We had an evening meal there on one occasion and it was very mediocre and overpriced so try some of the other local restaurants which are much better value. On the whole the resort isn't too bad but with a little effort it could be so much better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asturiana_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Generally the resort is eco friend style ,pretty old but still ok condition some part need maintenance. Full with tropical gardens.
The resort itself doesn’t have beach but the canal water is very clear and I think this was a very good point because no sticky skin feeling from the ocean wind at all.
And they have a private beach that need to sail there by kayak or long tail boat provide by the resort for free.


The activity that shouldn’t miss are kayaking in Klong Praw and fire fly watching.

The ARR spa is normal price not over rated and very relax.

We have privacy and the resort was quiet even though we was told that the resort was full(60 rooms)
2 swimming pools is good I like both.

I have stayed in deluxe room- normal hotel style room. The bed is larger than king size and very comfortable.
The bathroom is normal size and I have problem with the bathroom door that not close properly maybe because of the damped wooden door.
No toothbrush provide -FYI

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_Sineepun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Absolutely great location and very peaceful as most reviews will reveal. Yes it could do with some paint here and there but its a great experience for 2-3 nights.Breakfast good, kayaking fun and the dinner boats earned me browny points with the girlfriend

Room Tip: go for the villa if your budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stylishgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

When we saw the photos of this hotel on the internet, we were so impressed and booked it immediately. When we came there, we have realised those photos were taken a long time ago, because now it looks like it needs to be renovated.
The front-desk staff weren't nice at all, they have lost our reservation, so we had to wait for few hours to get to our room, but it wasn't a problem for us.Later on they upgraded us, so we got bigger room with amazing view.
If you want to enjoy the beach, you can get there by kayaking which is so adventurous, at least it was for us.
For the stay in this hotel better rent the scooter, you will need it, because this place is far away from everything.One suggestion - don't rent the scooter in the hotel, it's twice as expensive as normal rental places.
We didn't like the breakfast, coffee was tasteless, food was ok, but nothing special and generally buffet table didn't look clean at all.
Too bad I'm giving it three stars, because this place with a bit of investment and effort, could be one of the best on the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BojanaBles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have been here over 10 times in the past years.
When we first started coming it was perfect, but over the past few years, they have stopped renovating and the quality has dropped a lot.
The last time we stayed there was December 2013 (will definitely be the last time we stay at Aana, unless the give the place a major makeover), where we stayed at one of the regular rooms. We had to change twice during the stay, because the aircon broke down!
Also stayed in November 2013, where we stayed in one of the villas near the pool.
Our jacuzzi on the balcony didn't really work, we had a bit of dark mold on the ceiling, and several of the steps on the staircase leading to the room was broken, making it a bit dangerous to walk to the room after dark.

Also the food is rather disappointing, used to be pretty good.

I really hope they will improve as I used to like it a lot, but it seems, unfortunately, that the mentality at Aana is that instead of keeping a high quality level, they just reduce the price...

The only reason they get two stars is because they do have friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakobmorkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.7 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
0.7 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
2.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aana Resort & Spa

Property: Aana Resort & Spa
Address: 19/2 Moo 4 | Klong Praow Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AANA Resort and Spa Koh Chang is located along Klong Praow river with extended private beach is located 3 minutes boat ride (FOC with our wooden Thai style boat shuttle) down the river or kayak by yourself. It provides deck chairs, umbrellas, towels, Bar, Snack Restaurant, toilets, shower and Spa facilities. This resort offers contemporary accommodation with views of the river, pool, garden or mountains. AANA Resort and Spa offers 71 guest rooms 42 Deluxe, 6 Grand Deluxe, 17 Villas with individual plunge pool and 6 Top view Villa with individual plunge pool.They come with a daybed and a TV with satellite channels. Modern bathrooms feature bath and shower facilities. Guests can kayak, or go on a fire fly tour at night. features two full-sized swimming pools - a pool on top of the hill offering spectacular views and another alongside the river The resort also has a fitness center and souvenir shop which offers personalized gifts. Thai specialties can be enjoyed on board the Dinner Boat Cruise. Situated by the river, The Cinnamon serves both local delights and international dishes. A variety of beverages AANA Resort & Spa is a 40-minute flight from Bangkok, followed by a 25-minute ferry ride from Trat’s Aow Thammachart Ferry Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aana Resort And Spa
Aana Resort Koh Chang
Aana Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing