We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“best hotel on the island”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

a relaxing and quiet hotel conveniently located in a beatifully landscaped garden on a thin part of a peninsula allowing for sunset views to the west and waterfront bungalows to the east. Jungle, monkeys, beautiful swimmingpool area, large and clean bungalows attractively decorated, this hotel has it all for a very attractive price

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    60
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
42
116
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2013 while doing an advance dive course in Bang Bao. Beautiful location, room was very nice, with exception- water pressure to fill tub was VERY slow! Took almost 45min to fill bathtub. Also hot water circuit tripped so had to have serviced. Breakfast was good, views awesome, and pool was nice and quiet. Would stay again. Quite a walk into Bang Bao pier, but very quiet. No beach, so you'll have to go somewhere else to swim in the sea. Check-in/out very easy. Beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Stayed in Bay View....across from restaruant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

went there for Christmas, we wanted a very nice and quiet place to stay where we could go and join fun if we felt like it...... the rooms are OK but not worth the 5 star prices they were charging, there were cockroaches in the bathrooms, the showers didn't work properly, and the sound system in one of the bedrooms didn't work either, and they couldn't fix it, now its not that vital but when you are paying for luxury you expect it...... very slow service in the restaurant but food was very nice indeed.. so at night we got boom, boom, boom base music coming from somewhere which was very irritating when I was paying a huge amount of money for the peace and quiet they offer on their website..... the staff were very pleasant..... but the freshwater pool seems to be taken up by people learning to scuba dive so you cant relax there or swim in the afternoons... for the price I was charged I wouldn't say it was worth half of the money..... if you go there, get yourself a moped its much cheaper if you get them outside the resort (about 150 baht per day)......

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty521000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

While we were at theThai/ Laos border waiting to cross the Mekong river we let our sons to decide where to end our 3 weeks trip through Thailand and Laos? We have them a budget for 3 nights and this was their first experience using booking.com. They checked the pro's and cons about the hotel and location and eventually we let them book Nirvana resort and spa. For us it was a big surprise but it looked good, photo wise, and some references really appealed to us!
When we arrived in Coh Chiang,10 days later and payed way to much for the tuk tuk to get us to the hotel, we were very much enchanted by its location, charm, environment amd the splended rooms of course! The rooms we got were upgraded and looked more like houses on the beach, very comfy king size beds, plenty of pillows and at least a 100 films very usefull in the rainy season and even more at the end of a very heavy trip with the boys!
We loved everything about it,the splendid restaurant, managed by a young French chef, the location and interior of the restaurant with big massive wooden chairs and tables overlooking Bang Bao village, breakfast (do include a little patience), the 2 swimming pools( the upper one is surrounded by monkey families) and the bar food at lunch time!
For those who love something very romantic the hotel has a boardwalk hanging on the cliffs with a beautiful sunset deck and slamming waves against the rocks!
I can understand that some nationalities are not really pleased with the menu/ food choice but I believe that this has more to do with what they are used to at home! It is not really necessary to eat peanut butter and "rollmops" all the time! Our sons enjoyed the food very much and so did we bravo for the Nirvana team we will come back eventually! Thanks a million for letting our Thai/Laos trip end in beauty...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Nirvana is located in a lovely quite part of the Island this may not suit everybody, but if you want to relax and get away from the hussle and bussle this could be the place.
Lovely pool, great breakfast loved the home baked bread
The restaurant is OK a bit expensive - I would recommend eating elsewhere

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

my girlfriend and I stayed there in October 2012. We heard about it through someone on the beach the day before booking.

The room was absolutely gorgeous, free dvd's to get from the front with a Blu ray player in the room. Perfect for those rainy Koh Chang nights where you just want to relax. The bed is comfy and the internet was okay.

It's not 5 stars, because the food was sub par as was the service, especially for the price. We showed up just after noon, and the only place to eat is the bar. Nothing wrong with that and we ordered a burger. The server makes it right in the bar. The patty was small and had only a couple fries on the plate. I asked for a coffee and she said that the machine was broken. I asked if there was instant and that they could just boil me water, and again it was a no. So I walked to the front desk to get instant coffee and walked back where they finally boiled me water. If you're an upper market hotel, this shouldn't be an issue and the server should get this. This isn't a hostel by any means.

Whatever life goes on, so we went kayaking and had a great time. My girlfriend being a foodie and a wine fanatic, we were looking forward to a french inspired menu in the restaurant! We looked up the menu ahead of time on their website which had lamb and duck etc. We were super excited. It was pouring rain, and there was lightning, but still a beautiful night to eat on the bay!

We showed up at the restaurant, and the menu was no where near what is posted on the internet. It could be slow season and not as much stock. However that should be stated. We have been eating street food and cafe's for 2 months, so we were looking forward to a great meal.

We ordered some bloody mary's to start. Absolutely the worst drink I have ever had. Tasted like old tomato juice and could not taste the vodka. I refused to drink it (this is the first time in my life I have not finished a drink, especially the first of the night). The waitress argued that she put vodka in it. Maybe she did, or maybe she forgot. In any case, it was a fight to have it off the bill.

The food was a menu written on the chalk board of mostly thai cuisine, with a few french dishes, such as duck and potatoes. I don't exactly remember what we ate, because it was flavorless and we were very unimpressed. However, the one meal we did eat was a pork loin salad, or something to that degree that was marinaded and quite delicious.

All and all, the food service at Nirvana was a let down. Being isolated they need to pay more attention to this and maybe have a refresher for their servers. We're both young and not that picky but for the price of food at this restaurant, they could be a little snappier!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntarcticNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bavaria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

+ : Beautifully and (but) still somewhat deserted part of the island, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, great choice of DVD's. If you don't want to waste your money at their restaurant there is a shuttle to Bang Bao village at 6:30 p.m. (returns around 9:00 p.m.); otherwise walk 30min on partly paved and dark (!) road to town.

- : in our eyes a not so well maintained place (see pictures) with: broken A/C, noisy ventilator, old hut (at least ours urgently needed renovation) with broken technical / multimedia equipment (despite advertisement), shower with mould, jungle growing inside the hut, very (!) poor restaurant with exaggerated dinner prices (very friendly staff which, however, was being asked to much of), pool closed for "chemical" issues, no swimming in the sea. Main issue is exaggerated pricing policy (4300 baht / ~ 140 $ US per night... ; dinner 1000 baht for less than standard food)...

Unfortunately, we had booked through booking.com. However, cancelation after one night was kindly agreed upon by the owner...(according to staff at reception)! We therefore decided to leave...

Maybe we just had bad luck at this, despite all, beautiful part of beautiful Koh Chang...!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hightower875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
5.0 mi away
Koh Chang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
#23 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
9.6 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#32 of 73 in Ko Chang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tranquility Bay Resort and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Resort Koh Chang

Property: Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Address: 12/4 - 5 Moo 1, Bangbao | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Nirvana Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirvana Resort Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Resort is a special place designed to surpass its name. Made with lovers of natural beauty, comfort and service in mind. Nirvana is the special getaway for anybody who is yearning for peace and tranquility with comfort. Famous for its positioning, Nirvana is the one resort on Koh Chang offering views of both sunrise and sunset. Our stunning rock walk offers breath taking views with total privacy. There's nothing like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirvana Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Resort And Spa
Nirvana Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing