We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We ended our travels in Koh Chang and headed to Nirvana where we stayed in a Jungle Room for about 6 days. It was a beautiful location right down south away from lots of the touristy beaches in the little fishing hamlet of Bang Bao.

We arrived tired after a long day travelling and were ushered into a room that smelt strongly of cigarettes (we had asked for a non-smoking room). I enquired about the smell and discovered that all the rooms are non-smoking but the previous guests had obviously been inconsiderate of others in this regard. The staff were very accommodating, they came and took away the curtains to be freshly laundered, cleaned the room thoroughly and did all they could to make us comfortable - they were really great! Overall the room was big and comfortable (great TV etc) but the bathroom was pretty rustic and not that good for a resort.

The restaurant had a wonderful breakfast included - beautiful food and amazing atmosphere on the water over the bay. The resort also has wild monkeys which was unreal - they were hilarious and entertaining.
The two pools were beautiful, the cliff walk and sunset viewing area was gorgeous in the evening - would have been better if no one else was there :) and the snorkelling in the rocky inlet was great too (free snorkelling gear and kayaks from the resort was a bonus!)

We loved the remote location and hired a scooter from the nearby town for exploring the island, but if you are looking for more action and a stretch of beach on your front doorstep then it's perhaps not for you.

The charming Bang Bao village (15min walk away built on a pier) had some awesome places to eat and drink and was just a quiet and unique place, the resort offered daily complimentary shuttle to the village (either by truck or on a boat) as well as to a nearby stretch of beach for a day on the sand - which was great.

We really enjoyed our time at Nirvana - it was beautiful and relaxing and a great end to our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyGalbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Very spacious and lovely bungalow, we stayed in room 1 over the new year period. The restaurant has great potential as the New Years Eve dinner was very good and service was good, but that was it, the rest of the stay we had to wait a long time to get service and it was slow. Food was good overall, but the restaurant needs to be more inviting with clean tables, and look as it is open. It is also closed at lunch times and the only food you can get is at the pool which is sandwiches, I do not come to thailand to eat this sort of food.
I must say corresponding with the hotel before we booked was very good and Tom went out of his way to help with the booking. Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darlingtondiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

nice, cosy and spacious bunglow, i stayed there with a friend for a couple of nights, Good and friendly staff, nice food, though priced a bit on the higher side. beauty of the place is that you are on your own and at times it feels like you have chartered the entie place. a nice place to chill out. Could have done a bit better with the breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pritam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

We just checked out today. And I must say that's we were not satisfied
with the hotel unfortunately. It is a very very pretty hotel and
could have been great if a few things were changed. Our bungalow for
example was great but the bathroom not clean and nice as one would
expect at the price. Room 4.

But the main problem is your service in general. Especially at the
reception and restaurant. There is really lack of friendliness at the
reception. The girl working did not make us feel welcome at all. Just
told us that we could read about the hotel in the printed (old) paper
in our room and then left....plus I wrote an email before checking in
requesting a pickup which was not answered!!!!

The restaurant also has a great potential but honestly you wonder
whether its open at all. Looks so empty an un cosy! And the waiter is
honestly a disaster. It's ok that it takes some time but no fruit,
coffee etc is not ok. He was basically more occupied watching tv!!!

Plus on your website you post that there is open for lunch as well -
this is not the case! Which is sad given the location!

I honestly feel they are selling something you don't have which is not
ok!! Coming from amber Sands we were really disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed for three nights with my family (kids aged 1 and 3). Had pretty high expectations after reading other reviews here on tripadvisor. Unfortunately, it didn't really live up to those expectations. We stayed in the "artist house", which was nice and roomy with a high ceiling. One bedroom and one room with two sofas and a tv/dvd. The bathroom was ok, but not spotlessly cleaned. After one day there were both ants and mosquitos in the bathroom. When cleaning they obviously noticed and used insect repellant, but in the evening they were back. The water in the shower was never really warm and the pressure was almost non-existant.

The location of Nirvana is very nice, but we missed a proper beach. There is a small strip of sand close by, but I wouldn't call it a beach. The pool area is alright. The guy working in the poolbar was nice and friendly. There's a nice spot on the other side of the hill with a wooden deck where they set up a small bar and you can watch the sunset.

The breakfast buffet wasn't really a buffet, but your choice of hot meal made to order (omelette, pancakes etc), complemented by a table of fresh baked bread and fruit. It wasn't the abundance you might expect or be used to at hotel breakfasts, but it was tasteful and we never left hungry.

It is walking distance (around 15 minutes) to the Bangbao village which we appreciated.

To sum it up, we had a nice stay, but we didn't experience the luxury anticipated based on other reviews and the price we payed. There's not much to do here except to relax and enjoy the tranquility, which was fine for a couple of days, but for us it was more than enough, and time to move on.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niklas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I loved my stay at Nirvana, the bungalow was very comfortable and the dvd sound system was a great touch. The waiter at the pool bar and sunset bar was so accommodating and friendly. All in all couldn't fault the facilities or the staff. Tantra restaurant is pretty good, it was nice to have some French style food after eating Thai food for a long time, but it was expensive for what it was. There are plenty of amazing restaurants in nearby Bang Bao village (only a km walk away) which to be honest I preferred to Tantra.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

a relaxing and quiet hotel conveniently located in a beatifully landscaped garden on a thin part of a peninsula allowing for sunset views to the west and waterfront bungalows to the east. Jungle, monkeys, beautiful swimmingpool area, large and clean bungalows attractively decorated, this hotel has it all for a very attractive price

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
299 reviews
8.5 mi away
Na Tara Resort
Na Tara Resort
#30 of 73 in Ko Chang
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
#28 of 73 in Ko Chang
89 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
11.9 mi away
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
#23 of 73 in Ko Chang
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Resort Koh Chang

Address: 12/4 - 5 Moo 1, Bangbao | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Nirvana Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £33 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirvana Resort Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Resort is a special place designed to surpass its name. Made with lovers of natural beauty, comfort and service in mind. Nirvana is the special getaway for anybody who is yearning for peace and tranquility with comfort. Famous for its positioning, Nirvana is the one resort on Koh Chang offering views of both sunrise and sunset. Our stunning rock walk offers breath taking views with total privacy. There's nothing like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nirvana Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Resort And Spa
Nirvana Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing