We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but awful New Year Gala dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My BFF and I stayed at the hotel during Xmas holidays of 2013. Unlike the guests at the year of 2012, we were not in the position to decline for the New Year Gala dinner, as this was compulsory at the time of booking.
We really enjoyed staying at this hotel, since the rooms (Deluxe hillside) were lovely and very spacious, although the bathrooms (especially the shower area) could benefit from renovation.
We found the staff friendly and helpfull and although they don't seem to be highly qualified, their service surely was good enough.
However, as we had expected, the New Year Gala dinner was a total bust, apart from the traditional Thai shows.
First of all, we didn't appreciate at all that the members of the live band from Bangkok hadn't been given a dress code or didn't live up to it. Although the musicians were really good, their casual (denimlike) outfits most certainly put us off and furthermore the singers really could use some English lessons!
Secondly, the hosts of the shows were presenting the gala in a hysterical way. Although there was plenty of laughing and joking between them, but in fact they weren't funny at all nor classy for the occassion.
Finally, the buffet food was very disappointing and due to a chaotic forming of queues the standing in line for it was horrible.
All and all, this gala dinner most certainly wasn't value for the money (i.e. about 80 euros pro person).
Still, given the occassion, we would revisit this hotel on a another trip to Koh Chang and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

getting to Koh Chang is an all day affair. About 6 hours in a mini van to a ferry boat. Waiting for the boat, then about 1 hour to cross to the Island. It was July so the weather was hit & miss. Lots of rain & wind with one good, clear day. At the hotel, the staff was great. Our room was a cottage style with a modern interior. Nice front porch & great garden on property to walk around. The restaurant was good. we had a good breakfast daily & lunch was good also.They had private villas each with a private pool. They looked really nice. Walking down the main road to shops & restaurants & bars was easy. If booking day-trips & activities just do it right there. If you want to snorkel/island hop I think it's best to book a private speed boat as the group snorkel trip was a hassle. you & 200 of your closest friends all barfing for 2 hours out & then again back.

Room Tip: sea view or a villa would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feedmethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just spend 12 days at koh chang Paradise resort and spa - no wonder its called Paradise and land of smiles - so friendly smiling helpfull staff all around - and a very speciel new year party at the waterfront
We chose absolutely the Best resort at koh chang to spend our x-mas holiday

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schroeders2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The facilities consist mostly of private bungalow housing, some beachfront and some set back. The rooms are clean and bathrooms spacious, but dated in style and maintenance. We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas and enjoyed the beach, sunsets, bar, restaurant, pool, and excellent buffet breakfast (included in our room rate).

We felt it was very relaxing and well cared for with good staff that cater to your needs. The Spa looks nice but costs 3-4 times what an outdoor average-quality massage costs in the local beach massage bungalows. The restaurant food was good quality including fresh-caught barbecued seafood. However, I felt the bar drinks were overpriced and watery.

Wifi reliability was variable, but usually accessible with a device reset and re-log-in.

Overall: Charming quiet beach and good enough accommodation. Delicious complete breakfast buffet, walking distance to a set of downtown options for food, sundries, banks, and scooter rentals. Just what were were looking for at our price point.

Room Tip: It is very nice to have your door slide open to the beach rather than set back behind other bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samoppenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We just spent 3 days at Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa and our experience was very good. Our bungalow was very comfortable, the only problem being that the air conditionner had to be turned on at 22 Celsius or less in order for the water heater to work. So if you want to take a shower, you have to freeze first! Although we were located near the road, we barely heard any trafic noise and we appreciated such little details such as the fact that near the entrance of each bungalow you find a water faucet to clean your feet (some of them are disguised as shrubs!). The beach was very narrow but extremely clean, with very clear water and palm trees to provide some shade. Plenty of chairs, either near the pool or on the beach. Breakfast buffet was excellent and the rest of the food was OK. Overall a good experience on the beautiful Koh Chang island.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anneducanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

For the first night we were put in a bungalow which was directly at the main street of Koh Chang - that was really loud and we could hardly sleep! We were allowed to change the room and got one that was farer away. Furthermore the staff was not really friendly or helpful (especially if you compare this to other parts/islands of Thailand). It seems to be a hotel that is focused on package-tourists. Overall the hotel has a value-for-money ratio that did not satisfy us at all (by the way: even the local people say so). You pay the price for staying close to the beach (but keep in mind the noisy main street).

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow that is far away from the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent our 1 week October break on Koh Chang, a lovely and very lush and green island in the Gulf of Thailand. After checking reviews of hotels and resorts, we decided to book the Paradise Resort, which we did not regret.
The resort is right at Khlong Prao beach, about 30 minutes from the main ferry. The beach itself is a bit narrow, but nice, clean and shallow, with enough shade from the palm trees.

The resort itself is well-organised, with a main building with reception and restaurant, and villas and bungalows. As a family of four, we booked the family villa, which consisted of 2 villas in fact, and a private splash pool with whirlpool between them. Very nice and comfortable, with spacious rooms and a large bathroom. Only minus was that the villas were on the roadside, but as we mainly were there for sleeping, this was not too disturbing after all. So no complaints about the rooms, which were, I presume, recently renovated or refurbished.
The resort has a wonderful spa, which is a bit pricy for Asian standards, but it's worth to check the discounts and specials. Distance to the beach is not far, a minute or so walking. The beach is nice, but lounge chairs are a bit scarce. As it was not yet high season, we always managed to get chairs for the 4 of us, but I expect this to be a bit more difficult when it gets really busy.
Pool area is also nice, with more chairs available.
Service in general is good, although we had to look a few times for waiters to serve us for lunch. The restaurant has a wide choice of excellent food (Thai, Italian, Western) at decent prices, it's nice to sit outside at the beach for diner. Choice for breakfast is OK: enough to choose from, everyday another choice of Asian dishes, for the rest a bit limited variety.

In general, a recommendable place on Koh Chang. Don't expect the 5-star Starwood or Accor luxury, but it is a nicely located and well-managed resort to enjoy a relaxing beach holiday.
One tip for management: please remove some of the signboards with all those do's and (mainly) don'ts, it's a bit overdone to see that you get fined if you smoke or reserve chairs with towels every 10 meters.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morevish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#10 of 73 in Ko Chang
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
2.0 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.5 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: 39/4 Moo 4 | Klongprao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £50 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa, sits on the glistening white sands of Klongprao Beach. Watch the dazzling sunsets sink into the Gulf of Thailand. Located on fabulous Klongprao Beach on Koh Chang's west coast. Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa is simply a paradise on earth. With a prime stretch of 260 metre long beachfront, delicate white sand, azure water, spectacular sunsets, and superb panorama of unspoiled natural scenery. Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa is a romantic, peaceful sanctuary, ideal for a memorable vacation experience and wedding or honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Paradise Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing