We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pub and restaurant”
Review of The White Elephant

The White Elephant
Ranked #46 of 233 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Thai, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Koh Chang With a Nordic Touch! The White Elephant is located on White Sands Beach, opposite to Top Resort/Foodland. Happy Hours: Monday - Thursday from 4 to 8 PM: House wine and draught beer. Features: The islands largest selection of beers from all over the world (over 90 different brands - and counting) - Free pool table with high quality accessories - Choose your own music: Music Station with millions of Titles! - Extensive winelist - Champagne and Prosecco - International Menu with Nordic and English specialities - Nordic quavits/schnaps/bitters. - Live sports on big TV's - we show it all! - Friendly atmosphere - a place for all the family! - Nordic "snus" and candy on sale. - Lounge area With Xbox 360 and many games!
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great pub and restaurant”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This Bar offer the largest beer selection at Koh Chang and the international food make the visit to the experience.
Great Atmosphaere and it is nice to talk with the Friendly Owner Frank.
Good Service and friendly Staff as well.
I recommend and will go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wernerhuhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    51
    22
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, bad fries”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The Pad Thai (seafood) was excelent, the burger was good and so was the chicken filet. But if you are craving for french fries thus is not the place to be. If you like potato baked in long strips it is.
Prices are reasonable, a little above average here on Koh Chang

Helpful?
Thank MarcDeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringsaker Municipality, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb bar in White Sands”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visited this bar and restaurant by chance during our family vacation this summer. Both we the adults and the kids loved it. The staff and the manager were very friendly and the food menu was exellent. For the kids there were free use of the Xbox With many games and they even got some candy from the manager. The amount of different beers were really amazing and we tried a couple different ones. Good food with a varied menu including Scandinavian, English and thai food. The bar itself is very nicely decorated With many different items from the Nordic countries.
We went back several times during our stay and will visit again next time on the island.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoarTK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamar Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beer mecca!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Me and my husband went on our second trip to Koh Chang in July. Last time we did not see this bar and restaurant, but we now noticed the advertisings by the road with the Nordic flags. Of course we had to try! They said they had Koh Changs biggest selection of beers, and that must be true. I counted around 70 different beers, but sadly none from Norway. The owner Frank, which was very nice and forthcoming, said they would get some Norwegian beers in September, so next time we will try that! We had both some nice Danish beer and an Italian beer called Peroni. First time for us, but very nice.
The restaurant and bar itself is very nice and everything is very clean, including the bathrooms. We tried the Norwegian salmon fillet, which was good and we had a great time! We will be back :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryNorway2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One particular sports bar on Koh Chang”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The White Elephant sports bar is an enrichment of the gastronomy on the island of Koh Chang. The largest beer selection and international food make the visit to the experience. The quality of international sport events is perfectly.
Frank is a pleasant host, friendly stuff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laszlo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Elephant also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to The White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing