We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest and comfortable with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Sand Beach Resort
Ranked #91 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were prepared for some discomfort (we even brought our own pillows), but were keen to stay here because of the location. We needent have worried - it was really great. Cotton sheets, real pillows, a small fridge in the room, air con, tv, hot showers.... and beach front really means on-the-beach - so amazing.

It's clearly not the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but for the price, on Koh Chang, and with such a pristine location, it was unbeatable. We stayed there for 7 nights and loved it, and are really keen to go back.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few $ and get a beach front room - so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Sniggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

Great Beach location, bungalows are very simple and basic. But not much time is spent in the bungalow. Beach is great! Food was very good and not over priced, very affordable compared to some of the other beach restaurants in the small town areas. The bad part was the baht bus or taxi as they call them. If you arrive without a car on the ferry the only choice is to use this taxi. Up to 10 people in one truck, bags on top. The taxi driver said they would take us to the hotel, but he dropped us well past the hotel because the road is very steep and they cannot come back up the hill with 10 people and bags in the taxi. The hotel is one of the nearest to the ferry so it is the first drop off. So they pass the entry to the hotel and drive well past the resort. So they tell you to walk down the beach, not toooo far only 200 meters, which turned out to be about 1km. 8 pm at night, tired walking down the beach, high tide, pulling a large bag with little wheels was not fun. Make sure you try to pay the taxi to take you and only you to the hotel. Pay extra its worth it. Make sure you get the hotel number for pick up at the top of the hill. I hired a car to drive back to Bangkok rather than taking a baht taxi to ferry, ferry, baht bus to bus station. Much easier for the less adventurous and faster.

Room Tip: Beach side with a tree, not trees very hot in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We chose White Sand Beach as it was the only place that would accept us and our little dog - quite an undertaking to go on holiday with a dog in Thailand.

The White Sand Beach hotel is built along the probably prettiest beach in Koh Chang: white sand, shady trees - and just a few people, those who stay at the resort. The hotel bungalows and little houses are all very close to the beach, so it's really convenient to stumble out of your bed right into the ocean.

The rooms are, however, very basic. We rented a Beach View Suite, the highest category available, and were a bit astonished about the room - it had a bed, a refrigerator, a TV screwed to the wall in a an angle that makes it more or less un-viewable, a couch that we had to use as a place to put our stuff as there was no cabinet to lay clothes - and a basic bathroom with shower, toilet and wash basin. 3,350 Baht per night for this bungalow, including breakfast (nothing to write home about), is a bit expensive.

Those were our first thoughts. But other facts like the distance of just 20 meters from the room to the beach, or the perfect view of the (dramatic) sunsets from our balcony, or the friendliness of the staff throughout our stay made it worthwhile, in the end. You pay for the location, not so much for the room, and it is worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent two nights here in February 2013. What can be better than stepping out of your air conditioned room/beach hut straight onto the quiet beach and warm sea?
The rooms were good value for money, compared to other hotels we stayed at on the island, and the included buffet breakfasts were good with some choice.
The resort is in a great location at the quiet end of White Sand Beach, but only a 15 minutes walk along the beach to resturants and bars located on the beach.
The beachside resturant and bar is a great location for watching the sunset if you do not fancy the walk into town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We really were amazed when we arrived at this resort. The beach is fine, it is beautiful the nature all around and the bungalows are simple but charming.

But this is a place where its best charm is to stay in a beach bungalow, just take the steps from the bungalow directly down on the sand. That was what we loved about it and stayed for 5 nights.

The ocean vary quite much in quality from day to day, not bad , but some days it was extremely clear and beautiful. Tide, rain, wind and waves make a big difference on the quite open to the ocean beach.

One negative thing we noticed is that there is many young boys at the restaurant, what mattered was that they did not understand english very well and made some mistakes too many with the orders. We tried to be clear but still they did not get the orders correct several times.

Otherwise, this place is very charming and idyllic, its hard to think that this place is on the largest beach on Koh Chang.

Room Tip: Beach bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy801026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

if you love nature,this is the reall place for it.we had an bungalow very close by the sea,small,but O.k.They have a big,good restaurant,to the center you walk on the beach,crossing The rock sand restaurant,about 2 km,we liked this a lot.Then many restaurants on the beach.
The only not good thing was,some days a lot of carbage in the sea.They are cleaning the rooms,if you tell this at the reception,so it is up to you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onkimichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this place. Best is certainly its position, best part of the beach, and yet very quite and relaxed. We stayed in the older bungalows which are reasonably comfortable. They are shaded by trees so dont get too hot, the AC works well, the cleaning is good. Dont expect any luxury though. But who needs it when your front step is 10 metres from a superb beach with luke warm and clear water? Only really bad things were the mattress which was old so you could feel the springs and the pillows which where coated in artificial leather. But I got used to them.
They got some newer Bungalows which are bigger and much nicer, but i dont know how much they cost.
We found the staff friendly and helpful, although it was high season. Also the food in the restaurant was good and not expensive, unlike to what some people are saying.
I would stay there again any time, but would bring my own pillow...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.6 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
192 reviews
12.1 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#36 of 73 in Ko Chang
108 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chai Chet Resort
Chai Chet Resort
#23 of 73 in Ko Chang
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Koh Chang Cliff Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#30 of 73 in Ko Chang
238 reviews
1 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sand Beach Resort

Address: White Sand Beach | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range: £39 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — White Sand Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your White Sand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sand Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing