We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Few steps to the beach, average service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Sand Beach Resort
Ranked #56 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Rangsit, Pathum Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Few steps to the beach, average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Choose the beach front bangalow, you'll have a superb view.
It's very quiet place and we really have a relaxing time there. I enjoyed it.

(-) Reception some of them not professional in answering question that made me upset & Breakfast is not ok, even the bread so don't expect too much.
(+) Dinner or a la carte menu tastes much better than brakfast & enchant Fire show around 8pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jida888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    74
    34
    22
    26
See reviews for
37
93
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We visited this place somewhere in Feb 2009 with two other families. We drove down from the Ko chang Jetty to this resort. Travelling to this island is quite exciting by the catamaran, which houses snack bars and beer with a deck where you can sit and enjoy your ride on your way to this island. Reaching white sand beach resort takes probably 30-40mins by car after you get down at the Ko chang jetty. The drive to this resort is very scenic and pleasurable, also in between theres a viewpoint centre, where you can get down and take pictures. As you reach the resort, you will see the reception area which is also a great place to have breakfast, lunch or dinner. Do not miss the fire show in the evening at this restaurant specially for all its guests. There are several types of villas/cottages you can rent up as per your stay, we took the double room ones. The cottages are nice, clean and comfortable to stay, nothing lavish or luxurious, but very comfortable and right on the beach. The best part abt this resort is that it has a great beach to itself, with a nice restaurant which serves good food. The staff is nice and polite, and very helpful. Also, in case you want to explore more, just take a walk further down the beach as you will keep passing german, English and thai pubs, which serve food, wine and music for the ears. White sand beach resort is best for a couple or a family stay with their location, accessibility and facilities available in and around this place. theres also a market on the road behind this resort which goes all the way down the beach, but be advised, make sure you don't go alone. often you might hear the sound of a "Gecko" coming from the shafts of your room, don't worry they are harmless and quite common in such areas. Do try and photograph one at night, as they look quite stunning. ;p There are also two masseurs who sit under a big tree, and offer awesome massage, so try it. All in all, great value for money, for a budgeted relaxed, and enjoyable stay. cheers!

Room Tip: Sea face rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siddharth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were prepared for some discomfort (we even brought our own pillows), but were keen to stay here because of the location. We needent have worried - it was really great. Cotton sheets, real pillows, a small fridge in the room, air con, tv, hot showers.... and beach front really means on-the-beach - so amazing.

It's clearly not the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but for the price, on Koh Chang, and with such a pristine location, it was unbeatable. We stayed there for 7 nights and loved it, and are really keen to go back.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few $ and get a beach front room - so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_Sniggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Great Beach location, bungalows are very simple and basic. But not much time is spent in the bungalow. Beach is great! Food was very good and not over priced, very affordable compared to some of the other beach restaurants in the small town areas. The bad part was the baht bus or taxi as they call them. If you arrive without a car on the ferry the only choice is to use this taxi. Up to 10 people in one truck, bags on top. The taxi driver said they would take us to the hotel, but he dropped us well past the hotel because the road is very steep and they cannot come back up the hill with 10 people and bags in the taxi. The hotel is one of the nearest to the ferry so it is the first drop off. So they pass the entry to the hotel and drive well past the resort. So they tell you to walk down the beach, not toooo far only 200 meters, which turned out to be about 1km. 8 pm at night, tired walking down the beach, high tide, pulling a large bag with little wheels was not fun. Make sure you try to pay the taxi to take you and only you to the hotel. Pay extra its worth it. Make sure you get the hotel number for pick up at the top of the hill. I hired a car to drive back to Bangkok rather than taking a baht taxi to ferry, ferry, baht bus to bus station. Much easier for the less adventurous and faster.

Room Tip: Beach side with a tree, not trees very hot in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We chose White Sand Beach as it was the only place that would accept us and our little dog - quite an undertaking to go on holiday with a dog in Thailand.

The White Sand Beach hotel is built along the probably prettiest beach in Koh Chang: white sand, shady trees - and just a few people, those who stay at the resort. The hotel bungalows and little houses are all very close to the beach, so it's really convenient to stumble out of your bed right into the ocean.

The rooms are, however, very basic. We rented a Beach View Suite, the highest category available, and were a bit astonished about the room - it had a bed, a refrigerator, a TV screwed to the wall in a an angle that makes it more or less un-viewable, a couch that we had to use as a place to put our stuff as there was no cabinet to lay clothes - and a basic bathroom with shower, toilet and wash basin. 3,350 Baht per night for this bungalow, including breakfast (nothing to write home about), is a bit expensive.

Those were our first thoughts. But other facts like the distance of just 20 meters from the room to the beach, or the perfect view of the (dramatic) sunsets from our balcony, or the friendliness of the staff throughout our stay made it worthwhile, in the end. You pay for the location, not so much for the room, and it is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent two nights here in February 2013. What can be better than stepping out of your air conditioned room/beach hut straight onto the quiet beach and warm sea?
The rooms were good value for money, compared to other hotels we stayed at on the island, and the included buffet breakfasts were good with some choice.
The resort is in a great location at the quiet end of White Sand Beach, but only a 15 minutes walk along the beach to resturants and bars located on the beach.
The beachside resturant and bar is a great location for watching the sunset if you do not fancy the walk into town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We really were amazed when we arrived at this resort. The beach is fine, it is beautiful the nature all around and the bungalows are simple but charming.

But this is a place where its best charm is to stay in a beach bungalow, just take the steps from the bungalow directly down on the sand. That was what we loved about it and stayed for 5 nights.

The ocean vary quite much in quality from day to day, not bad , but some days it was extremely clear and beautiful. Tide, rain, wind and waves make a big difference on the quite open to the ocean beach.

One negative thing we noticed is that there is many young boys at the restaurant, what mattered was that they did not understand english very well and made some mistakes too many with the orders. We tried to be clear but still they did not get the orders correct several times.

Otherwise, this place is very charming and idyllic, its hard to think that this place is on the largest beach on Koh Chang.

Room Tip: Beach bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy801026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.0 mi away
Koh Chang Cliff Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#10 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
4.0 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sand Beach Resort

Property: White Sand Beach Resort
Address: White Sand Beach (Had Sai Khao) | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — White Sand Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your White Sand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sand Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing