We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Sand Beach Resort
Ranked #56 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the first leg of a long trip around south east Asia! After the taxi dropped us right at the top of the hill walking down with 60L backpacks was a bit of a struggle! We stayed in one of the cheaper bungalows behind the restaurant was clean and tidy bed changed and new towels every day! And 10 meters from the beach! Bliss! Beach was lovely so chilled and quiet! We didn't seem to find much nightlife although we have since heard it's a bit of a party island the other end of the beach. Would recommend koh Chang and White Sands for couples on a backpackers budget looking to relax for a few days! Understand there are more expensive room options too! Maybe for more of a party vibe stay further up the beach. Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    74
    34
    23
    26
See reviews for
37
94
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

the beach at this resort could be wonderful but.................... the BEACH IS LITTERED BY 1000S OF PIECES OF RUBBISH ,,including plastic bottles and other plastic items ..foam rubbish ,glass bottles ..general refuse including empty uht cardboard boxes etc etc .
its really fithy
I went to reception and asked for the duty manager and the staff (who were all just chatting and doing nothing ) pointed at the a man sleeping in chair . yes sleeping ..The guy just smiled when i asked why the many staff ( who are sitting standing doing nothing cos its low season) did not clean the beach ..Explaining about the rubbish lying all over the 400 meter beach just got a nod and a smile and of course the next day nothing changed and days later the rubbish just sits on the beach some in and out with the tide.
Some of the rubbish is from the resorts own customers ..local Thais are prone to leave their rubbish after a meal on the beach and many Thais come on weekends to stay here ..and half the rubbish arrives form sea

there are so many staff standing around doing nothing that it is utterly incomprehensible that the owners /manager cannot bother to make the resort appear clean and tidy
what a damn shame
if u stay there make sure u complain and tell them its not acceptable..maybe they will act if enough visitors complain

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We booked this hotel online for four nights but left after one, losing $200 in the process. When we first walked into the hotel we noticed dog pooh on the floor in the reception/restaurant area. I pointed it out to a staff member and their response was to laugh. Later that evening we ordered a meal and a pineapple juice. I thought they had put salt in the juice but after two mouthfulls realised it was off, gone bad. The staff changed it for fresh juice but laughed at the fact that I had drunk some. I was violently sick for 24 hours after this incident. The chalets were described as being in a garden. It did not say an uncared for garden full of leaves and weeds with all the mosquitos that such a dirty spot generates. Also they had an open cess pit with the smell constantly in and around the hotel. This is a disgusting hotel and my tip is to avoid, avoid, avoid. A disgusting hotel.

Room Tip: Anywhere but here. AVOID this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrived on Ko Chang after a long journey from Cambodia and our beach hut was absolutely idyllic and right on the beach. The resort itself is situated at the north quiet end of White Sand Beach but we had a great pub crawl along the beach back home one night. Breakfasts are good value for money but the service at this resort was not great and not very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinseyDenholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked into this resort, only to find that building work was going on and it was nearly a 1/3 of kilometer to the restaurant. Very we complained and they reimbursed the unused part of our stay.
But for what was supposed to be a 5 star. To me it did not even rate 3 star. Supposedly there was wifi in all rooms. Yes if you pay big bucks. How can a guset house charging a 10th of the price include free wi fi and the big bucks resorts cannot.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

When we arrived we were so excited! This place is in a stunning setting. The beach is beautiful, warm seas and very quiet. Unfortunately, the hotel has a very rude and miserable manager. When we checked in, he told us our rooms were double booked and that we would all have to stay in one room (four of us in the group). He would not refund us, he would only give us the difference in coupons to use at his restaurant!! What a con! The food wasn't great, so we spent it all at the bar and went to the lovely restaurants down the beach. Each time we asked for something (safe box, taxi etc) we felt as though we were asking the world and were made to feel very unwelcome and awkward. On the last morning when we asked for a taxi, he would only say "how much will you be tipping us?"!! we tipped at every other place we stayed/ ate in in Thailand, but not here! A stunning place, but the manager really ruined our time here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shipchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We loved to stay over Christmas at a Family bungalow directly on the Beach, right besides a shadowgiving, amazingly large tree and with an undistorted view to the sunset from our first floor terrasse. Very helpful hotel manager and kind staff. The room was not luxurious, but large with 2 large doublebeds. Restaurant is, as most of the resort, situated on the front row directly to the Beach. Nice breakfast (particularly their omelets, though real juice would be welcomed). We enjoyed the calm and quietness of this most Northern and remote part of White Sand Beach very much. A wonderfully wide Beach with the finest sand, hardly any rocks on the beach or in the ocean. Very good value for money. Just don't expect a luxury room (an be prepared for an ant or two in the room). Over new year we were at a luxury hotel with nice swimming pools and everything for the double price, but that could simply not beat the excellent location, quietness and friendly down to earth atmosphere at White Sand Beach Resort. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MYWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
6.0 mi away
Koh Chang Cliff Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#11 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
4.0 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sand Beach Resort

Property: White Sand Beach Resort
Address: White Sand Beach (Had Sai Khao) | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — White Sand Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your White Sand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sand Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing