We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plaloma Cliff Resort
Ranked #63 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel not recommended”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was from 2 to 9 January 2012 at this hotel.
The room was shabby, broken furniture, light bulbs not working, in the bathroom down brown water from taps.
Price like good hotels, quality like gues house.
On the night you could hear music coming from nearby nightclubs.
I do not recommend this hotel
In this beautiful island there are many other hotels much better than this.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 001_Francesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    20
    15
    23
See reviews for
17
39
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Booked this hotel/resort through a Thai agency from which we ended up paying well over the odds for.
Stayed for 6 nights here and from the moment we got there we thought it would be terrible. We stayed in the sea-view room with balcony. It was unfortunately raining when we got there and thus made the entire resort look very old and down trodden. Plenty of bugs at night in the room, not a great start. Once we had got used to the bugs and actually most them had gone from after the first night, we had an enjoyable stay here.
It's location was good, just at the top end of the main 'strip' at Had Sai Kao and literally a 10 minute walk to the famous white sand beach.
The resort had its own good sized swimming pool which was great for cooling down and not very busy. The resort has its own beach although it's more of a seafront than beach, a nice view all the same.
Breakfasts were pretty standard buffets but the chef was good fun and almost forced us to eat his omelette's and eggs each morning.
Staff were friendly and couldn't help us enough. They arranged transport for us to the boat after a mix-up with our tour agency.
Quite a few Germans and French speaking people staying here which I think was a good thing, since the owner I believe was Swiss.

Overall, a nice little place and not very far from the beach with nightlife only a 100 yards or so down the street also.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We came to White Sand Beach by car, and drove around looking for a decent place to stay when we decided to stop at this place. The resort looks fairly swish from the street and in the pics you see on the net but, as it turned out, doesn't deliver.

Check-in went OK, we paid B1200 for an aircon room just a short walk up the hill. The rooms are fairly large but damp, smelly and generally unpleasant. Mattress was totally worn out, as well as the rest of the furniture. Towels felt wet, probably because of how damp the room was. Bathroom was in desperate need of a clean-up, and had tiles that went sticky when wet because of all the goo on them. Great view from the balcony overlooking the sea, as many of the resort's buildings are uphill from the beach and main road. Several girlie bars on the opposite side of the road though, so don't expect a quiet evening.

We checked out the first thing next morning and headed a few hundred meters further north to find Cookie Hotel which offered great looking, clean and very comfortable rooms at B400 more.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnutH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

Never have I been more disapointed on arrival at a hotel as I was here. If only I'd read the reviews on this website first.

We paid 2200bht per night for the room, paying 50% up front (11,000bht). The room was awful and reminded me of a very run down English b&b that hadn't been decorated since the 1970's. The furniture was falling apart, the bathroom was horrible and the bed linen disgusting. The owner was not interested in our complaints and seemed more interested in talking loudly to his friends on the phone.

We wrote of the 50% we had paid in advance and went to a hotel a little further South called Remark Village. This was actually cheaper at 2000bht per night and infinitely better. The manager said that she did good business from people who have booked into the Plaloma Cliff and walked out, as they are the next big hotel down the road.

If you want to ruin your holiday to Kho Chang then stay here.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The room, the owner
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2007

We spent a few nights at Plaloma Cliff Resort in an older fan room for 800baht for 2 including breakfast. For what we paid we thought it was great value as the resort has a good swimming pool and a grassed area overlooking the sea. The room wasn't new but perfectly functional and more mosquito proof than the beachside bungalow we stayed in our first night on Koh Chang.

The breakfast is served to you rather than being a buffet but the servings were adequate and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The negatives were - I wouldn't rave about the restaurant and there's not great service if you want to drink by the pool. The resort also looks a bit tired in places. However it did look as though a restaurant was going to open which overlooks the sea and this would be a pleasant setting as well as being close to the pool to get drinks, food etc.

If you want to be on the beach it's not the best location as you need to walk a few minutes down the road to get to beach access. However for the price we would definitely recommend Plaloma.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby11nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2006

I really hated this place. The owner (a swiss) wants to earn his money with doing nothing. The room was too expensive (2200 baht, 2500 baht for a cabin at see) with secondhand and broken furniture. Absolutely no atmosphere in the room (blue lights) and cheap linnen. The breakfast was also terrible.

The owner himself was talking loudly in German with his friends at the reception, from there he keeps an eye on things, like big brother is watching you. On the opposite side of the street there are some annoying girly-bars.

You're better off somewhere else..

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — the owner, the room, to expensive, location
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go there
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Anoukske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
White Sand Princess
White Sand Princess
#52 of 73 in Ko Chang
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pengwan Resort & Restaurant
Pengwan Resort & Restaurant
#47 of 73 in Ko Chang
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cookies Hotel
Cookies Hotel
#57 of 73 in Ko Chang
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Chang Grand Cabana
Koh Chang Grand Cabana
#51 of 73 in Ko Chang
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chang Cliff Resort
Chang Cliff Resort
#40 of 73 in Ko Chang
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paddy's Palms Resort
Paddy's Palms Resort
#27 of 106 in Ko Chang
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaloma Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaloma Cliff Resort

Property: Plaloma Cliff Resort
Address: 11/2 Moo 4, White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaloma Cliff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plaloma Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaloma Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing