We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK food on pier restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of V.J. Searenity Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
Ranked #39 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
601 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,063 helpful votes
“OK food on pier restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The VJ's restaurant is around 100 metres right of the Amari Emerald, as you walk onto the beach. It is pleasantly cooled by electric fans and I enjoyed my Yum Ton sour soup with pork, ginger, lemon grass and mushrooms. My wife's Pad Thai was fine, with glass noodles, no egg (unusual), prawns and spring onions. Our two beers were served in (yes!) chilled glasses.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
11
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sukhothai,
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel starts out ok. Although the hallways and exterior are a bit dated, the price we paid was 1500B/night for a double which was reasonable for what we got: A nice tile bathroom, a clean and spacious room with balcony and fridge, breakfast included, and a very nice beach out back. The 50B/hour price for internet was the first rub in the wrong direction of many to follow. Use of the "sauna" costs 400 baht per person, when I asked to for some limes I was told the cost would be 20B each when a lime at the market costs maybe 3B. On entering the restaurant at 10:03 one morning (three minutes late) which was nearly empty, I was told I could not redeem my breakfast coupon. Later, I asked 4 maids chatting in the service room to please refresh the room and on returning to the room, found they did not. The shower water was never hot (almost hot when I showered at 3AM) and there were very few people staying when we were there.
This hotel has all of the ingredients to be a great place, but with price gouging on everything and very little to make one feel welcome in the actions of their staff, I went elsewhere for my everything during my stay. There are too many nice people in Thailand to stay with folks who aren't.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Booked a 4 night long weekend "package" with my partner (ie bus, ferry, hotel) to escape the madness of Pattaya for a few days, and what a contrast! Ideally situated right on the beach is this idyllic place, with every luxury you could want.. but at a price. The rooms were excellent, though in future I'd ask for a room on the left-hand side (even numbered) reason being that the wifi is 50 baht an hour here but you can access the free wifi on this side from the hotel next door. Buffet breakfast (inclusive) was second to none, also afternoon/evening meals available by candle light on the beach, though they are a little bit pricey. Wasn't there long enough to use the in-house laundry service but there's a laundry within walking distance that will wash and press your clothes the same day if you put them in before 11am. Hiring a motorbike is a must for getting around the island, the alternative being the rather expensive taxis. Would definitely return at a later date.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers have access to the free wifi of the Amari Hotel next door. The rest are 50 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Koh Chang is an expensive place to holiday so, it's hard to find a good property at a reasonable price.

VJ's is overpriced for what it is but, I still enjoyed my time here. The hotel is worn out and dated and the best thing they have going for it is the beautiful beach it's located on.

The worst thing about the hotel was checkout. We needed to leave early to catch the ferry in time to catch our bus/flight. We stood around at reception for 15-20 minutes and there was no one around. We went to the restaurant to get someone...still no one available. We ended up just dropping our key and leaving. Unfortunately, we missed our ferry and were left with no option but to take a death-defying mini-van ride to Bangkok.

The bed was comfortable but the shower didn't work well (next to no hot water). Despite being close to the pool, it was nice and quiet. No WiFi. The included breakfast wasn't great ...bad coffee. The pool was nice and had a nice view of the ocean and beach. We ate dinner there one night...nothing remarkable but the staff were nice and friendly. Plenty of food options along the beach and there is some great Thai food not far as you head to the town of Koh Chang (great little truly Thai food place 500 meters away across from Coco Massage by a Thai guy named Lek. Nothing fancy but cheap and the best around).

I would stay in this area again but I don't think I would stay at VJ's again. For the little extra there are some much nicer places. Or, if you don't mind roughing it a bit, there are cheap huts just up the beach.

For those trying to decide where to stay on Koh Chang... WhiteSand for a busy party area (can't see the beach for the hotels), near Koh Chang for a more Thai experience with nice open beaches, Bang Bao for a quiet getaway (beautiful bay with a fishing village)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mowgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I do not know where to start. There are so many things we were not satisfied with, ranging from the shabby rooms with no view of the ocean to the poor service from the personnel. The pool area is a bit old and in need of a makeover. In addition, the area with the murky, smelly river was not very exciting. The beach is fine and the elephant camp is near. But I would strongly advice to choose another hotel when at Koh Chang.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnalenaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Would have spent all 3 weeks here if I hadn't paid for other locations. Pool overlooks ocean, lovely cocktails and ice cold beer. Can kayak to small islands close by. Elephant treks just down the road. Great breakfast and extremely helpful staff. Ideal for the relaxing holiday. Highly recommend the seaview rooms, well worth the extra money. We can't wait to return. If they read these.....See you again soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ozbenny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Not happy jan ! Poor service, not so friendly staff, over priced, food is below standard, and woud'nt go back under any circumstances. V.J lift your game to improve your standards.

Room Tip: Stay away do your home work look around but its all smoke and mirrors in ko chang !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Chang Grand Cabana
Koh Chang Grand Cabana
#49 of 71 in Ko Chang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.8 mi away
Na Tara Resort
Na Tara Resort
#27 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gallery At Koh Chang
The Gallery At Koh Chang
#33 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Chang Cliff Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#34 of 71 in Ko Chang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V.J. Searenity Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V.J. Searenity Koh Chang

Property: V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
Address: 34/2/3 Moo 4 | Klongprao Beach, Ko Chang 23170 , Thailand (Formerly V.J. Hotel & Health Spa)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — V.J. Searenity Koh Chang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The holidays will never be more spectacular, with the concept of "Being serene by the Sea". The V.J. Searenity Koh Chang, located right on Klongprao beach, one of the most stunning and convenient locations on Chang Island, offers 50 affordable yet cozy rooms with tropical contemporary design. The facilities inside the resort including Seaside swimming pool and spa, Beachfront restaurant and bar. Our vision is to fulfill your holidays with greatest joy and happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Sawasdee, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your V.J. Searenity Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing