We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL!”
Review of Banthai Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banthai Resort
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We were here for less than 24 hours, left the room for 45 minutes on our first day to get a cup of coffee and the cleaning lady went into the room... She stole all the cash that we had... 1300 Australian dollars and 250 Euros. The staff and administration offered to comensate me with 10.000 baht (about one fifth of what was stolen) then revoked this offer (of course they gave us nothing) and ended up saying to us that everyone here thinks we are lying and making up this story to get money out of the hotel. Mind you, I never asked then for any money but only to search the cleaning lady and her work area. The people here are some of the most dishonest people I have ever met in my life...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank euphorie925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

My wife and I stayed for 10 days with a couple of good friends at the beginning of February (sorry for such a delay in submitting this review). Unfortunately we had paid in advance and came across no-one having any management responsibility, otherwise we would have left after one night. The hotel was "quaint" but completely run down. Although we had the top of the range Pikul rooms, these were dark and dingey with dodgy front doors and hopeless on-suites. The hotel is situated at the "wrong end" of White Sands Beach where the tide comes right up to the wall of the hotel leaving the sand very wet at all times. Although we were assured that beach beds were availableat the hotel they could only provide plastic chairs from the restaurant. The restaurant itself appeared quite popular early evening but was always empty and closed before 10 pm. We never used it (despite continuous requests from the over attentive main waiter) because the breakfast service was not very good,
We didn't like White Sands - much too commercialised with very few restaurants that we found serving good quality food (and we tried quite a few). We did do a tour of the island but although other places appeared better than White Sands we were still not impressed and would not visit Koh Chang, especially the Banthai again

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cantwaitogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

This is a brilliant traditional style Thai Hotel & is really beautiful!! The staff are absolutely incredible - all of them even the security guard!! We went during the Monsoon season ( stupidly) & it hardly seemed to stop raining but the staff made us forget all about the weather!! The rooms are fantastic with elephant head showers - in fact if you love effalumps then this is the place for you!! Covered with them - its fantastic!! You just jump off the restaurant on to the beach! The food is amazing & the service fantastic!! So far this is the best hotel I ever stayed in!

They were absolutely amaxing with my little boy, Anthony, the chef even gave him squid for bait so he could fish & the waiters helped with his Gameboy mania!!

Tops for everything - cleanliness, friendliness, food, service - everything - no internet though & only Thai TV - but who cares!!

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank Thaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Vlad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.4 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#59 of 73 in Ko Chang
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#32 of 73 in Ko Chang
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Top Resort
Top Resort
#23 of 73 in Ko Chang
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.1 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Resort

Address: 6/7 Moo 4, Haad Sai Kao | Trat, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Banthai Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing