We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star beach, 1 star hotel - such a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chang Park Resort & Spa
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in the main hotel building (having stayed in the bungalows once before and not being impressed). Hotel room showers do not work properly (boiling hot for a couple seconds then cold and then hot again) and we ended up requesting a bucket so that we could regulate the water temperature and at least get clean pouring water over ourselves (two other friends had the same problem in their rooms). Staff were a bit clueless and didn't bring us the bucket. We ended up cutting up a large plastic bottle and filling that up and using it as a bucket instead. Beds are rock hard but at least that way I couldn't sleep in and miss breakfast. I would not recommend ordering food down at the pool area unless you order something that is supposed to be cold. Otherwise, by the time the staff amble up to the kitchen and amble back again (having forgotten the utensils), your food will be cold. You may have to remind them what you ordered as well since they tend to forget after a few minutes. You will also have to go find them since they don't come to your table to take orders. They are usually clustered together chatting behind the bar. The beach is quite lovely though. I recommend that you paddle out a bit so that you are past the coral. Beautiful spot though. Very quiet.

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room? Hmmm...read my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for just 2 nights, and we were so glad it was only 2 nights. Bungalows are dreadful, it was just like sleeping in tin sheds. Service poor, all children's play equipment rusty, only saving grace was the pool. Advertisements around the hotel about, beach bar, live music, beach barbecue wasn't available. Tried to have upgrade to hotel was told fully booked, however at breakfast there was only 15 people. This hotel has had its day, it was probably lovely 20 years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I chose bungalow but it's terrible for me. The bungalow is very small, don't have enough space to walk and a bit dirty, the bathroom floor is very slippery and the air-conditioner is broken. One thing can impress me is the pool. There is nice pool with nice view from the pool. I suggest you to book or choose a room more than a bungalow because it looks newer and cleaner than bungalow.

Room Tip: better to choose a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerDi Yok L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

After reading reviews we have decided to book the rooms not the bungalow. They were nice with big bathroom and comfy beds. Deccor is little old but that wasnt a problem for us. The pool is lovely. Its surrounded by the garden. The beach is very average and there are a lot of stones in the water so we didnt really use it. The breakfast was very good with huge choice of food. I did like the hotel and there is nothing to complain really.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieSmoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I would never return to Chang Park Resort & Spa not even if they offered if for free.

The bungalows are very old and dirty and should not cost more that 600-700 bath per night however I had to pay 2800 baht per night and stayed there for 4 days. (2200 + 600 Songkran Surcharge)

As soon as I had see how terrible the bungalows was I asked to upgrade to a room in the main hotel building as it was a bit nicer (price 3000 baht) but as I had already paid (15 minutes earlier) I had to pay 1000 baht instead of the 200 baht to do the upgrade per night.

I spoke with the manager but she was just an old rude lady that did not know anything about running a hotel or making sure her hotel guest was happy so there was nothing to do but pay her the 1000 per night penalty (the rest of the hotel staff was fairly OK)

The food in the restaurant is OK, but again very poor service and long waiting time.

The only good thing about this stay was that the next hotel I will stay in can only be better.

Room Tip: If you for some strange reason would chose to stay at this hotel then choose a room in the main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tobias527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Chang Park Resort and Spa is located on Kai Bae Beach, between White Sand Beach and Lonely Beach, it has some of the nightlife, restaurants and shops of White Sand Beach with a little less of the crowd, and there is more of a family and couples atmosphere.

The resort is located on a compound surrounded by a fence with a guard at the front gate. The resort itself is ‘beach front’ but don’t expect to walk out of your bungalow onto the sand; you have to walk a few hundred feet through the resort and onto it’s beach. The Beach is very nice, clean, with great views, tree swings and lounge chairs. For 70-90USD, depending on season, you can have a room in the main building, which are standard hotel rooms, or a private bungalow. We stayed in a bungalow which was outfitted with heated shower and air-conditioning. However, it needs to be said these bungalows are not modern and I have stayed in a bungalow on lonely beach for 20USD with the same amenities. The shower uses a separate electric water heater mounted on the wall, familiar to those on the backpacker scene. And the toilet, although a western style flush toilet, leaves a lot to be desired. The slats in the walls allow all sorts of ants and lizards access to your room, and in summary, you just expect more when you are paying this amount of money. Also, don’t expect to sleep in, as the wildlife (geese and other large birds which wander the grounds) will wake you up around 6am. The room and the feel of the bungalow are nice enough, and have a romantic feeling to them, but you are left wanting more after spending twice as much as the room is worth.

Complimentary Breakfast is served from 7am to 1030 and sadly is one of the highlights of this resort. It has an impressive array of western and thai foods and this may be very important if you are a family with different taste buds.

The staff, as it is in most hotels in Thailand, is excellent. It seems at times they are almost overstaffed because there are people just waiting to do things for you; standing ready at breakfast to take your plate, or show you where the coffee is.

The resort is located in the heart of Kai Bae with restaurants and stores just outside the front gate, and there are several travel agencies to help you plan scuba or snorkeling trips.
I did see one drawback to staying at one of more expensive resorts in Ko Chang, when locals find out where you are staying they may expect you to pay more for things, and you may lose your edge when bargaining for a ride or goods etc. We experienced the same things when trying to get a taxi to the Prince Palace in Bangkok; being charged double the normal rate.

In summary, If you are a family who wants to travel to Ko Chang, and stay somewhere besides White Sand Beach, and you want to avoid the backpackers, Chang Park Resort is an excellent choice. However, if you are a backpacker or a couple I would advise you to go to White Sand Beach if you are looking for a resort and nightlife, and Lonely Beach if you are looking for the lowest prices and seclusion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We booked a bungalow via a big online-hotel-booking-site about 4 days in advance.
When we arrived (we arrived late to to a very long journey) at 10 pm, they told us that our confirmation we had was not valid. Because they don't have a contract with our agency. And they told is that this is our problem now. They didn't even want to help us finding another place (peak season - so it was not easy to find anything...).
So we had to call the tourism police to make them help us to find another place (90 minutes later).
The easy thing would have been to give us an other room as the bungalows were full. They still had bigger rooms available, but they wanted to charge us the double price, that we were not willing to pay...
So take care... The seem to like to overbook their place. And then they let you stand in the rain and don't give other options than overpriced rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank Schwabinger74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.6 mi away
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
#41 of 73 in Ko Chang
69 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
183 reviews
4.6 mi away
Keeree ele' Hotel
Keeree ele' Hotel
#50 of 73 in Ko Chang
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#54 of 73 in Ko Chang
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gallery At Koh Chang
The Gallery At Koh Chang
#35 of 73 in Ko Chang
73 reviews
3.1 mi away
White House Bailan Resort
White House Bailan Resort
#66 of 73 in Ko Chang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Park Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Park Resort & Spa

Address: 40/6 Baan Man Kang Khao | Tambol Koh Chang, King Amphur Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: £36 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Park Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Chang Park Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing