We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel, but overpriced!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchid Resort Bailan
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We choose to visit this hotel after doing all my research and even under weighing the negative review as some i felt were biased!! Mainly i wanted a nice sea view from my room and so chose a Villa which costed me 160$/night. I personally felt i could have spent that money elsewhere and been lot more happier.

About the rooms :-
Villa with sea view - It was booked direct from the Hotel website and didn't face any problems in booking. Reached hotel at around 8-9pm in evening and was warmly greeted by a relatively young kid, who spoke sort of decent English. Then later he called his Boss and we were shown our room. As it was quite late we didn't find time to check out the room, but 1st impression of rooms presentation was good. We saw the hotel restaurant and didn't feel very tempting to eat there, so we just checked out a restaurant across the street which played live music and was seemingly nice. Just tried some local food and beer, overall were satisfied. Next day morning we got to explore the room, the room has a sliding Full size window for a full panoramic view of the sea. The sea being almost 600-700 mtrs far, wasn't really awesome or tempting. Also right outside the window is trench type depression with lots of useless trees, shrubs and some waste too. It Just turned me off and was very upset with my decision to choose this hotel, also the sea which is visible from room is unusable as it doesn't have a beach. also when i decided to settle by bill by paying in dollars, i was given a very bad exchange rate... as if it was a 5star and were very unfriendly.
Just to sum it up, i wouldn't recommend this hotel again. there are plenty of other hotels in white sand beach area for a commercial tourist feel or the north side which is more of a hippie culture hub.

have fun guys...

Room Tip: If at all you decide to choose this hotel, would suggest taking the most basic room as the view is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sportyracer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our family stayed here for ten days in february 2011. We had three bungalows. Loved the garden and the pool where surrounded by orchids just like the pictures. There was massage by the pool, and the restaurant was fine for us. The young man in the reception was very kind and helpfull - the owner was very nice to us, but he was not nice to his staff.
We had a very good vacation here, but the prices was too high for the standard.
All in all a nice place for a family - and Pe (the owner) does what he can to keep the most noisy people away from his resort - hope he will succeed with his mission ;o) Take care for the swimmers ear - the beach is not allways as clean as we like it - but we cannot blame the people here for that - ships just send there garbage to the water.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margrete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed at the Resort from the 16.-21. of November. Can't recognise or understand any of the bad reviews. We had a fantastic stay, and really enjoyed the facilities at the resort. Especially lying in the jacuzzi in the evening, looking at the stars. Absolutely tremendous! Found a "hot deal" at sawadee.com and only payed around 950 baht pr. night for a superior bungalow, but would defernitlly stay there again at the full price of 1500 baht pr. night. Talked to the owner a couple of times - seemed nice and helpful. Didn't eat there, so don't know anything about the food. The rooms are nice and clean with a good cleaning service. Nice for a couple.
Only slightly negative is, that there are no proper beach there, but wasn't a problem for us, since we rented a scooter, and got around on that. A good way to get around by the way, but wouldn't recommend it if you're inexperienced, since the roads are small with a lot of sharp curves. And regarding the beach the resort also has a free shuttle bus if you don't like the scooters.
But go to the resort and remember to use the jacuzzi - it's fabulous :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oleguer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had a great week in Orchis Resort! The room (with seaview) was good. The service of the staff was great, as well as the food. The pool was good. Each morning Pe brought us to the beach and that was great!! The only beach on Koh Chanh with free beds en free chairs and also very good food.
The internetconnection is free so we could skype to Holland everyday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed here 2 weeks ago. Beaufifull hotel, food was exellent and fresh every day. The bungalow was nice although some things need to be taken care off. (our door did not closen properly)The swimmingpool and the jaccuzi were very nice. About the location, its very quiet but when you reád the information you should now that.
The only bad thing is that we were missing 200 Euro out of the safe deposit box. The owner says that he is the only one who knows the codes but when you know 1 code you can also now the rest of the bungalows because it's a very simple way of making them. He wasn't t doing anything about it. They fixed the toilet and in the evening we were missing the money. The owner said het did not now who fixed it?????????
The boy who runs the restaurant ect ( called himself James Bond) is excellent, he will help you with anything and will do anything for you.
We will recommend the place but watch out for your belongings

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inge66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Regardless from some reviews, I had no problem with the owner and staff, contrary I had a very good time with them. The pool was refreshing and the whirlpool excellent...
I would surely go back to the place. Also close to great divingspot.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichielEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Very disappointing, especially for the price.. On arrival in our room, the windows had been left open which allowed mosquitoes to fill our room. The windows also had large cracks, so maybe it didn't make a difference (we taped them up ourselves). We also had problems with ant infestation and our complaints were ignored by the staff. The restaurant was not good and way overpriced, especially the drinks. Internet was supposed to be free, but was not working the entire time. Nice pool, but far away from beach access. Much better options in Koh Chang and Bailan.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuckeyeStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
6.6 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
#40 of 73 in Ko Chang
70 reviews
3.9 mi away
White House Bailan Resort
White House Bailan Resort
#70 of 73 in Ko Chang
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Iyara Resort & Spa
Iyara Resort & Spa
#44 of 73 in Ko Chang
26 reviews
5 mi away
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
#27 of 73 in Ko Chang
90 reviews
5.4 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#26 of 73 in Ko Chang
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Resort Bailan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Resort Bailan

Address: Moo 1 Bailan, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £13 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Resort is located on the most quiet place in Koh Chang in a beautiful tropical garden with many different kinds of orchids and other plants, which invites you to relax in the tranquil atmosphere. Our excellent restaurant will spoil you from breakfast to late-night dinner with delicious prepared Thai and International Cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Resort Bailan Hotel Koh Chang
Orchid Hotel Koh Chang
Orchid Hotel Bailan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing