We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchid Resort Bailan
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Kampot, Cambodia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Do yourselves a favour and go to cambodia and stay somewhere way better for a fraction of the price.ie, brand new White beach Hotel , sihanoukville...currently $17 US/ night..going up to 425 for the high season....your buck goes way further and the people are way more friendly !!!
The food was OK...the only good thing....the prices were typical over the top for rooms that were filthy, crawling with insects, and never cleaned on a daily basis...
The Dutch owner seems friendly but as soon as an issue arises he turns into a rude slob!!!!
Never hire a motorbike from him....we did and put a couple of scratches on it....really minor...ended up being forced to pay 10% of the new price of the bike...NEVER GOING NEVAER THE PLACE AGAIN.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gunfighterkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    4
    4
    13
See reviews for
8
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

I second the reviews of the other reviewers who had a horrible experience in this resort, the absolute low point of our holiday, DO NOT GO HERE. The Dutch owner is rude and aggressive. The 'swimming pool' is very small, and the deck around it is not suitable for small children because there is no railing. There is no direct access to the beach (you have to walk around back to the main street), and the beach is rocky and not very suitable for a little kid. In fact, the 'Sea View' bungalows are a long way off from the beach, you can hardly see the sea from your balcony with all the trees in between. Our bungalow was completely not up to standards. We had reserved the most expensive "Sea View Deluxe Villa" (more than 3000 baht a night in high season) for 6 days because we really wanted some luxury and because we were traveling with our 2 yr old daughter. Upon arrival, the Thai staff on duty was rather indifferent and not very welcoming. When entering the 'Villa', at first I thought there had been some mistake. It is very poky, with barely enough room to walk around the bed. Right away, we found that the lighting in half of the apartment was not working, not in the closet, not in the second 'room' (more like a closet, which was completely filled with a bed), many spots in the bathroom were out. We also chose the 'Villa' because it sported a 'Sea view Bathtube', which we had looked forwarded to using this with our little girl. However, the water in the bath was not working. When confronting the owner with these points, he responded rather indifferently. The water could not be fixed, he needed to install some kind of boiler but hadn't gotten around to it, the lighting could not be fixed because there were delivery problems (which might or might not be fixed during our stay). As for the beach he said he drove his guests to a better beach every day (at 11:00, which is about an hour before our kid needs to have our afternoon nappy). Commuting to a beach every day is hardly what you expect for a 3000 baht 'Sea View Deluxe Villa', I commute enough when I'm not on holiday. But the disappointments did not end there. That night it turned out the second bed in which our kid was to sleep was VERY stuffy and smelled of mold, the air conditioning made the sound of a helicopter, we found a huge cockroach crawling across the room, the doors to the balcony did not shut properly, the water in the shower did not drain off properly etc etc. That night we decided to leave. The following day we found a MUCH better accommodation at the Siam Beach Hotel. Right on a pristine beach, spotless very spacious room overlooking the sea, very silent airco etc etc, and all that at a lower pricepoint. When we packed up our stuff at the Orchid Bailan, the owner went berserk. Instead handling the situation professionally, he started threatening my girlfriend that his lawyer would sue us because we would not pay for the full 6 days (we had stayed 1 night and already paid 30% up front, which I had already said he could keep). He demanded more money and kept yelling at my girlfriend, even though she was with our little daughter who understandably got upset. In the end I did not want to make a big scene on our holiday so I ended up paying him another 3000 baht on top of the 30% we had already paid. If you are considering this place I strongly advice on looking elsewhere, there are much better places around, at better prices.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sjocolaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed 4 nights in August, we just turned up, we had a look at the rooms and decided to stay in the bungalows over looking the sea, the rooms where very nice, view wasnt great as there was building work going on below (not the hotel and it wasnt too noisy). The hotel has a nive little pool with some decking to sit on, it was very quiet while we where there, so we had the pool to oursleves most of the time.

We spoke to the owner a few times, he was very helpful got us motorbikes, gave advice and even gave us a lift to the ferry, when it was too early to get a songtaew.

The food at the hotel is Ok, ate there a couple of times when we couldnt be bothered to go out.

The main problem with the hotel is the loaction, where it is located there isnt much there, not many restaurants or bars, you will have to get a songtaewover the massive hill to Lonley beach, which was no problem, getting back(late) was much harder there was no taxi's, so we to get a local Thai person to give us a lift which would cost us 200bt.

We are going again with family in Feb and have booked the Warapura resort in Lonley beach as it's in a better location.

The hotel was very good and would stay there again if it was in another location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambodia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

I can't understand the other bad reviews and found the owners to be very helpful. Some people want $300 accomadation fo $10 and get angry when they don't get the bargain of the century.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

I have been really surprised reading the reports about the owners' aggression on this site- I saw no evidence of that.
I liked the service and the atmosphere; the location and the small pool; the lush garden setting and the breakfast was good too.
However, my room... though charming, had quite a gubby bathroom, and something was coming in daily and doing droppings on the floor in there. I know it was every day as I washed them down the drain myself with the shower. I had strted my stay at Lonely Beach at P&Ricos, who offer VERY clean rooms (without mosquito protection of any kind though) for 200baht a night. i moved due to the intolerable disco noise that came from across the street.
Orchid was 600baht a night, and i thought the room ok, but like I say; grubby.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy_mergullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

During a month long trip my two hours spend at this hotel was the absolute lowlight. We emailed ahead to reserve a delux cabin for 3 which was not provided on our arrival. The owner was unavailable and being tired from a long journey we looked elsewhere. On returning to collect our things the owner was back and rather then acting in a professional manner and discussing the issue he became extremely aggresive - shouting, swearing etc. Much of this was in Dutch and his wife was joining in in Thai which did not help our attempts to communicate calmly with them and certainly complicates the situation when you don't know what is being shouted at you. He then stopped us from leaving by telling our taxi driver that we had stayed and not paid them. The driver was intimidated by him so wouldn't take us. The owner then stole one of our bags and would not allow us to leave. To cut a long story short we ended up paying for 3 nights just to be able to leave the place.

I have never come across such incompetent hotel management or such a volatile temper. His parting shot to us (whilst being physically restrained) was that if he found us he would kills us. Please think twice about giving your money to a man who can behave in such a threatening way to three young women. All we wanted was suitable accommodation and friendly place to stay. Simple really!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Don't be fooled by the clever photography on their website: the Orchid 'Resort' is tiny, the 'delux' bungalows are very small with minimal space and amenities, and the pool is a postage stamp of water you would have to be the size of a river-boatman to appreciate. The flowers are pretty but the location is rubbish and the staff are generally pretty slow.
Most important of all thought is the absolutely appauling behaviour of the Dutch owner. He is known to be bad tempered and aggressive amoung residents in the area -something we only found out about when we tried to leave early. It result in a physical and verbal attack which utterly ruined our planned 6 night stay on Koh Chang. We felt so unsafe there we had to leave after two days. Please don't give this horrible man any business!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CollinsTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.5 mi away
The Gallery At Koh Chang
The Gallery At Koh Chang
#34 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boonya Resort
Boonya Resort
#11 of 114 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barali Beach Resort
Barali Beach Resort
#27 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
1.0 mi away
Faulis Cottage
Faulis Cottage
#17 of 106 in Ko Chang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Resort Bailan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Resort Bailan

Property: Orchid Resort Bailan
Address: Moo 1 Bailan, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Resort is located on the most quiet place in Koh Chang in a beautiful tropical garden with many different kinds of orchids and other plants, which invites you to relax in the tranquil atmosphere. Our excellent restaurant will spoil you from breakfast to late-night dinner with delicious prepared Thai and International Cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Resort Bailan Hotel Koh Chang
Orchid Hotel Koh Chang
Orchid Hotel Bailan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing