We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a great place in Kai Bae” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Resort
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is a great place in Kai Bae”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I've been here before....was very good then. This time much better.....a girlfriend helped, she saw things that I didn't see before....the place is beautiful...the poolside bungalow couln't have been better....wake up and jump into warm water...then a good comp breakfast, decent coffee, important. The owner was a great help with everything...not a bad guitar player either if you think a Les Paul can make you play better.. Meanwile we had movie nights in the I don't know what area.I also liked a spa next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyb510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    111
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
109
210
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

It is really a surprise that entering from a busy street you arrive to such a tranquil place with a nice reception + open air breakfast area and then a path leads you past some nice small bungalows to the pool which is surrounded by some larger ones. We, parents and two teenagers, stayed in one of the double bungalows. The pool was great and the well maintained garden and the wonderful plants were a welcome sight for the ones arriving from a snowy northern Europe.
The beach is just a short walk away. It was easy to wade out and further out some stony parts were interesting areas for snorkeling. The islands outside also shield from waves so the water is calm and clear at least at some distance from the sandy beach.

There is a wide range of restaurants close to the resort. You are spoiled for choice walking along the main road of Kai bae. Don't worry about the bars and restaurants disturbing your sleep during the night. You couldn't hear anything, at least if you had the AC on!
One night Mause, the owner, put a film on in the breakfast area. Big screen on the wall and good soundsystem - watching Life of Pi in the tropical night was a experience not easily forgotten. We all enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AnniG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I've been to Koh chang in february for the first time and I enjoyed everything. It has been a real pleasure to stay at this resort. Tha bungalow was in front of the salted swimming pool, surrounded by trees and flowers, birds, geckos, cats.. unfortunately all this nature brings some mosquitos, but a bit of repellent will help not to ruin your holidays! the room is big and comfortable, flat tv, dvd, fridge, big bathroom with a shower made of stones, really nice! Mouse, the owner is really nice and ready to answer all your questions. you can also rent a motorbike to move around the island from Mouse's wife, I did it and it was really cheap for such a new motorbike, but anyway kai bad beach is just a couple of minute walking from the resort. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just back from the Garden Resort in Koh Chang and couldn't praise it more. Lovely spot just a few minutes walk from the beach. Lovely setting, great pool, quiet....really friendly staff including Mause, the owner. Clean and well looked after. Just loved it! Maybe a mirror in the room as well as the bathroom and cushions for the sunbeds, my only comments, otherwise faultless. Well done!

Room Tip: The further back, the quieter it is. The pool was never noisy so don't be put off by having a po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunTattooNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We spent 5 nights in Garden resort. It is a little away from the main Kai bae area, but only 8-9 minutes walk from the beach. Lots of restaurants and bars near by. The staff is very friendly. The setting is peaceful, lots of greenery, nice pool. Mouse the owner is very helpful and knowledgeable about the island and extremely helpful.They also have a great bar and spa next door.
Would love to visit again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rspadiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Having just stayed on Koh Chang for a few days - at Garden Resort in Kai Bae - I really wonder through which miracle this "resort" is ranked top 5 on the island. To me, it was clear in the first ten minutes that this place should be ranked medium at best.

Here is why:

While the villas are clean and spacious, aircon and tv are of good working order, they look tired and dated and smell damp. The bathroom is very basic and dark, the beds are too hard and the outside patio is a joke, lacking privacy and uncomfortable chairs with heavily soiled cushions (checked a few other villas while walking past - seems a universal problem). Bed sheets and towels all had stain/discolouration problems. All in all not better than a glorified backpacker hut.
The garden and pool areas are uninspired and similarly lack love and attention to detail. The lawn is in poor condition, umbrellas at the pool are either broken, rusted or dirty.
The breakfast is abysmal. A few slices of bread, two or three choices or fruit, a bit of bacon, eggs, cheese. Presentation, quality and choice are akin a 2 star package resort in Spain I remember from my student days.

In a nutshell, if you want rustic and feel 17 again, better chose one of the genuine backpacker type huts nearby and you may even get front row at the beach for a fraction of the price and not sacrifice a lot. Alternatively, chose the Amari or the Gajapuri nearby (which may cost you twice as much or more) but you get sooo much more for your money. Whichever way you are inclined to swing, you will get better value for money compared to Garden Resort.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank epicentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in Garden Resort and profoundly enjoyed our stay. The best thing about Garden Resort is it's value for money - for the price the rooms are extraordinary clean, well maintained, beautifully decorated and come with complimentary toiletries and a bath and a beach towel. The location in Kae Bae suited us perfectly; there a loads of nice restaurants within two to five minutes walk. The beach is about a ten minute walk away but we enjoyed staying by the pool so much that just visited the beach once. The pool is clean, has good sun chairs and lot of shades as well. We also enjoyed the big breakfast buffet provided. The owner was extremely nice to us and even took my mum to a medical facility when she got sick during our stay - for free and with a smile. And even if I risk sounding impolite, we also enjoyed the fact that there were very few russians at the resort compared to what you would see around the island and other resorts.

I definately recommend you to choose Garden Resort as your Koh Chang base, we loved it.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank allmillionpcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.1 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.4 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.2 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#7 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Resort

Property: Garden Resort
Address: 98/22 Moo 4 | Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Resort is located in the center of Kai Bae on Koh Chang just 200 meters walk from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We feature (among other things) a beautiful salt water swimming pool and pride ourselves on a very personal service towards our guests. Garden Resort: Koh Chang's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kai Bae Garden Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Kai Bae Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing