We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort”
Review of Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Resort
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Can only agree with others that The Garden Resort is a very nice place and good value for money. Large bungalows with good facillities, a really nice and quite pool area and close to shops, restaurants and beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSollentuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Garden Resort in Kae Bai is a hidden oasis on a not so quiet strip in Koh Chang. The hotel is very well run by its Dutch owner who is always there to answer questions or solve problems.

I got there a bit earlier than expected from Koh Mak and waited a few minutes to check in. But the wait was made very pleasant with a cold towel and cold drink. Check in after that was quick and painless.

My bunaglow was poolside which meant that I had lots of neighbours and the pool but neither proved to be noisey. Actually the only noisey neighbours where from the local elephant camp - when an elephant wants his breakfast or dinner you can't miss it.

The room was large, spotless and very comfortable. My television didn't work upon arrival but a new one was delivered and hooked up within 15 minutes so it was hardly an issue. The television had a huge range of stations in every language you would expect. Wifi was good as well. A small porch augmented the living space.

The bathroom was a good size and shower worked well although you had to wait a couple of minutes for hot water. As there is seldom a rush in a place like Koh Chang this was not a big deal.

Breakfast was excellent. Endless coffee, changing fruits and some nice Dutch touches like good break and cheese. I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening as there were plenty of other options a short walk away.

The hotel bar was very nice and had good happy hour deals. There were at least 4 spas within a 5 minute walk. The beach was about 10 minutes walking as well.

A nice quiet place to relax on Koh Chang.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for a fortnight over Easter this year and I have only just realised we didn't review it. My husband and I came with our 2 children aged 8 and 12, staying in a pair of bungalows with adjoining door. This is brilliant with older kids as there is privacy and own bathrooms but still the safe feeling of sleeping under the same roof.
I was familiar with the location as we had stayed on Koh Chang before and remember driving past this place and dismissing it as accommodation fronting onto a busy street. How wrong I was and how glad I decided to book it. It is a completely hidden garden oasis with large, comfy bungalows, a great pool and nice tended gardens. We only booked for a few nights as originally we planned to book a rustic beach front hut at Porn Bungalows on arrival, but we loved it so much that we asked if we could stay on for the whole 2 weeks.
This is where I bang on about the pool so scroll down if you get the picture that we love this place. The pool is salt water and really deep down one end, ideal for kids and husbands to run proper diving competitions. There are nice loungers and umbrellas. There is a nice rockery landscaped water feature on one side of pool with a resident frog that you can swim up and stay hi to!
Free pool table was popular with us. Loved it when we watched Life of Pi on big screen in bar area.
Oh, and no large, speedo wearing Russian gentlemen with their molls!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Garden Resort was great for us. It wasn't a huge resort, and it wasn't in the middle of a city centre. Instead it felt like little bungalows on the edge of the forest, which it was. The rooms were big enough with large bathrooms and great staff (especially the girl from belgium in the reception, although i cant remember her name).

The breakfast was decent and it is maybe a 5 min walk to the beach. The beach was a nice, and we rented a canoe to paddle out to a nearby island where we played with fallen coconuts.On the way back to koh chang flying fish flew past the tip of our canoe, which we thought was pretty freaking awesome.

We came in the middle of october, so it was the end of the rain season. This meant mainly that it rained (or rather, bucketed down) for maybe a half hour most days, but otherwise was lovely weather. There were also fewer tourists this time of year, which was awesome, because then the service for us was excellent all over the island.

We can really recommend Garden Resort and Kai Bae.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosscosalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Nice bungalows (2 rooms per bungalow), spacious rooms, with tv/dvd (which I didn't use). Breakfast is good, but nothing special. Pool looked nice. Easy to rent a motorbike there. Close to shops, restaurants and the beach (beach 5min walk). Pretty good value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 301md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I chose the Garden Resort for my one week stay in October. I seen it was highly recommended from Tripadvisor and I have to say I totally agree with that view. The price for our one week stay was very affordable and great value for money. We were greated by Lisa upon arrival and shown to our family bungalow. The rooms are big and the beds really comfortable. Great choice at breakfast and lovely home made bread. The garden bar is great to meet at night and chat to other guests. The pool area is well equipt and really relaxing. The staff made every effort to make sure our stay was memorable. There are lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance and the beach is only a five minute walk also. I would definitley recommend the Garden Resort if you are visitng Ko Chang.

Room Tip: Rooms near Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarBeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a beautiful little hotel, nestled into lovely tropical gardens. The hotel features multiple bungalows dotted around the property set amongst lush garden with mountain backdrop. The pool is more than adequate for cooling off on a hot Koh Chang day. The staff are excellent and welcoming and really run a tight ship, you constantly see them attending to business around the resort and they look like they really care. The rooms are very clean and well looked after with ample bathrooms, there are no obvious signs of wear and tear and it looks like the management put the effort into maintaining this property well.

The location in Kai Bae is the only thing that would prevent me from returning, because I really like the hotel. Kai Bae is not White Sand Beach and not Lonely beach but rather somewhere in between, sure its quite, there are ample eateries, convenience stores and the beach is OK (about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel). But I think Koh Chang's charm is in its little villages and I think there are nicer towns in Koh Chang than Kai Bae.

Don't let this one negative turn you off the resort, it is a sensational property and if you don't mind Kai Bae you wont do better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azure_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.1 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
313 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
2.2 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Resort

Address: 98/22 Moo 4 | Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: £43 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Resort is located in the center of Kai Bae on Koh Chang just 200 meters walk from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We feature (among other things) a beautiful salt water swimming pool and pride ourselves on a very personal service towards our guests. Garden Resort: Koh Chang's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kai Bae Garden Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Kai Bae Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing