We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Place”
Review of Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Resort
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal Place”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here in May for a week. We were welcomed the moment we turned up. Maus the owner checked us in very quickly and our luggage had already been taken to our room. He also explained how everything worked. There is about 20 rooms here some are single bungalows and at the back there is double bungalows with connecting rooms if needed. We had a single bungalow closer to the front of the resort. The room was quite spacious, with good cupboard space, loads of Tv Channels and a dvd player, mini bar, room safe, air con was good. Even when after being out for a while the room stayed quite cool. We were supplied towels for the bathroom and separate towels for the pool. The bathroom was also pretty spacious, with a huge shower area. We didn't have any shelving in the shower to put your soap, shampoo etc on, which would have been good to have. We did have a small problem with the shower drain clogging up from other peoples hair. However on saying that the rest of the room was cleaned very well. Loved the towel animals made for us each day. There is also a computer to use for free in the lounge/entertainment area just behind reception. The pool was big and clean and the owner worked very hard on getting it cooler which was hard at this time of year. Loved the area the resort was in because you did get the feeling you were in amongst the tropical jungle and you could hear lots of birds and wildlife which was really nice-but right at the front entrance were bars, restaurants and convenience store. Although as its low season some of the restaurants were closed - but there was still plenty of options available. The gardens were very well maintained and the staff always had a smile for you. Yes there are mozzies -but its to be expected when you are in a tropical climate. I enjoyed the breakfast. You could get eggs made to order, and you just helped yourself to cereal, bacon, toast , juice, tea etc. My scrambled eggs were great. There is a popular bar across the road out front - but once we were in our room you couldn't hear the music. Even sitting on our terrace it wasn't that loud. Maus was a fountain of information and even helped us out one day with some phone calls. Which was greatly appreciated. We organised our transfer through the resort to the airport back on the mainland and even with some ferry delays the driver managed to get us there on time. Thanks to all the lovely staff we really enjoyed our time here and would stay again next time we head back to Koh Chang.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiseCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    112
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
112
213
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tioga, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great off the beaten path hotel owned by a foreigner.

The room was clean and comfortable. It had everything needed for a comfortable stay.

In the morning, breakfast is provided. It's simple and good. They make you your choice of eggs, and then you get self-serve bacon, ham, cheese, and a Thai dish. Also, available is unlimited juice, coffee, and water.

The negatives of the place is there is no beachfront for the property. You have to walk a short distance to get to the beach. But, that is really not a big deal. The stay is still worth it for the price.

It's slow season right now, so the hotel bar that served food was not open. Actually, the whole area around the hotel was lacking open eateries due to slow season.

Overall, I recommend this hotel for the price and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were here for four nights and were not disappointed at all.
Mause the owner, his wife and staff couldn't be more helpful or friendlier. I forgot my hairdryer and they supplied us with one and a kettle
Have to say, we loved the" towelart" that the maids do is amazing from elephants to turtles.
Gardens are beautiful, pool is great and clean.
The villa bathrooms are spacious and the toiletries supplied more than do the job.
Just a quick "thank you" Mause for a great time from my husband and I !

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you have children, maybe the pool ones would be best so you can watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieHoll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here couple weeks ago for six nights with my husband and 21 year old son, had a room right near the pool, it's in a pretty good location near bars and eateries, located in a tropical garden so you need mosquito repellent which is fine, good value for money as we were in low season, breakfast not bad, nice big pool, staff lovely, all in all not a bad little spot!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I suppose I qualify as a Garden Resort veteran by now. I've just completed my seventh visit. So I guess you could say I quite like the place.
I've encountered some of the other guests on previous visits, so they must be fairly keen, too. We've become friends, well sort of, enjoying holiday-type conversations over breakfast and at the bar.
Interesting company, some of them. Maybe one day I'll bump into Mark again, who doubles as an explosives expert in the Antarctic and a sheep farmer in Western Australia.
So, Garden Resort, what's the attraction? Why would anyone want to go back to the same place seven times?
Firstly, it backs onto a tropical rainforest. You wake up and go to sleep to the mysterious sounds of the jungle.
And the swimming pool, with its waterfall, is a delightful refuge from the heat. It is the deepest on Koh Chang.
The resort's 20 thatched-roof bungalows, set well back from the main street, have all you need: more than ample shower room, solid wooden furniture, huge beds, TV, free wifi and so on.
The days start slowly for me. I stroll down the winding stone path from my bungalow to the restaurant, say “sawadee, kap” to the gardeners in the early morning sun, and I start on the tropical fruits and Thai or Western food, often both. The bread, by the way, is home-baked every day.
Anything you want to know about Koh Chang, just ask Mause, the Dutch owner, who is an entertaining conversationalist and general good guy.
He is happy to put you right on just about everything. He'll tell you where to go if you want to ride elephants. Some camps look after their elephants better than others, apparently.
He'll advise and book you on trips to nearby islands and tell you where to hire a motorbike, if you must. I have never hired a motorbike as I prefer my holidays injury free. I take a taxi, every time.
For the first-timer in Koh Chang, there's enough to see and do: trips by land and sea, excellent beaches, bars, good fish restaurants and trying to get bargains. Finding fresh attractions on a second visit might be a challenge.
Then again, I don't do the tourist things anymore. I just fall naturally and happily into a relaxed routine and take the day as it comes.
Roll on, visit number eight in August.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, Poolside rooms have the edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The garden resort had a good breakfast. The rooms were clean and spacious. The swimming pool was great. The owner was very kind to explain things about the guest house or any other thing that we need.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valeria_peres2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If your idea of an island holiday is just a hut on the sand near the sea – skip it and let other people enjoy their own little paradise of Garden Resort. It's private (only 20 bungalows), idillic and romantic yet in the middle of the action. Every detail was thought of: wi-fi in your bungalow, beach and pool towels, umbrellas to use when it rains (and it does rain on the islands, yes!), you name it. French windows, comfy bed, large bathroom. In a spacious room there is enough space for a desk and a coffee table and you have a very nice terrace in front. The garden is beautifully landscaped – there is even a koi fish pond and a small waterfall. The pool with salty water is a hit with the children – though there is no actually a shallow zone for the smallest ones. But you have plenty of space to play in the garden instead and there are even high chairs in the breakfast restaurant.
7/11 is right by the side – very convenient. As far as the beach is concerned, there are actually two options: the 'left' one (go down to the beach following the pass left of 7/11) is closer but not too picturesque; the 'right' one is a bit further (you have to go down to the beach more or less opposite 'Tesco Lotus'), but the beach is nicer, you have those 'very island' swings everywhere; and what is more important – you can proceed to the stretch of sand near The Cliff resort where the sea bottom is cleaned of corals so you can comfortably swim even at low tide.
In general the resort is highly recommended: just the right place to experience the island boutique life at its best. And yes, they have coffee from coffee-machine for breakfast! Regards and our most sincere gratitude to the Dutch owner.

Room Tip: Pool rooms will suit those with the kids: in this case you can watch your small ones playing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ok_vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.1 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.2 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#9 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
1.2 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
0.8 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Resort

Property: Garden Resort
Address: 98/22 Moo 4 | Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Resort is located in the center of Kai Bae on Koh Chang just 200 meters walk from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We feature (among other things) a beautiful salt water swimming pool and pride ourselves on a very personal service towards our guests. Garden Resort: Koh Chang's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kai Bae Garden Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Kai Bae Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing