We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Roast with apple crumble”
Review of Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Resort
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast with apple crumble”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

OK, this place is run by a Brit and a Dutch guy (if you hadn’t worked that out already). Lee and Maus have a built a great place to stay in Kai Bae with large, comfortable, clean rooms and great service.

The guys went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were happy to answer all our questions (where’s the best steak/laundry/banana pancake place?) and offer general tourist information for the island. They also organised a rental car for us. We pretty much felt like we didn’t have to think too much about anything which was a lovely change after being three months on the road!

Then there is the matter of food. Lee is the chef and makes a sensational Sunday roast, bacon and eggs and other British faves (which again were great after so long without them).

The pool at the resort is fantastic, and in nice gardens. The best beaches on Koh Chang when we were there in monsoon season to be Lonely Beach and White Sands Beach.

We found the Garden Resort to be a great base to begin our exploring around Koh Chang.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatcouldtopthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    112
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
115
213
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2009

From the owner - Mouse - up to the manager - Lee - customer service has been exceptional, despite fact that Koh Chang feels like it has closed down for the low season. Excellent breakfast - HP Sauce included - free wi-fi, 3m deep saltwater pool - no goggles required - and movies to PS2 games included, make this place a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolyalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philg71
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Just back from another great stay at Kai Bay Garden Resort. The weather is becoming changeable on Koh Chang now ... but the rooms, pool, restaurant & bar still the same. Add to that great staff with a personal touch and you've got a super little home away from home. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We spent 6 nights at the Garden Resort on our trip to Thailand.
Mause and Lee are perfect host, from their recommendations on the what to do and where to eat through to the lively conversations we all enjoyed each evening.
The staff are a mix of Thai and Cambodians, while communicating with them at times was difficult they always had big friendly smiles when they greeted you.
The huge open air restaurant/bar area became a favourite spot to hang out at night (sometimes very late!)., enjoying the company of other guests plus Lee and Mause.
If you are there on a Sunday, Lee's traditional roast beef, yorkshire pudding with all the trimmings is not to be missed.
We spent a day on a snorkeling trip recommended by Lee which was great value and had a wonderful time.
If you are expecting the Garden Resort to be a big fancy hotel with all the trimmings this is not the place for you. However if you want to stay somewhere with some local flavour and hosts who genuinely enjoy interacting with their guests this is definitely the place to stay on Koh Chang.
Our tip - request a poolside room.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touringduoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

What more to write after the last reviews.....
We stayed for 15 nights and we did not want to leave.
The bbq, the sunday roast and don’t forget the havenly tiramisu, the pina colada from Polla, the great staff, the karaoke, the pool and our room, we were feeling very much at home.
Thanks Lee and Nunch and staff (a hug for Katie) we had a great time and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleLady_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

What a nice experience! The Garden Resort is like a hidden oasis.
I went with my daughter 11 years old and she is very determent to go back asap!
Mause and Lee with their crew made our stay special.
We stayed our first night here and moved to another bigger hotel, but after some days away we just had to come back to the friendly atmosphere at the Garden.
I especially recommend the resort for people keen on good music and interesting conversations.
The breakfast is the best we had on our vacation, and I had to argue really hard with my daughter to have supper any other place…
So if you are in doubt where to stay on Koh Chang....go here!

Advice1: Rent a scooter to get around
Advice2: Visit "Lonely Beach"
Advice3: Listen to the advises from Mause and Lee
Advice4: Enjoy the good massage and just relax...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmwcs1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed 6 nights at the Garden Resort from 5th to 11th April and were very satisfied in all respects. Having made our booking only a few days beforehand after deciding on a last minute change of travel plans, through excellent communications and rapid email replies from the management, everything was easily sorted.

If we had to describe the Garden Resort in as few words as possible, we would say – Personal Attention and Excellent Relaxation at its best. However there is quite a lot more that really needs to be said if this review is to prove helpful to other travellers considering a visit to the resort.

Finding the Garden Resort well signposted, but tucked away, almost at the end of the road through Kai Bae, one passes through an archway into what can be described as a haven of tranquillity.
The personal attention starts on arrival, being greeted by the owner Mause, who checked us in and then showed us to our allotted Poolside Room, he personally made sure we were happy with everything and comfortable right from the start. Our bags were taken care of by a guy who we noted, seemed to do everything from gardening, landscaping and all kinds of other maintenance.
Shortly afterward we met the Manager, Lee who served us his own very tasty Sunday Roast, with excellent tender beef and Yorkshire pud as we settled to watch the Grand Prix on the large screen in the ‘breakfast bar’ with a beer, along with a few other guests.

Rooms are fairly sparsely furnished, but quite adequate and very clean. The bed was large and exceptionally comfortable. Bathrooms can only be described as ‘different’ with basic but usable facilities. No Jacuzzis or ‘Power showers’ here though.

WiFi is free and available throughout the Resort, personal access codes being set up by Mause on arrival. There were a few teething problems with connections etc but this was soon overcome and we found it very useable.

We spent a lot of time in the superb pool; which although seemingly small, has to be one of the best we have ever used. Water is semi-salt and crystal clear; the entire pool area is kept immaculately clean through daily regular maintenance by the same bag/gardener handyman. Loungers and parasols are freely available and there is an intercom for food and drinks bar service – excellent.

The small village Kai Bae has a great many good bars and restaurants and both Mause and Lee are able to recommend places to suit all tastes, even though the resort has its own very well priced bar and restaurant with a wide ranging English/Thai menu.

Breakfast is served by Lee’s wife and ‘Mama’ who cook everything to order on the spot. Choice may be a little limited, but there was always ample Fresh Fruit, Juices and all sorts of Bacon and Eggs to make a great start to anyone’s day. Admittedly we never asked if decent ‘filter coffee’ was available instead of the ‘instant’ though.

During our stay, on two occasions, evening entertainment and food were provided free for all guests. Mause is an accomplished guitar player, along with his talented friends and Lee backs things up with a mean Karaoke! Guests are also very much encouraged to join in and it is all great fun with a personal touch from the management; which definitely is the speciality of the Garden Resort.

Trips, tours and travel plans can be made at the Resort and both Mause and Lee are always available with very helpful advice on where to rent the best bikes or cars and will also assist in planning some great days out around Koh Chang.

On first impression, things may seem ‘basic’ at the Garden Resort, but combined with the personal touch of the excellent ‘on hand’ but never intrusive management, it is all one needs to have a most relaxing, enjoyable stay and we most certainly did just that. Highly recommended and most of all, thank you Mause, Lee and all the other brilliant helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.1 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
1.2 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.7 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Resort

Property: Garden Resort
Address: 98/22 Moo 4 | Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Resort is located in the center of Kai Bae on Koh Chang just 200 meters walk from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We feature (among other things) a beautiful salt water swimming pool and pride ourselves on a very personal service towards our guests. Garden Resort: Koh Chang's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kai Bae Garden Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Kai Bae Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing