We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“relaxing, private and romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“relaxing, private and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just returned from three nights at Mercure Hideaway. Booked a poolside room which was absolutely amazing, very spacious room and the private deck leading to the pool made it feel like we had the pool all to ourselves. The overall layout of the hotel offers many spots to layback and relax. The main pool area had ample loungers well spaced. The bar staff could improve their drink service, I had to go look for service on a couple of occasions but once they tuned into your consumption rate they kept an eye on you without being intrusive. All meals were fresh and tasty and priced competitively for hotels of this calibre. There was a local food vendor nearby which was cooked true thai cuisine at thai prices if that is your thing. We hired a scooter from the front of the hotel and explored the many beaches and villages. But to be honest the private back at Mercure was just as good as any. The sunsets were amazing. I would defiantly recommend Mercure Hideaway to anyone planning a trip to Koh Chang.
Check in and Check out could improve as there was no recognition by staff as to who was next to be served leading to queue jumpers.

Room Tip: Poolside a must, these rooms have a private ish pool only shared by about 10 rooms and if not busy y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We very much appreciate your comment and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Also please allow me to express our sincerest apologies regarding to your experience did not meet your expectation on bar staff and check-in, check-out process. We will working hard on this and will share your comment with our team and we sure that this feedback will stimulate to all of our staff as we aim to improve the quality of our service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    207
    83
    38
    15
See reviews for
131
284
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Mercuri Hideaway offered us a luxurius two-night stay in the beginning of March. Especially the service was superb - right from the beginning. Room was comfortable and clean, also the beds were the softest ones we've met during our 6 week Asian travel. According to European standards they are still hard, but muchmuch more comfortable than in any other hotel we have visited in China or Thailand. The restaurant is quite expensive, but breakfast was well worth the money. However during evening, there were not many other guests eating, so it felt quite empty too. There is a really nice restaurant, Lisca Bar, next to the hotel's beach, so we were glad to find it already the next day after arrival.
The beach is very shallow, so if you prefer swimming in the ocean than in the pool, then this hotel is not the best one for you.

I gladly will recommend the hotel, if you are looking for a calm vacation and you appreciate excellent service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun_makes_me_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and your comment already share with our team and we sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We do hope to welcome you back to stay with us many more time very near in the future.

Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Lovely hotel and the staff, especially the management, for the most part go the extra mile to ensure that you are happy. My husband and I stayed here on two occasions within a week. The first was a delight from start to finish. Beautiful room, lovely facilities, gorgeous private-ish beach and lovely pool. The gym was spotless and the grounds are very well maintained. The breakfast was very good with a huge selection of food. There was a restaurant photoshoot taking place at the time so everything was presented in such a beautiful manner. Any meals outside of breakfast however was a large fail. My suggestion is to go outside the resort for everything besides the breakfast (which, by the way was expensive but very good). On our second visit the room they put us in was a very poor standard. Avoid room 1404 whatever you do. It had been flooded by the room above or burst pipes and had a horrible stench of mold or mildew. The wall was still damp and you could put your finger through it. I found a pubic hair in the tub (gag!). Altogether disgusting!! Went to the pool to enjoy the gorgeous sunshine and allow the housekeeping crew to reclean and de-stink the room (overbooked and couldn't move us till the next day) only to find no one there but towels reserving every beach chair (clearly states in the Mercure's welcome package that your towel will be removed)! Asked the manager at the pool about the absence of people and abundance of towels on chairs, he suggested we move two of the 30 kg wooden lounge chairs with no wheels, that were in the shade and vacant into the sun!!! I absolutely declined and insisted he remove a couple towels on the vacant sunny chairs. He did I was really astounded by his suggestion that WE move the chairs! Thankfully the next day was much better. Be sure to insist on top notch accommodations and service here as that is what the Mercure is known and valued for. They will live up to it as long as you know to insist on it. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 1404! Stinky mouldy and disgusting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Michelle,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Also Please allow us to express my sincerest apologies and we are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Your comment already share with our team and we sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel and especially the pool area are stunning. Next to the hotel there are some small restaurants but we often went to Lonely beach for dinner. We booked a villa but were informed less than 24hrs before our arrival that the hotel is overbooked and if we were willing to change into a beach view room and would in return get breakfast offered by the hotel.
The beach is nice but cant compete with other beaches on Koh Chang (like klong prao beach or white sand beach)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank downtownviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comment already share with our team and we sure that this feedback will stimulate to all of our staff as we aim to improve the quality of our service.

We do hope to welcome you back to stay with us very near in the future.

Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for four night here at the beginning of February.We stayed in a deluxe double room with ocean view. The rooms are massive and to an excellent standard. The bathroom has a choice of shower with two heads or a bath big enough for two people. On the balcony you also have seating and a swinging seat. Eveything about this hotel from check in to the spa, fitness center and dining is first class. They even have hot tubs for use on the decking around the pool. My wife and I class this up there as one of the best hotels we've stayed in across the world, we even compared it to the Shangri la rasa ria in Kota Kinabalu where we went for our honeymoon. I highly recommend this hotel for couple and couples with very young children.

The only downside I found with this hotel was whilst trying to sleep on the sunbeds on the decking there was a family with three children aged around 10 - 15. These kids like most could not keep still and were running backwards and forwards and it didn't matter where you laid where it it be next to them or the other side or the pool they'd still have to run past you. Decking and children don't mix and as such it was like a heard of elephants going past.

Apart from that which the hotel couldn't control as even their own mother couldn't, everything was first class.

Oh and the Wifi is perfect even in areas round the pool

Room Tip: Highly recommend the deluxe with ocean view. Lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loctite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will stimulate to all of our staff as we aim to improve the quality of our service.

We do hope to welcome you back to stay with us very near in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice luxury hotel...for koh chang its expensive but luxury..we was had pool villa with private swimming pool and jacuzzi...it was amazing on Valentines day :)) What a wonderful hotel. The rooms are large, clean and very cimfortable. Ideal location for relax..

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanuelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway and very pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your comment already share with our team and we will continuously improve the quality of our service.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you to stay with us again very near in the future.

Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
8.8 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
3.0 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#8 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel

Property: Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Address: 111/1 Moo 1, Ao Bai Lan, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Bai Lan Bay, Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway, a 96 room modern beach front resort, is East from Trat Airport. Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand has large areas designated as its National Marine Park, providing a natural retreat filled with fascinating wildlife and marine life, high peaks, scenic waterfalls, lush jungles and diving and other water sport facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing