We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rename it Hideous v/s Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rename it Hideous v/s Hideaway”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The actual Pictures look a lot better than the Beach. Its a rocky stretch with virtually no swimming space. Sign said no outside food allowed on Pool and Beach for Safety and Hygiene reasons - The "beach too" seriously !!! - apparently the Hotel could serve food & drinks on the Beach and that was okay. It was for reasons that you can only order from the pool bar. Its really isolated and everything has a price but even at the price service was not available. We wanted to Kayak one day close to Sunset and the person said we could not do it as they close at 6 pm but it was not yet 6 - they just could not bother. The rooms have a contemprorary finish which is really not suitable for a family as besides the side closet there is really no storage space. Our AC had a terrible high pitched sound likely coming in from a worn out Bearing on the unit. Our worst experince was at Checkout they tried to charge us for missing cutlery called Miscellaneous charges - apparently the tea cups and spoon etc which were left with the other room service dishes were "missing" . It was hilarious and the person called the person to check but it took over a half hour and I just paid up and left - talk about a "service mindset"

Room Tip: A Sea view room may be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, General Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We regret to hear of your unpleasant stay during your visit to Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway.

We have taken note of your comments to be addressed with all concerned for our improvement.

We hope that we would have an opportunity to redeem ourselves and welcome you back to our
hotel for your next visit to Koh Chang.

Sincerely yours,
Chaiwat Onlahoong
General Manager
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    226
    91
    43
    25
See reviews for
148
317
31
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights in the pool villa. Our experience was mixed. There were things we really liked and things we disliked. In general we got the impression they value hotel policy over guest satisfaction and the place lacks atmosphere. It felt like a European city hotel. Quite impersonal and they have many hotel rules that go at the expense of guest satisfaction.

Read below what we liked and didn't like (and some tips below that on how to save money):

What we liked:

- BEAUTIFUL RESORT
The resort is beautiful. The lobby area should receive a design award. Simply stunning.

- BEAUTIFUL ROOM
Our room (Pool Villa) was beautiful as well and the beds slept great.

- BREAKFAST BUFFER WAS EXCELLENT
Breakfast buffet was excellent and extensive (see below for a tip on how to book including breakfast)

- RESTAURANT STAFF WAS GREAT
The restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager of the restaurant staff was very professional towards guests and staff as well. He could work in any 4 or 5 star hotel around the world.

- VALUE FOR MONEY FOR ROOM (LOW SEASON)
The value for money for the room was great during the low season (4500 THB). We had a private pool and jacuzzi.



What we didn't like:

- RESTAURANT VERY EXPENSIVE
It is common for resorts to be about twice as expensive as normal restaurants on the Island. But Mercure was about 3-4 times as expensive. See below for tips on where to eat at a better value for money.

- NO ATMOSPHERE
The place lacks atmosphere (except for the restaurant). This happens sometimes with more luxurious places. The vibe felt like a European city hotel. Not a cosy beach resort with super friendly Thai hospitality (see below for a tip on another resort on Koh Chang that is just as nice, but with excellent atmosphere).

- NO PICKUP
We had several occasions where hotel policy clearly went to the expense of guests. For example, they wouldn't pick us up for free from the resort we stayed at on Koh Chang, prior to Mercure. I've been going to Thailand for many years and so far the resorts always arranged a free pickup from another place on the same Island. Probably a global hotel policy of Mercure.

- DEPOSIT ISSUE
On arrival we had to deposit 1000 THB per day for the food and drinks we might charge to the room. They do so to make sure that in the event you run off without paying the hotel bill, they will at least have the deposit. It isn't a big issue, but felt like a token of distrust and didn't make us feel very welcome. I've never had to pay a deposit for this in any hotel in Thailand or elsewhere. Another misplaced example of hotel policy.

- BEACH BED ISSUE
The pool area has only 13 beach beds (there are more on the beach). And even during the low season they were all taken (wouldn't want to be here in high season). We traveled with our two daughters of 4 and 6 and they can't swim yet, so they use armbands. My wife or me always keeps an eye on them when they are in the water. Since all the beds at the pool area were taken we asked the pool guy if he would help me put a bed from the beach area on the pool area, so that we could watch the kids. The answer was no. The beach chairs were supposed to be used on the beach only. As a result we had to sit on a wall watching the kids whenever they went swimming. Not really comfortable. Nor the beach chair nor they pool area would have been hurt by using the beach chair on the pool area. Another example of hotel policy at the expense of guests. (And why are there only 13 beach beds at the pool in the first place? It is a big resort.)

- EXTRA BED ISSUE
We had an issue with the bed sofa in our room. When I made a reservation request through our booking agent (hotelsthailand.com) they informed me Mercure wanted to charge around 900 THB per child for an extra bed. I found that to be too expensive and asked them to cancel my reservation request. They guy at hotelsthailand.com talked to Mercure and together they came up with the solution they could make up the bed sofa like a bed for our 4 year old, so we only had to pay for one extra bed. That sounded fine with me and so we booked. When we arrived it turned out the sofa bed had a U shape and the area you could sleep on was only 40cm/16in wide. When I made clear to the woman of the reception that this wouldn't work she said that most rooms have a bigger bed sofa and that it was an estimation error to think a child could sleep on the bed sofa in this room type (pool villa). She said she would talk to the manager to find a solution. So we expected they would put in another extra bed for free, since it was their estimation error and, in our opinion, their responsibility. But their solution was to put the U shaped mattress on the floor, fill the U hole with pillows and put some bed sheets over it. And so we did and it worked fine, but I didn't think this type of solution would suit a 4 star hotel. I would expect this type of solution in a budget hotel.


TIPS:

- HOW TO BOOK WITH BREAKFAST INCLUDED
If you book through hotelsthailand.com you can book at roughly the same rate, but include breakfast, which otherwise costs 380 THB per person per day. (Agoda.com and Booking.com didn't offer rooms including breakfast)

- HAPPY TURTLE: MORE AFFORDABLE RESTAURANT
There is an excellent restaurant within 3 minutes walk from the resort. It is called 'Happy Turtle'. It is owned by a couple. The guy is from Sweden and his wife if Thai. It is a very cosy place, good vibe, excellent food and great value for money. For example; a can of coke there costs 25 THB, in Mercure it costs 80 THB (which is roughly 2 euro or 2.5 USD). The owners were very friendly as well. After having been there a couple of nights we had lovely chats with both of them and they helped us arrange a reliable and affordable private transfer back to Bangkok at the end of our vacation. To go to Happy Turtle you exit the resort (with the resort in your back) turn left and walk for about 3 minutes.

- LISCA BEACH: MORE AFFORDABLE RESTAURANT ON THE BEACH
Another more affordable restaurant is on the beach on your left side (when fronting the ocean). It is called Lisca beach. The food was good and the prices were in between Mercure and Happy Turtle. So still quite expensive for Koh Chang standards, but about 50% cheaper than Mercure. We saw many guests go there for lunch or a drink and walk back to Mercure afterwards.

- A NICER RESORT AT THE SAME LUXURY LEVEL
In general, if you are looking for a resort at a similar luxury level and just as stunningly beautiful, only with great service and more fair restaurant prices, I would recommend to go to Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort. We stayed there for 10 nights and loved it. I would recommend this place anytime.

- RAINY SEASON
Please note that July and August are the peak of the rainy season on Koh Chang. We stayed there from the half of July to half of August. About 1/4th of the days it rained all day, 1/4th were sunny and half of the days were completely clouded, with a short shower. The south of Thailand (Phuket/Krabi/Samui areas) has its rainy season peak in October and November. Meaning fewer days where it rains the entire day and more sun. The Samui area is most dry. This was the first time we went to Koh Chang in July/August and also the last time. In our opinion we had too much days where it rained all day and too little sunshine. Next year we'll go to the South again. The locals did say it rained more this year than previous years.

Room Tip: To book with breakfast included go to hotelsthailand.com. The rates are about the same as on booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wouter79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, General Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We regret to hear of your unpleasant stay during your visit at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway.

We have taken note of your comments to be seriously addressed to all concerned for our improvement.

We hope that we would have an opportunity to redeem ourselves and welcome you back to our
hotel for your next visit to Koh Chang.

Sincerely yours,
Chaiwat Onlahoong
General Manager
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Peaceful place with a private beach that is way better then the main beach (white sands).

Good service and really nice bungalow.

Not a party place if that's your thing. This hotel is perfect for relaxation and romantic holidays. We pre-ordered a private dinner by the ocean and got incredible good service (one person waited on us the entire dinner and ensured privacy).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keskitalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, General Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are delighted to hear of your pleasant stay during visit at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway.

We hope that we would have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit
to Koh Chang.

Sincerely yours,
Chaiwat Onlahoong
General Manager
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A lovely place. A little secluded from the main tourist path, yet with access to the beach and many attractions. Ocean-view rooms are worth every penny.
Food and drinks are a little over priced, but affordable for a few days.

Room Tip: Ocean-views rooms on the second floor and above are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeless_wanderer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKC_Management_Team, General Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are pleased to year of your pleasant stay during your visit at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway.

We hope that we would have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel for next visit to Koh Chang.

Sincerely yours,
Chaiwat Onlahoong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.1 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
8.7 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
3.0 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#8 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel

Property: Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Address: 111/1 Moo 1, Ao Bai Lan, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Bai Lan Bay, Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway, a 96 room modern beach front resort, is East from Trat Airport. Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand has large areas designated as its National Marine Park, providing a natural retreat filled with fascinating wildlife and marine life, high peaks, scenic waterfalls, lush jungles and diving and other water sport facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing