We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you see is what you get with place for improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kachapura

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kachapura
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Ko Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get with place for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Good location, Clean room. I cannot say more of this guesthouse than that. Even if 500THB/night is cheap, that doesn't mean that the garden shouldn't have any lights after 02:00AM, so you can break your neck on the uneven cobbled path to your room. I also believe that during 3 nights, the room should at least be cleaned once, as well as the towels replaced. The lack of sound-insulation will be hard for some as the nearby bars have the music very loud. Something to put or hang your clothes on in the room and in the bathroom would be welcome. Staff most of the time unavailable and no explanations upon arrival - not everyone likes the toilets without paper. This management decision could be announced when checking in. I still give an average rating considering the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexinbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    3
    1
    11
See reviews for
2
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

The bungalows are great! They are situated in a nice and quiet garden (as quiet as it gets at Lonely..) and they all look so pretty with dark brown and all white painted walls and floors. I slept great in the big bed and the wifi worked just fine.
It is, as mentioned in other reviews, a little bit if a walk to the beach but that's not a problem at all for me. Wish I could take these bungalows to wherever I go in Thailand!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moretickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We looked at lots of other places before staying here & if you don't mind the ten minute walk to the beach, its perfect. The bungalows are set in a large sloping garden area with trees, flowers & raised wooden walkways & are well spaced apart for privacy. With their whitewashed walls & spacious well designed bathroom they have a boutique feel, but they are basic as there is no furniture other than a big bed on a wooden platform & they have floor length windows on 3 sides. Our bungalow was 528bt per night & had air con, TV & DVD player but this was a low season price with an additional discount for a weekly stay. In high season the same room was 800bt which I think is a bit too much as these rooms are lovely, but they are in need of some work as there are signs of wear & tear. Our shower didn't work properly, there was a chunk of plaster missing from the floor & the curtains looked in need of a long overdue wash. Also, possibly due to it being low season & many of the bungalows being empty, staff were thin on the ground. We had to be quite pro-active in getting our room cleaned (once in 7 days), getting fresh towels & the rubbish taken away.
Finally, Lonely Beach is party central & the bars take it in turns each night to host. Kachapura is in the midst of it so if you are hoping for a quiet stay, take earplugs as they go on all night.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the road as you can.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyGreenteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new forest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed here for 11 days in late January. First 2 days, then another 2, then we decided to spend all our time here, another 7 days. Clean and pleasant bungalow, fan, hot shower, towels etc. Could glimpse the sunset through the palm trees. from our verandah - room 6. A well maintained and planted garden setting. Ladies looking after the place are courteous and kind. Now have 2 friends, and then some family, hopefully visiting here soon. Thankyou very much.
All amenities very close at hand.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hubsNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
309 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2008

We were in search of a place to stay in lonely beach, and had heard from others that this place had nice rooms, ( with air) which we didn't really need in January, but in other times of the year would be a major bonus. The price was good for a more upscale place without going resort, we paid about 700 baht a night ( about $20 US) We had a hard time communicating with the owner/ front desk upon asking about rooms, she seemed very unorganized, and seemed to care less about us being there, not very friendly. We were shown a basic room, motel style, it was clean and had a nice clean bathroom as well, so after hours of searching for something , we dropped our bags and settled. One of the major problems is that the main doors, which are french door style, barely closed and the lock was ridiculous, not very safe at all, we ended up bringing all our valuables with us. They did not seem to have any safe deposit boxes at the front desk, or did I even feel safe leaving my things with them anyways. At night, since you are right in the heart of downtown lonely beach, it is LOUD! The music lasts late, I lost track of when it actually stopped. We checked out the next day, and got the same reception as we did when we checked in....Nothing. The pros....( I want to be fair, and some people just want a comfortable place and dont care about nice!!) .It had air...the bathroom was nice, enclosed shower, it had a tv, with a dvd player, and had free movies that you could borrow from the front desk , and the place was landscaped very nice,. So to sum it up, there are many other FRIENDLY, safe choices, and thats the great thing about going to Kohchang, for the relaxed friendly vibe, you wont get it here. I would recommend Little Eden Bungalows, right across the street and up the hill, or Oasis Bungalows right past them at the top of the hill. Great family run places, there you will never want to leave!

  • Liked — Air con ( for hot days) good prices for more flashpacker style , tv with dvd to borrow
  • Disliked — Unsafe, unfriendly,and loud at night
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sand Princess
White Sand Princess
#58 of 72 in Ko Chang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warapura Resort
Warapura Resort
#11 of 107 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lonely Beach Resort
Lonely Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Ko Chang Tai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cottage
Paradise Cottage
#12 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachapura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachapura

Property: Kachapura
Address: 4/20 moo 1 (Lonely Beach) kohchangtai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing