We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there....”
Review of Kachapura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kachapura
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't stay there....”
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Unfriendly owner and never be helpful. Never had problems in other guesthouse...like here. She abused us as we let the aircon on over the first day with words I don't want to repeat. Also we couldn't rent a bike, cause she thought we only crash it. Have to say that we are normal tourist, not party people...
They never cleaned the room. Half of the day she's not there and the staff don't speak any english.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Scrambler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    3
    1
    11
See reviews for
2
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights with my wife. The room was fine but nothing special. You had to pour the water down the toilet yourself to flush it. The shower had hot water. It was about 12 min walk away from the beach. After staying one night we decided to book in for a week and avail of the weekly rate. The cost of the bungalow was normally 300 BT per night but if you book for a week you book for a week you get one night free.
Then about half-way through our stay your my wife was in the bathroom brushing her teeth at the sink and all of a sudden the sink just collapsed

Room Tip: As always check the room before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomadic_Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and yes it might look like a nice place in the pictures, it's actually a dive. The Thai lady owner was very unhelpful and never changed towels ,bedding, bins or even cleaned the room once. We also rented scooters and we had two punctures which somehow was our fault and they made us pay for. The fan in the room broke and she made us pay for that also, we argued about it but she just says that she won't give us our passports back, overall DO NOT STAY HERE. p.s there was rats everywhere

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jameshanson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Do not let the price of these bungalows detract from just how beautiful and peaceful they actually are. If you are in this area, then I highly recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickSeaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed in Koh Chang for one night on business. We were very satisfied with our stay at Kachapura. Upon arrival, we met the owner who was extremely friendly and helpful. The room itself is a smaller bungalow, but nice and clean. Fresh white sheets, cold A/C, and set back amongst trees to give it a private feel. Only negative point was that our double bed was actually two twins pushed together. Was still comfortable, though. We liked the location in Lonely Beach and were worried about reviews mentioning loud music. We didn't hear any and slept great. Maybe it depends on your room location? I would recommend this room if you want to stay in Lonely Beach and want a cheap A/C room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Chang, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Good location, Clean room. I cannot say more of this guesthouse than that. Even if 500THB/night is cheap, that doesn't mean that the garden shouldn't have any lights after 02:00AM, so you can break your neck on the uneven cobbled path to your room. I also believe that during 3 nights, the room should at least be cleaned once, as well as the towels replaced. The lack of sound-insulation will be hard for some as the nearby bars have the music very loud. Something to put or hang your clothes on in the room and in the bathroom would be welcome. Staff most of the time unavailable and no explanations upon arrival - not everyone likes the toilets without paper. This management decision could be announced when checking in. I still give an average rating considering the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexinbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The bungalows are great! They are situated in a nice and quiet garden (as quiet as it gets at Lonely..) and they all look so pretty with dark brown and all white painted walls and floors. I slept great in the big bed and the wifi worked just fine.
It is, as mentioned in other reviews, a little bit if a walk to the beach but that's not a problem at all for me. Wish I could take these bungalows to wherever I go in Thailand!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moretickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Rock Inn Bailan
Rock Inn Bailan
#34 of 73 in Ko Chang
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pengwan Resort & Restaurant
Pengwan Resort & Restaurant
#46 of 73 in Ko Chang
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chang Cliff Resort
Chang Cliff Resort
#40 of 73 in Ko Chang
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buddha View
Buddha View
#17 of 73 in Ko Chang
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warapura Resort
Warapura Resort
#8 of 107 in Ko Chang
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachapura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachapura

Property: Kachapura
Address: 4/20 moo 1 (Lonely Beach) kohchangtai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kachapura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing