We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can’t wait to go back! Dolphin is even better”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphin Guest House
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Granada
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can’t wait to go back! Dolphin is even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

The revamp of the hotel by the new management has been great!
I’m impressed by the improvements and the care that has been taken with the detail that make a stay there so nice. The entire place is spotless and the new staff could not be more helpful. I’ve stayed here several times through the years particularly because of the security, gardens and friendly atmosphere, but now I’ve enjoyed it even more! It’s so convenient to be able to spend a lazy day enjoying pool side cocktails or taking advantage of the free wifi.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor offer the most privacy and the best views. Great for star gazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marybel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    12
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
27
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Dolphin is waaaay too far outside of town, well beyond walking distance, taxis are not easy to come by, it's not clean, staff not helpful, no breakfast, no food at all. Benjamin, the owner, was standoffish and rude. Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicdecesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphingranada, Owner at Dolphin Guest House, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to provide excellent service. As you can see, from previous reviews, they were positive. During the month of December we went through new changes at Dolphin. This included new management operated by Group Xalteva. We do want to affirm you that our pictures of Dolphin are real, and that we have always provided clean rooms and a helpful staff. We have a good size pool and it is clean. There was a problem in December, but that is corrected. We are a 6 minute drive from Calzada Street, we do have a list of taxi drivers available any time our guests require them. Again, we apologized for any inconvenience, this may have caused you, and we are striving to make future stays great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

the owners of this hotel have gone through a bad divorce and the hotel is dirty and the family members are living in it. The pool has not been cleaned in months, the rooms are dirty and the kitchen is filthy. There was never a breakfast offered, the bar was dry and they take your money ahead of time and don't refund when you want to leave. 4 guests when I arrived left within days because of the conditions. There are many nice boutique hotels in Granada. Don't waste your money on this one.

Room Tip: book into the Best Western it is clean and friendly, breakfast is served every morning and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keepon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

The web-site pictures make this place look stunning. This is just the pictures though, and far from reality. When we arrived, the guesthouse helper was taking televisions in and out of our room trying to find one that works. They were not ready for our arrival despite a reservation weeks in advance. This house looks like it was once a hide-out for a small-time cocaine dealer. It was likely quite nice when it was built, and could have been used in the filming of Scarface. Al Pacino would not have stayed here though. There is a family living at the house and they rent out a few of the rooms that are not being occupied. These rooms look nothing like the rooms photographed on the web-site. Taxi drivers were a total pain, as many wanted big bucks (by Nica standards) just to take you there since it is outside of town. This place might be okay for $18 a night, but we were charged well over twice that amount. Do yourself a favor and find some place in town. This place was easily the worst place I stayed in all of Nicaragua.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thegoodword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

If you are looking for an affordable lodging option in or around Granada, Nicaragua, the Dolphin Guest House is definitely NOT the place to stay. We had planned to stay for two nights, but made sure to only stay one night. I got a weird vibe from the woman who helps run the place. She stretched the truth a couple times the evening we arrived. Fortunately we had a clean room, but it's not like what is identified on their website. Getting to and from Granada could be a challenge as taxi's will try to rip you off. The morning we departed we were told the taxi would arrive in 15 minutes nearly an hour later a taxi driver arrived. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

This hotel must be nice when you have a good manager and a good facilitated person to manage it. Exactly that's the problem what we had. We arrived at the hotel and there was nothing to drink. There is no bar, no kitchen where you can order something to eat and the pool had an awful dirty color. The water was tested by some persons and they prohibited the entrance in case of your own safety / healthy.

The owner has some personal problems. Some family live in the rooms, so they rent not 6 rooms but just 2. The hotel would be continued by an other manager and I am shore that, when see changed some simple things, it's a perfect place to stay! You have nice rooms, stunning views from the roof and a lot of space to relax.

Make sure, if you go they have already changed the manager, than you would be fine!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliuswes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Our hosts made it a breeze to enjoy Granada, which is such a fun city. The breakfasts were lovely, they helped us order takeout, and there were an abundance of areas to relax and eat. The pool was a fantastic addition as well! Room was spacious and wonderful with a fun little patio. Don't miss the stunning views from the roof!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#23 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#25 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#27 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Guest House

Property: Dolphin Guest House
Address: Reparto San Juan | 5 blocks east and half north, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin is a new charming small Bed and Breakfast Boutique Hotel located in a residential area near all services and main tourist places. A nice comfortable apartment is also available with a fully equipped kitchen, wireless internet, cable TV, hot water, swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Guest House Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing