We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My partner & I spent 8 days at Hotel Terrasol in Granada. What a wonderful experience! We checked in after dark after our long travel day & were assigned room #1. It was a small room with 1 window which when opened provides a nice breeze. Remember Nicaragua is hot. We declined the AC (optional at extra cost) and found that the overhead fan with the open window was most adequate. The check-in staff, Gustavo, suggested that we go to Calle Calzado where there were almost 3 blocks of restaurants, most open late. It was now about 10pm. What a hopping street – people, bars & restaurants.
Next day one of the balcony rooms in the hotel became available & we moved there. Room 6 was overlooking the street with a view of the dormant volcano Mombacho. Room 6 was more noisy but with a view which we enjoyed; room 1 was very quiet.
The highlight of our 8 night stay at Hotel Terrasol was our developing friendship with the hardworking and aim-to-please owners Victor & Katya. We arrived as clients and left as friends. As Nicaraguans (but with many years of US hospitality experience) they are uniquely qualified in the B & B business in Granada (most other B & Bs there are operated, owned and/or managed by expats). They told us the history behind the buildings and businesses and good reliable places to shop. (In fact they also operate a hostel Hostal La Casita a short walk away.) The Terrasol staff shared the owners' desire to please.
Hotel Terrasol is very clean and close to everything – restaurants, the market, Central Plaza, historic churches and buildings. It met all of our needs and was full all the time we were there because( I expect) of the stellar reputation of the owners for their outstanding hospitality. All rooms included a tasty fresh continental breakfast with fresh fruit, and wifi throughout.
You will not find a better value nor better service in Granada than Hotel Terrasol.

Room Tip: For quiet rooms ask for those in the back. Balcony rooms face the front over the street for a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

The owners welcomed me from the beginning, offered helpful information and were excellent hosts. I stayed for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel and rooms are well decorated, clean, and have a pleasant atmosphere. The location is good - only 5 minute walk to the central plaza. Lovely, peaceful place to stay and a good value....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The couple who own the Hotel Terrasol are wonderful. They were very helpful and knowledgeable and when my friend lost her camera they tried everything they could to help us find it. The room was small, but nice. They gave us shampoo and soap and a hairdryer. The wifi was sketchy up in the room, but worked well in the lobby. I would definitely stay there again if I returned to Granada.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OurGalVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Spent four nights here on a recent trip to Nicaragua. Received warm welcome from owners. Received room on top floor and assistance with our bags up the stairs. Room had a queen bed and armoire, and bathroom with stall shower. Only window was a small one above the bed. Would have been nice to have a larger window, but this was the only room available when we booked. No hot water in bathroom. Wasn't too much of an issue, but did make it challenging for husband to shave. Room and bathroom were very clean. Bed comfortable. Fan in room provided cooler temp. There was an air conditioning unit in the room that didn't appear operational.

Breakfast was a large croissant, butter, guava jam; papaya (please provide a slice of lime to go with it), juice, and coffee or tea. Owners were parent most times we were in the lobby and at breakfast. They provided a lot of great tourism tips like taking day trips on the bus to nearby towns.

Location is quiet and a short walk from the center of Granada.

Only trash can is the one for toilet tissue in the bathroom. Please provide one in the room for future guests.

We enjoyed our stay here and would return again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We recently revisited Hotel Terrasol on our trip to Nicaragua in early December 2012. We began and ended our trip in Granada, based at Terrasol. A small hotel, but so clean, cozy, and attractive with lovely art work. The location is a sidestreet but close to downtown locations. Nice neighborhood. Owners Victor and Katya made us feel very welcome; we felt as if we were visiting our home away from home. They gave us the room we had stayed in previously, delightful because they had renovated the room with new tile floor. They also helped arrange taxis to and from airport, a big help to us. They gave us helpful advice on best values and quality of restaurants, stores, tours, and out-of-town hotels. Victor and Katya are "5-star hosts."

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingToucans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Just back from 10 days at the Hotel TerraSol. Wonderful experience...the "why's"..

1. New construction-everything is works perfect with attention to colonial detail and design-

2. Very near the center of town (Plaza Colon), yet a block away from the traffic and general inner city noise, so quiet at night with views out over the city of Granada from most rooms-

3. High speed cable internet. Rooms have high speed wireless from the cable connection, so all the media one is used to functions perfect. There is a lock box for personals in your room allowing you only to take what you need downtown or while touring other area around Granada-

4. Morning breakfast is wonderful with fresh orange juice (and I mean fresh), coffee, pastry and fruit bowl top start the day off-

5. Absolutely spotless-perfectly clean with daily service to your room..although, because I was a solo traveler..every couple of days was requested-

6. Owners grew up in Granada..they know the area for places to go and see. They also spent time in the US and speak excellent English/Americano. If your vacation experience to Nicaragua is short and time demanded, this couple will link you up to the best to see in Granada and surrounding area.

7. Pickup at the airport-Don't even think about the bus (emphasis added) because the airport is some distance and direction from Managua and linking up on bus schedules and such would be a waste of vacation time. The vehicle ride is 45 minutes direct from the airport to the TerraSol-

8. Someone is on duty 24 hours a day, so if there is a problem..it can be addressed quickly-.

When at TerraSol, please say "hola" from Randy currently in Key West by way of Iraq, Afghanistan, Sudan & Uganda-!

RH

Room Tip: Call in the morning (CET plus one hour) and speak to either Katya or Victor to plan your arrival for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank negotiator6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I started and ended my visit to Nicaragua in Hotel Terrasol, choosing it based on their excellent rating in Tripadvisor. It was all I hoped for, and more. As noted in many reviews, Victor & Katya, the owners, go out of their way to make you feel at home. They are a wealth of information, and I especially appreciated learning about their families and their connections to the history of Nicaragua. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, secure, well located hotel, then Hotel Terrasol is the place for you.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank MyOpinion111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#24 of 45 in Granada
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 45 in Granada
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Generalife
Hotel Casa Generalife
#41 of 45 in Granada
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £20 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing