We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value, very helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice value, very helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Victor Chamorro and his wife are the very helpful and knowledgeable owners, who speak perfect English. Victor's uncle was the brave newspaper publisher Pedro Joaquin Chamorro, and his aunt the past President Violeta Chamorro. They provided not only good information regarding the tourist attractions, but insights into the Nica history and culture. They arranged a reasonably priced boat tour of the Isletas.
I found the room to be good value, and just a 5-10 minute strolling distance from the main action at La Calzada. It is a small casa located on a relatively quiet street. WiFi available, along with use of a computer for internet connection. The included breakfast croissants and fresh fruits are heavenly.
Two nights I parked my car on the street, directly in front of the hotel, and paid US$1.50/night for security guard watching it without a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    67
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
216
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We cannot add to the excellent write-ups that this hotel received. Yes, the owners / staff were very friendly and hospitable to us and the reception area was very inviting. And the hotel is well-placed centrally. But our room (Number 1) was very small and in a pretty bad state, although clean. There was A/C, but the shower water was barely tepid. Our guide told us that the owners were very grasping, for example trying to charge extra for AmEx payment. If you want to stay here, I could still imagine in being worth 5 stars if you ensure you get a decent room and make sure you pay only what was agreed.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1 (and others?) Check first before accepting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katyanajlis, Owner at Hotel Terrasol, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dera Tony Swiss
We are truly sorry you did not enjoyed your stay at our little Hotel We have never claimed to have hot water in the building. The 5% credit card charge is standard at every Hotel in the city or more , like 15% IVA tax an an extra 2 % for Tourism Board wich we do teke care of it ourselfs.
t seems to us that your guide filled your head of innacurate facts out of spite.
We are so sorry again and we hope tha in the future you can give us another chance to make it a better stay with us.
Thank you again
Hotel Terrasol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our second time at this well run and excellent value property- we were here 4 years ago and have returned for a longer stay this time. We are delighted to see that nothing has changed, even the very reasonable prices. Terrasol has beautiful restored colonial ambiance at prices just above a basic hostal. Victor and Katya, the owners, are incredibly helpful with advice and any travel arrangements and speak perfect English- a big plus in terms of enjoying the many eco-tourism options that the area offers.
The rooms and public areas are kept absolutely spotless with a thorough daily cleaning and the complementary breakfast was filling and good. Yes, the rooms (and their colonial era windows) are on the smaller side, but in my mind the beautiful tiled floors, caned ceilings and woodwork more than make up for this, especially given the price range. The hotel is located a few blocks from the Parque Central and the tourist ghetto of La Calzada- I found the neighborhood a refreshing change and it's just around the corner from the Mercado, supermarket and bus station.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

El Terrasol: We stayed in this hotel for a total of six nights, not all in a row, returning later on our way out of Nicaragua because we enjoyed it so much. The room was perfect for us and was well lit with natural sunlight when the window was open – I loved the view from it! The bathroom was roomy and, while there is no hot water, the “cold” water was actually tepid and showers were comfortable, especially after a long day of seeing the sights. We enjoyed the fresh fruit, incredibly moist croissants, and the best orange juice we have ever had. The coffee was not too strong and of very high quality. The staff was pleasant and the owners more than helpful with anything needed: arranging tours, taxi rides, and recommendations, and they responded quickly to any emails. They also seemed sincerely concerned with our safety and enjoyment of everything Nicaraguan. If you’re unsure how to fill a free day or need advice on getting from one place to another, don’t worry about it, they will give you helpful suggestions: I think they should also market themselves as “travel advisors”. A five or six minute walk past a beautiful church, some small hotels and stores, and street vendors to the central park, we were a perfect distance from the bustle of the city center. We look forward to returning for a third time some day!

Room Tip: On our two visits, we had a back room and a front room, and I slept great in both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DELP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

When we got to Granada, the place we were planning to stay at was full. But fortunately we found a much better option, the Hotel Terrasol. The owners were super friendly and helpful. (they even went through the trash when I thought I threw something away by accident) The location is awesome, right in the center of town, Iglesia Merced right around the corner and the central plaza a short walk away. A simple breakfast of coffee, fruit and pastry was included.

The only downside was that the wifi didn't work upstairs, but down on the main level in the restaurant/lounge area it was fine. Otherwise, I highly recommend Terrasol.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We arrived in Granada early in the morning and Hotel Terrasol was our first pick. At first the owner where friendly and helpful. Then we went into the room which where small, very smelly the walls where dirty all in all it was not the nicest room. We didnt even enter the room and we got the first call from the owner (we told her before that we where very tired after several hours traveling and we just wanted to have a rest first). Than suddenly a stuff came knocked on our door and asked for some papers. She couldnt even wait for 10min to get what she wanted? I find that reaction very pushy.

We expected to have a hot shower in a hotel in this pricerage, but we didnt. We went out to check out the city and when we got back we noticed that somebody was in the room. We asked the owner if someone came into the room and they totally declined it. Than we asked the staff and one of them said that they went into the room to fix the phone.. Why didnt the owner know about it?

The rooms where packed with moskitos at night because there was no moskitonet on the tiny window. After this hurrible night we had badbucks bides all over my body.

The next day we checked out and I asked the owner to help me with our luggage to bring downstairs. Because there was no stuff the owner himself had to do it and I had the feeling that he was kinda pissed. We have one big backpag and backpack with rolls. Normaly you can just carry one bag. He tooked both downstairs and smashed my backpack trolly agains the stairs all the way down. I was really mad about it because he almost broke the rolls. He was just to lazy to go twice. If I would have known that he dont care about our belongings I would have carry it by my own as a customer!

We are very easy going people and dont get upsad that easily but this one was a no go. They didnt even apologize afterwars.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expedition w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katyanajlis, Owner at Hotel Terrasol, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Expedition w
We honestly do not recall you staying with us , but if you did. We are sorry you did not have a pleasant experience with us. We disagree with your description of our Hotel, we are a very clean and service oriented business as it shows by the 222 other reviews.
It is really hard to respond to this review as we are not sure when if you did stay with us. We have never had any issues regarding cleanliness or any type of bugs.
It is very surprising that someone would write such a hateful and damaging review full of inacurate facts.
We strongly deny all and any allegations posted in this review.
Thank you
Hotel Terrasol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My partner & I spent 8 days at Hotel Terrasol in Granada. What a wonderful experience! We checked in after dark after our long travel day & were assigned room #1. It was a small room with 1 window which when opened provides a nice breeze. Remember Nicaragua is hot. We declined the AC (optional at extra cost) and found that the overhead fan with the open window was most adequate. The check-in staff, Gustavo, suggested that we go to Calle Calzado where there were almost 3 blocks of restaurants, most open late. It was now about 10pm. What a hopping street – people, bars & restaurants.
Next day one of the balcony rooms in the hotel became available & we moved there. Room 6 was overlooking the street with a view of the dormant volcano Mombacho. Room 6 was more noisy but with a view which we enjoyed; room 1 was very quiet.
The highlight of our 8 night stay at Hotel Terrasol was our developing friendship with the hardworking and aim-to-please owners Victor & Katya. We arrived as clients and left as friends. As Nicaraguans (but with many years of US hospitality experience) they are uniquely qualified in the B & B business in Granada (most other B & Bs there are operated, owned and/or managed by expats). They told us the history behind the buildings and businesses and good reliable places to shop. (In fact they also operate a hostel Hostal La Casita a short walk away.) The Terrasol staff shared the owners' desire to please.
Hotel Terrasol is very clean and close to everything – restaurants, the market, Central Plaza, historic churches and buildings. It met all of our needs and was full all the time we were there because( I expect) of the stellar reputation of the owners for their outstanding hospitality. All rooms included a tasty fresh continental breakfast with fresh fruit, and wifi throughout.
You will not find a better value nor better service in Granada than Hotel Terrasol.

Room Tip: For quiet rooms ask for those in the back. Balcony rooms face the front over the street for a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 43 in Granada
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,026 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Property: Hotel Terrasol
Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing