We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely staff and owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely staff and owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The owners were so great - they made recommendations and booked transportation for us from the airport, as well as a sightseeing day en route to San Juan del Sur. They sell local art right in their restaurant, and we purchased several items from them. The owners are a married couple, and the husband is American, I think, so they both spoke English for those of us that didn't know Spanish, which was helpful. They even gave us beer for our room one night when we wanted to hang out and have a little hotel "party" in my room. Again, so accommodating and awesome! We were respectful and not rowdy, so there were no issues.

Some rooms had balconies overlooking the street, but others just had tiny windows. I had a room with a balcony which was lovely to look out at the volcano in the morning.

They serve a nice, simple continental breakfast each morning, which is great - yummy croissants, fruit salad, and coffee and juice.

Definitely recommended for an affordable (US$35/night) stay in Granada!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. You may want to splurge on a/c - it's pretty hot in those room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    66
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
216
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The pluses of this hotel are many: great location, close to sites but on a somewhat quiet street; clean rooms with comfortable beds and the warmest "cold" showers in the country (don't know how they manage this); excellent hosts, Victor and Katya, happy to help with directions or transport, or just to give you some perspective on life in Nicaragua. An added bonus was the art work in all of the rooms and in the breakfast room, some of which is for sale. The owners are strong supporters of the local art scene and can provide information for interested parties. We hope to return.
Celia and Mike

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I went one night on the festival of poetry 17th of february. Amazing place for the price. The amount of details, service, price and all its decorations and fine attention to an excellent customer service made my whole trip amazing. I would go there again no doubt. If the price were the double it would still be a very good hotel.

Room Tip: They all have access to the terrace but I would pick the second floor rooms so as to not have to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dax A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This hotel is in a central location esay to walk to central park if you want ,rooms are clean ,wifi and a decent breakfast to get you going.
As for noise there was no issue with that,if i needed something the staff pointed me in the right direction and were always helpful with info on where to go and arrange a taxi for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19beachbum57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed at Hotel Terasol based on Trip Advisor reviews -- a wise move! It's a very comfortable hotel that reminds me of one you might find in a small Europrean village with everything that you need for an enjoyable visit. The location is ideal for exploring the city - safe, and close enough to walk to everything. And Victor and Katya are just as wonderful as everyone has said -- friendly and approachable, willing to help you in whatever way they can. For those worried about the language barrier -- they speak perfect English. They helped us find a longer term place to move to, and even after we moved out, they were more than willing to help us out when we needed help and advice on getting settled in. I can't think of a better place for people new to the city to stay!

Room Tip: We liked having AC in the room, but the rooms have ceiling fans and they will give you a floor fan i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereswhatsgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Victor Chamorro and his wife are the very helpful and knowledgeable owners, who speak perfect English. Victor's uncle was the brave newspaper publisher Pedro Joaquin Chamorro, and his aunt the past President Violeta Chamorro. They provided not only good information regarding the tourist attractions, but insights into the Nica history and culture. They arranged a reasonably priced boat tour of the Isletas.
I found the room to be good value, and just a 5-10 minute strolling distance from the main action at La Calzada. It is a small casa located on a relatively quiet street. WiFi available, along with use of a computer for internet connection. The included breakfast croissants and fresh fruits are heavenly.
Two nights I parked my car on the street, directly in front of the hotel, and paid US$1.50/night for security guard watching it without a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We cannot add to the excellent write-ups that this hotel received. Yes, the owners / staff were very friendly and hospitable to us and the reception area was very inviting. And the hotel is well-placed centrally. But our room (Number 1) was very small and in a pretty bad state, although clean. There was A/C, but the shower water was barely tepid. Our guide told us that the owners were very grasping, for example trying to charge extra for AmEx payment. If you want to stay here, I could still imagine in being worth 5 stars if you ensure you get a decent room and make sure you pay only what was agreed.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1 (and others?) Check first before accepting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katyanajlis, Owner at Hotel Terrasol, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dera Tony Swiss
We are truly sorry you did not enjoyed your stay at our little Hotel We have never claimed to have hot water in the building. The 5% credit card charge is standard at every Hotel in the city or more , like 15% IVA tax an an extra 2 % for Tourism Board wich we do teke care of it ourselfs.
t seems to us that your guide filled your head of innacurate facts out of spite.
We are so sorry again and we hope tha in the future you can give us another chance to make it a better stay with us.
Thank you again
Hotel Terrasol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Property: Hotel Terrasol
Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing