We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality, great value”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Hotel Terrasol during our first trip to Nicaragua (and first trip away from our kids in nearly 10 years). Our friends who have traveled extensively in Nicaragua recommended Hotel Terrasol to us and it exceeded our expectations!

Victor and Katya were prompt in their responses to all my questions via email prior to our travels, which included arranging for transport from Managua to Granada upon arrival. Though we arrived at night, we felt very safe traveling between the two cities. Throughout our stay, Victor and Katya were warm and engaging! For breakfast, we had delicious guava jelly, homemade by Katya, and wonderful coffee (both of which are available for sale and made for great gifts). Katya was super helpful in organizing tours (zip lining, carriage tour of Granada, Las Isletas boat tour) as well as transport for day trips (Masaya, Laguna de Apoyo) with a very prompt and competent driver.

At their affordable price point, I was expecting lumpy beds and mediocre service. I couldn't have been more wrong. Their beds were great! And, Victor and Katya maintain high standards, so their staff was very attentive and the hotel is very clean.

The only potential drawbacks are: 1) it's located a few blocks off the main streets of Granada, but Granada is a small, walkable city so it wasn't a problem and maybe it was good because that side of the city is quieter at night; 2) our room was small, but we had a balcony which was great; and 3) it doesn't have a courtyard, but we were welcome to linger in their lobby and breakfast area.

Their free wi-fi was very reliable.

Overall, we loved Nicaragua, and especially Hotel Terrasol. We feel like Victor and Katya became fast friends and we can't wait to return with our family!

Room Tip: We loved our balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Viktor and Katya were wonderful hosts! It's a beautiful hotel in an excellent location - we were able to easily walk all over town from the hotel. The continental breakfast was very good and their homemade guava jam was amazing. Another plus was that there was secure car parking at night. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Two of their rooms have balconies overlooking the street - wonderful for sipping morning coffee or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I wandered into this place on a recent afternoon and ended up staying here for three nights. Very comfortable, quiet, friendly place, great value, great coffee and breakfast. The super friendly owners are great resources for traveling around the area. I asked them all kinds of questions on bus trips/ connecting times/ schedules around the area and they always had great information. Need a water or a beer? Just ask anyone at the front desk and they will grab one for you. Glad we found this place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Viktor and Katya were fantastic hosts and run a great hotel in a perfect location. Whether it was shuttle to attraction, catching a ferry or finding a barber, they were able to give great advice/direction. I believe Katya is from the neighborhood; they are both intimately familiary with Granada... they are also huge art collectors and their tasteful art is on display throughout the hotel. couldnt have been happier with my stay. my only recommendation would be to get a room with a balcony, especially if you dont like air conditioning - better airflow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrislove258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Granada is absolutely one of the places you need to see if you travel to Nicaragua. It is full of history, very walkable, has some great restaurants and is close to the beautiful Lake Nicaragua that has a variety of outdoor activities to enjoy. But you won't see all this in a day. Having been to Granada a few times on day trips I was delighted to have the opportunity to spend a couple of nights in the city and see new things. Hotel Terrasol was the perfect place to be anchored. It isn't a large Hotel but that is part of it's charm. It feels like a sweet bed and breakfast. Victor and Katya are wonderful hosts, giving you tips on culture and history and aiming you in the right direction for whatever activities you want to try. The room we were in had a balcony overlooking the street that we enjoyed in the mornings and evenings listening to the sound of the city. Air conditioning at night was a life saver in the November mugginess and everything was clean and comfortable and very secure. Breakfast included their amazing coffee, which I bought several bags of, and their on-site made Guava jam (which I also bought) for the flaky croissants. Bring ear plugs for night since the city sounds can be early and loud, especially if you have a room on the street side, but that is pretty normal for Nicaraguan hotels. Their are no extras like pools or massages here but those can be found in other hotels for a daily price and not really needed if you are looking for a intimate stay with wonderfully gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel is number one in my books... Victor and Catya are two or the nicest and most
helpful host I have encountered.... From the first moment when we arrived and Johnny let us in ,, we were well taken care of...Breakfast was nice with Ana. Marvin was also a pleasure and a great help. The hotel is very nice, clean, and well kept.. I would highly recommend Hotel Terrasol... Also it is very close to downtown central...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick_Secret_Garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A small and centrally located hotel that I can thoroughly recommend:I thought that the managers were helpful and friendly and took an interest in what their guests were doing in their visit to Nicaragua.As a first time visitor from Europe I particularly appreciated this and (looking at the other reviews) clearly I am not alone in thinking this!The room and facilities were all of a good standard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#24 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £21 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing