We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel and Great Hospitality!”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group of about 10 friends, and we had an awesome experience! Victor and Katya were very friendly and did everything they could to make our experience very enjoyable. Victor is also the chef of the restaurant and the food was delicious, made fresh as you order. The hotel was very new, and therefore very clean and well kept. We always felt really safe, as the front doors were always locked. I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Granada, as it is a good value and within a close walk from the central park.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobbi_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2008

Very helpful owners and staff. Certainly a 5-star experience in Nicaragua's most tourist-friendly city. I stayed at the hotel for one week, using the plush city of Granada as a vacation within a vacation - a welcomed break from camping and hiking the volcanoes near Leon.
Rooms were immaculate, staff very welcoming and the restaurant was magnificent. We only ate dinner away from the hotel a single night in one week - for your own sake, please order the Mandrin Chocolate dessert.
Even if you don't stay in a room, at least try the food.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caseyatchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

My wife and I recently spent five days at the Terrasol, where we had one of our most enjoyable hotel experiences in recent memory. The owners, Victor and Katya, are the very definition of welcoming. From waiting for us as we pulled up to the hotel to answering my questions about Nicaraguan politics into the wee hours, this wonderful couple would do anything and everything to make sure their guests were comfortable. The rooms are simple, spotlessly clean, and located just a block or two from all of Granada's attractions. Victor's skills in the kitchen are excellent and the restaurant ranks in the top tier in Granada. To give you an idea of how you become a "friend" more than a guest, we asked Victor one night if he would whip us up a sampler of his favorite appetizers. It wasn't on the menu, yet Victor effortlessly provided us a plate of shrimp fritters, fresh garlic shrimp, and other goodies. Keep in mind that all ingredients are bought fresh and it seemed like nothing was just pulled from the fridge and put on a plate. I also can't let pass Katya walking me down the street to make sure the local internet phone exchange was able to assist in placing an important business call. Simply said, stay at the Terrasol if you are looking to truly know Nica hospitality. If only the hotel world had more Victor's and Katya's to manage the world's inns.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AFandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

PROS: Located close to historical Granada. Excellent service, the owners do whatever is possible to have customers pleased. Rooms are well decorated, perfect beds.

CONS: No hot water! The hinges of the doors need some oil! They make noise when you open/close them and it's annoying to hear that noise at night when people get to their rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Adventurer_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Just wanted to add my comments about Hotel Terrasol in Granada. I found out about it on this site and the reviews were well-deserved. Victor and Katya are excellent hosts and made our stay there very enjoyable. Our room was clean, quiet, and cool and the food was very good too!

Thank BarbaraS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

August 8, 2008
After 3 days at Hotel Terrasol I left feeling like I had stayed with family.
Victor and Katya, the owners are actively involved in all aspects of running their charming 10 room hotel set in a quiet, centrally located neighborhood. One thing I really enjoyed was the art collection of various Nicaraguan artists they have collected over many years. The knowledge Katya and Victor have of Granada is vast and they readily share their many insights in addition to booking requested tours. An extra plus is having a restaurant that serves a variety of interesting, delicious meals that Victor adapted as requested.
I found myself in a unique position as I had gotten ill. Katya wisely suggested the doctor be called. IV's and antibiotics were ordered, these were quickly obtained and I recovered with their care.
I am looking forward to both eating at the restaurant and staying at Terrasol again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tvlamiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

My wife and I have travelled to Central America twice this year and Hotel Terrasol was a great experience. The owners, Victor and Katya, couldn't be more helpful or more friendly. We were treated like family on each visit. We still talk about the great meals we had at their restaurant, and really miss the desserts! Victor is an excellent chef who perfected his craft in San Francisco. All rooms were well appointed and extremely comfortable. We had enough room for my wife, myself, our 15th month old son and all of his belongings (playpen). Katya and Victor would both help entertain our son so we could enjoy dinner. You will not be disappointed at Hotel Terrasol, an excellent hotel run by great people.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GregMichelleandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £21 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing