We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean guesthouse close to centre - a good find”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean guesthouse close to centre - a good find”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Would highly recommend this place, more like a guesthouse than a hostel. Extremely friendly and welcoming staff, spoke good English and helped with arranging our transfers. Clean spacious room, lovely views, good shower. Simple but tasty breakfast. Location just a few minutes from main square and another few minutes to main bar / restaurant area

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georginavincent1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    66
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
216
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We just got back from Granada and had a wonderful 5 day stay at Hotel Terrasol ! The rooms were comfortable and clean and cable tv was provided . In addition, the entire hotel boasts of amazing paintings and artwork by renowned Nicaraguan artists that gives Hotel Terrasol an artisan feeling throughout all 3 floors.
Katya and Victor Chamorro , the owners, are available daily to help out with organizing tours or recommending the best restaurants in Granada. They are friendly and fluent in English, too. They made our stay feel extra special and I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends !
Best Regards, Victor and Katya !!

Room Tip: Room 16 with the balcony gave us a view to the Mombacho Volcano !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chepiba10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was incredibly clean and a great value! You really got a lot for your money. We were very comfortable throughout our entire 7 night stay. The AC was so good we were even cold some nights! We were originally looking for a hostel, to save some money, but after one night here (all the hostels were full) we decided for very little added expense it was worth staying at a great hotel!

We were in Room 9, on the third floor and it was a great choice! The third floor stayed much cooler because of the breeze from the lake. We also only had one mosquito in our room the whole time which was nice not to have to worry about. It was worth the extra flight of stairs. There wasn't a TON of room in the rooms but it was plenty if you used the space wisely and used the cabinets. There was a safe, which was nice, a chair to rest things on, and a nightstand. We never needed it to be bigger.

The owners, Victor and Katya were a great help! They were downstairs every morning and we were able to ask them for advice on how and when to do things around town and around the area. They arranged a day trip to Lagoon Appoyo (paradisio hostel- $13) which was the cheapest option as the other trips were $40.
They recommended great restaurants too.

A few other reviews have said that they would have liked to stay more in town. It is a little outside but only by 1 block. We personally liked being just outside all the hustle and bustle where it was a bit more peaceful. All in all we really loved our stay here and would do it again if we were to visit Granada.

The ONLY thing we would change is the breakfast choices. You get 2 cups of coffee, a glass of orange juice, fruit and a croissant with honey and jam. You have to pay more for extra juice. The croissant is large and warmed up which makes it better than your average croissant. Don't get me wrong, the breakfast is good we just wanted something a little more some of the mornings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KS41013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I just got back from Nicaragua and I love the country! I especially love Hotel Terrasol in Granada. Victor and Katya Chamorro are the owners and they are bilingual in Spanish and English. Daily I watched as they helped travelers with their itineraries. I was amazed by their dedication. The hotel is decorated with paintings and handicrafts from local artists. Even the rooms have paintings. This gives one a cultural view of the country. I loved that detail! The rooms were very clean with air conditioning, or fans and cable TV. They also provided a safe in each room for your valuables.I loved the way the rooms were decorated. I could tell that they have an eye for interior design. They also sell local organic coffee,guava jam, and honey. I brought coffee and jam back home with me. Thank you Victor and Katya! I look forward to coming back to your hotel soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Georgia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Bargain is the key word here. The hotel is very clean but the rooms are so tiny it is very difficult to be comfortable. We came here directly from Managua after flying in from the States. The young man who greeted us could not speak English and it made it difficult to complete the check in process. Our room was on the 3rd floor with tiny hallways. There was one tiny window in our room. It was clean but just no where to put our belongings. Only one nightstand in the room. Small thing to some folks but just trying to give an accurate image of room.
After freshening up we went back downstairs and the owner and his wife were there and they were able to recommend restaurants and places to sightsee. The owners were friendly and very helpful.
The following morning we had their free breakfast which was plain but served very elegantly.
The price of lodging is so inexpensive in Grenada that next time I would go for one of the top rated hotels. We walked by several of them and they were in a more central location and looked very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bookwoman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Thanks again to Victor and Katya for being wonderful hosts at Hotel Terrasol. "Home away from home" is a clique that is true for us. We have great trust in these wonderful people. We stayed in 2 different rooms for our January trip, one in back which was quiet and relaxing and the other on the street which allowed us to enjoy the lovely street life and views of Mombacho. Friendliy, helpful staff. Rooms are compact, comfortable and clean. Great taste in artwork make this a lovely setting. Neighborhood is very nice, yet only a short walk from downtown. They give excellent advice and made arrangements for travel including a terrific cab driver. When we think warmly of Granada it always includes our thoughts of these fine folks! This is more than a hotel, more like a family guesthouse, & we think many guests feel the same way. A great bargain.

Room Tip: Front rooms give access to street life but back rooms are quiet and roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingToucans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Our first experience in Nicaragua, we found the location was great. We both like to walk around and experience a city/place like this. The owners of the hotel were very helpful and gave us a few suggestions for restaurants and activities. We felt safe and well looked after. At night the city went 'to sleep' or was quiet by 9pm. They were most helpful and kind.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickirabbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Property: Hotel Terrasol
Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing