We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel. Victor and Katya made our stay in Nicaragua the best experience of our entire trip. Besides being the best deal in the country, it is the cleanest and safest place in Granada. Victor and Katya made sure we had a great time and gave us much needed direction. The restaurant is great and Victor is the best chef ever! Continental breakfast is included in the price of the hotel stay and they accomodated our wants and needs to the fullest. We were fortunate to have found this gem. The entire staff, especially Roberto, went out of their way to make us comfortable, happy and safe. We feel as though we have family abroad and hope to someday reciprocate their hospitality and kindness. Do not hesitate to look-up this wonderful place when you travel to Granada!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Peged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2008

From the moment you walk through the gate, Katya and Victor make your stay amazing. The food is a delight on every level, the service excellent, the room cozy and very clean, the linen perfect, and the overall stay...priceless. I felt safe, ultimately cared for, and was able to experience Granada at a very local level. As a restaurant owner in downtown Chicago that has traveled the world, I highly recommend Hotel Terrasol and excited to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hiddenvalleyranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

First of all, let me state that Granada, Nicaragua is an amazing place to visit. The culture, the architecture, the history, and the nightlife are amazing. In addition, you can't beat the prices.

My wife and I planned on staying in Terrasol based on the #1 tripadvisor ranking. We found the hotel staff to be professional, the restaurant was scrumptuous, the A/C rooms were comfortable (though small), and the balcony made up for the small size of the rooms. The hotel is located within walking distance of the center of the city and security at the hotel makes you feel safe. The owners are transplants from San Francisco and are extremely helpful and professional. TVs are located in the rooms, and the internet use and breakfast (which is very good) is free.

Unfortunately, we overlooked the fact that the hotel has no hot water. This becomes a problem when you use the air conditioning all night and want to take a shower in the morning; the cold water is even colder! We tried to suck it up, especially in light of the price we were getting, but alas, we moved to the #2 ranked tripadvisor hotel: Patio del Malinche. Patio del Malinche had everyting Terrasol had plus hot water and a pool. Unfortunately, Patio del Malinche didn't have one thing Terrasol had: a great price.

If you can stand not having hot water, this is the perfect place to stay in Granada for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sonnypolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

I spent two months traveling in Central America and this was easily the BEST hotel I stayed at the entire time. Amazing value for the money... Stay here before they realize that their prices are too low!

I spent almost a week here. The hotel was built from the ground up less than a year ago by a native Nicaraguan couple who spent a number of years in San Francisco. The husband was a chef there, and it shows -- the restaurant on the first floor is one of the few hotel restaurants that I would recommend without hesitation.

Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. Everything is new, and design quality is excellent. The couple was very friendly, always smiling, and willing to help out with any arrangements.

Seriously, they should be charging about 20-30% more... Enjoy it before they they raise their prices!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank PolyAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

My wife and I just came back from our honeymoon/family get together in Nicaragua. Granada was by far one of our favorite locations. We stayed at the Hotel Terrasol for 4 nights.

This is a very nice hotel, blocks away from the center of town. The hotel is very clean and charming. A/C and your own modern bathroom a big plus! No hot water, but that was ok because it was really hot in Granada, and the cool showers were very refreshing. By far the thing that stood out above all the +++'s, was the excellent and friendly service we received from everyone. The hotel had very nice young men greet you every time you entered. The owners Victor and Katya made you feel like they have known you for years. Morning breakfast was excellent.....croissants, fresh juice, the best coffee (and we don't usually drink coffee), a bowl of fruit, and of course the best guava jelly anywhere! Don't forget to buy some bottles of jelly to take home. We also ate dinner there one night which was excellent. Victor is a superb cook!

One recommendation we would give everyone is to request an interior room, away from the street, if you want a little less noise. We had the opportunity to experience both an interior room, and one with a balcony next to the street. The traffic (cars, buses, and horses), could be clearly heard very early in the morning (5-6am).

Over all, you can't go wrong staying at this hotel. Price was exceptional, compared to some of the bigger "touristy" hotels by central park. Prices may not stay this low forever once people discover this gem. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bravorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group of about 10 friends, and we had an awesome experience! Victor and Katya were very friendly and did everything they could to make our experience very enjoyable. Victor is also the chef of the restaurant and the food was delicious, made fresh as you order. The hotel was very new, and therefore very clean and well kept. We always felt really safe, as the front doors were always locked. I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Granada, as it is a good value and within a close walk from the central park.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobbi_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Very helpful owners and staff. Certainly a 5-star experience in Nicaragua's most tourist-friendly city. I stayed at the hotel for one week, using the plush city of Granada as a vacation within a vacation - a welcomed break from camping and hiking the volcanoes near Leon.
Rooms were immaculate, staff very welcoming and the restaurant was magnificent. We only ate dinner away from the hotel a single night in one week - for your own sake, please order the Mandrin Chocolate dessert.
Even if you don't stay in a room, at least try the food.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caseyatchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#25 of 45 in Granada
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#17 of 45 in Granada
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Generalife
Hotel Casa Generalife
#40 of 45 in Granada
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £21 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing