We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July and it was wonderful. The hotel is clean and very safe. It is close enough to the center of town to make walking easy, but tucked away so it's very quiet and peaceful. The building is beautiful and full of Nicaraguan art. Breakfast was fantastic and the coffee was really good- we bought some to take home with us. However what makes this place a real gem are the owners Victor and Katya. They are incredibly helpful and truly go above and beyond to make your visit to Nicaragua special. They set up day trips for us and gave us great information about the best ways to get around and things to do. They are also very knowledgable about the fascinating history of their country. I really felt at home here and we cannot wait to come back.
Thanks again!
Jen and Grant

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jhouston314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The best. The very best! Victor and Katya are wonderful hosts. The staff is professional - and attentive. Good continental breakfast - great coffee; OJ is excellent. The showers were the best of my stay anywhere in Nicaragua. Nice rooms. Great common space. Good location - not on the main drag (not noisy) but close enough to walk. Victor and Katya are Nicaraguan, yet speak perfect English as they lived much of their lives on the West Coast of the USA. The hotel is involved in so many things that are important to Nicaragua - to Granada. It features local artist works - eight of them - gorgeous canvas paintings, cool bowl wall hangings painted in vivid color - artwork in all of the rooms and common areas - all of it for sale. I bought six bowls. They are beautiful. They fit easily in your backpack and reflect the passion of the country. Money goes directly to the local artists - Victor and Katya know the artists - they care about them. They care about their country. They also sponsor a local school. They don't take money for the school - as you never really can be sure where cash goes to - instead they take school supply donations. So i went to the school supply store and bought notebooks, pencils, and school posters...the school supply stores are well stocked with quality merchandise. Victor and Katya periodically bag the items and take them out and hand them directly to the kids. You know where your donation ends up. You know that it will help. And thirty bucks of school supplies goes a long long ways. So...why stay anywhere else? You will truly love the hotel, the folks that work there, and the city of Granada. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Bobwoodmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was the perfect base for exploring Granada (a truly beautiful colonial city in Nicaragua). The room is quite small, but we didn't come to Granada to stay in the room so it was absolutely fine. We had a lovely little balcony overlooking the street which was great when we got back at the end of the day to watch the sunset with a glass of wine, before venturing back out for dinner.

The owners are lovely. Very knowledgeable about the area and transport options for day trips - it was great to know we could do pretty much everything we wanted ourselves, rather than have to sign up to a tour.

For location, cleanliness, staff and price, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony room on the second floor is great for watching sunsets with a glass of wine! But the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A long day on Ticabus and the usual "shared" taxi ride is forgotten as you are welcomed into Victor and Katya's hotel, which feels like home. Surrounded by simple, classical Spanish architecture and bright colored, local art I exhaled my travels and inhaled the feeling of coming home.

The restaurant feels right for a family during the day and perfect for a quiet, romantic dinner, with an excellent wine selection, in the evening. The included continental breakfast was even supplied to me, to-go, for my early bus the day that I departed.

The rooms are simply furnished and clean. I enjoyed the AC, Granada's heat and humidity can be a challenge for some. My balcony, room #6, offers a seat from which I got to know the comings and goings of morning and late afternoon city life.

Situated only 3 blocks (300 meters in local jargon) from the central park, and 4 blocks from the city market, Terrasol offers access to any of Granada's historical gems by foot. Although I recommend a horse drawn carriage ride at some point in your stay.

Oh, and if you do decide to experience Terrasol, please say hi to Victor and Katya for me.


Eric D.

Room Tip: Rooms #s 5 & 6 have street balconies, a nice way to watch local life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artist5Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were here at the beginning and end of our amazing two weeks in the country. Loved the balcony rooms with views across the city. Quiet for sleeping. We made arrangements by email, including a taxi driver that picked us up at the airport in Managua. This was a wonderful part of the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HedgehogsOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Would highly recommend this place, more like a guesthouse than a hostel. Extremely friendly and welcoming staff, spoke good English and helped with arranging our transfers. Clean spacious room, lovely views, good shower. Simple but tasty breakfast. Location just a few minutes from main square and another few minutes to main bar / restaurant area

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georginavincent1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We just got back from Granada and had a wonderful 5 day stay at Hotel Terrasol ! The rooms were comfortable and clean and cable tv was provided . In addition, the entire hotel boasts of amazing paintings and artwork by renowned Nicaraguan artists that gives Hotel Terrasol an artisan feeling throughout all 3 floors.
Katya and Victor Chamorro , the owners, are available daily to help out with organizing tours or recommending the best restaurants in Granada. They are friendly and fluent in English, too. They made our stay feel extra special and I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends !
Best Regards, Victor and Katya !!

Room Tip: Room 16 with the balcony gave us a view to the Mombacho Volcano !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chepiba10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#28 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £21 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing