We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Central America!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in Central America!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Granada is a fantastic city and Hotel Terrasol is without a doubt the best value hotel to be found!

We stayed for a week in May and couldn't have wished for a nicer place to spend the week. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and are decorated with local art work, the beds are really comfortable with crisp, clean linen (and extra pillows!) and the bathrooms are fresh and modern with white, fluffy towels. The showers are cool (but not cold) and this is exactly what you need to refresh you after a day exploring the beautiful colonial city of Granada.

A delicious complimentary breakfast is served every morning in the restaurant, with a small bowl of fruit, freshly baked bread with butter and jam, fresh orange juice and very tasty Nicaraguan coffee. Unfortunately the restaurant wasn't open when we were there as it was low season, but the menu looked mouthwatering.

The thing that really puts Hotel Terrasol head and shoulders above the other hotels in Granada are the owners, Victor and Katya. They are the most welcoming hosts and will help you in anyway they can. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to help us with transport arrangements to Costa Rica and gave us loads of great advice on where to visit around Granada.

We loved the Hotel Terrasol so much that we actually returned for a couple of nights after we had visited Isla de Ometepe - and it felt like we were coming home!

Mike and Christina (Scotland)

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScotsWayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    65
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
215
62
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

What a wonderful experience my girlfiend and I had whilst we stayed at Hotel Terrasol for 3 nights. Owners Victor and Katya are the perfect hosts. The welcome was warm and they were available to offer their advice at anytime during our stay. The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk form the main square. The rooms are wonderful with cable TV (a huge amount of channels to choose from!), and the bathrooms very nice. We consider ourselves extremely lucky to have discovered this amazing accomodation with the most wonderful hosts. Overall a great experience and exceptional value. Thank you very much Victor and Katya, we wish you all the success in the world!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Terrasol for a couple of days on our recent trip and wished we could have stayed longer. The owner of the hotel was very nice and helpful in sharing knowledge about Granada, the surrounding area and Nicaragua in general. The hotel is very clean and the staff was efficient and friendly. It is just a couple of blocks from the main square and the location seemed very safe. They booked a tour to Mombacho Volcano for us that included a nice hike and some great zipling, I highly recommend it.
An incredible value

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthSideMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

We've been to Granada twice before and seen/stayed in several hotels. Terrasol is by far the best hotel in Granada, at any price range. The location is VERY close to Parque Central (not sure how some people take ten minutes to get there?) and yet far enough away to not have a lot of night noise like they have right by the center. There are also no roosters nearby (If you've been to Nicaragua you can appreciate this.) to wake you up at 4am!

The rooms were very clean, and the rooms with the balcony were really cool. I would get A/C, as the second floor gets hot. You DEFINITELY DO NOT NEED HOT WATER in Granada for your shower, but it's so hot there even the cold water stream is pretty warm.

The service was friendly, familial, helpful and knowledgeable. It's very sad that the restaurant was closed when we were there. We heard that the chef suffered a heart attack. Just thought that was useful for folks to know, they didn't randomly shut down the restaurant. The breakfast was light, as free breakfast always is, but it was fine. I prefer to fill up on cut-up mango and pineapple bought from the street vendors anyway.

Everything was clean, comfortable bed, and a lot of the little extras that small Nica hotels often lack in this price range, like a bath mat and separate hand towel.

When I saw Terrasol had dropped to #3, I felt compelled to write and share to let everyone know it's the best hotel in Granada hands-down.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cincinnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

Victor & Katya were extremely friendly & professional. Their staff (Roberto & Jessica)were equally accomodating. Our every need was satisfied. Katya personally assisted in developing our itinerery for the week and made all the arrangements.
The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the view of the Cathedral and the historic district from our room was wonderful.
We ate at several Granada restaurants and we rate Hotel Terrasol's food and presentation the best. If you like pizza with a thin crust be sure to also eat at Monna Lisa.
Hotel Terrasol's location is one block from La Merced Cathedral - the best location to view the beautiful sunsets. A very short walk and you at the main Cathedral and the Central Park.
There is much to do in Granada and the surrounding towns. Katya arranged a Granada City Tour, a Las Isletas Tour, Mombacho & Canopy Tour, a Masaya Volcano Tour & Visit to the White Towns. We also spent a day relaxing and swimming on the shores of Laguna de Apoyo.
A Great Vacation. We recommend the Terrasol Hotel & Restaurant - a great value and wondeful & caring people.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobnBarbFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

This hotel is extremely clean, and comfortable. The food at the restaurant is the best we had in Granada. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

We were in Granada while the very popular Assumption festivities were taking place. Despite having limited vancancies, the owners were more than accomodating and regularly went beyond the call of duty to ensure my gorup and I were catered for.

The Hotel Terrasol restaurant was also exceptional. Interesting dishes cooked with fresh local ingredients.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrimpfriedrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Property: Hotel Terrasol
Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing