We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value!”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Value!”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

My boyfriend and his parents stayed at Hotel Terrasol for 2 nights last week and it was an incredible stay, definitely the BEST value fro your money in Granada. The owners are lovely people who are willing to offer any help and information. One of their staff even offered to go around town with my partner to help him get the best deal on a couple new tires for our truck, saving us a lot of money. It is obvious they take great pride in their hotel and have filled it will beautiful local art and personal touches.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious with queen sized beds, fans or A/C, tv's and beautiful, clean bathrooms.
The included breakfast is a simple coffee, juice, fruit and hard bun with butter and homemade jam. Definitely a decent offer for early morning, but left us stopping for a second breakfast soon after!
The only reason I've given a 4 instead of 5 on sleep quality is that the 2 rooms we had between the 4 of us were on the top floor and were very warm. Next time we will opt to spend slightly more and have the air conditioning!
All in all, amazing spot. You would be hard pressed to find another hotel that's a better value, in a better location, with better hospitality. Will definitely be back on my next trip to Granada!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lublooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    66
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
215
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

My wife and I had stayed at the Hotel Terrasol two years before shortly after it opened, and returned with friends after working to help build houses at Project Chacocente. It seemed like a luxury vacation, with Victor and Katya welcoming us with open arms and remembering who was a vegetarian and what room we liked, among other things. The food was so special after a steady diet of chicken, rice and beans for a week, and they arranged a great tour of Las Isletas. The Hotel Terrasol is like staying with family.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaiian Gardens, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I would recommend this to anyone who was travelling to Granada Nicaragua.

Victor and Katya are warm wonderful people who go out of their way to make everything special. They arranged many day trips and the drivers and firms were reputable and high quality. I always trusted their recommendations. The friend I was travelling with and myself had dietary restrictions which were accommodated at breakfast.

The staff were helpful and friendly and did all special requests with a smile.

I had my grandchildren visiting with me and they treated them like Aunts and Uncles.

I cannot recommend them more highly.

Thanks to you both.
Aside- Do not know how to change MY Location. I am from the Toronto area in Canada.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfollwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Because of the rave reviews on TripAdvisor we booked all 6 nights of our stay in Nicaragua at the Terrasol Hotel and we could not be happier! This truly is a home away
from home- clean, safe, warmly decorated, centrally located with comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms with private balconies that have great views of Mombacho
Volcano.

Most important for us, however, are the fantastic owners of this hotel, Victor and Katya.
They are among the best hosts that we have encountered in all our worldwide travels! Their friendliness and true desire to assist their guests permeates the entire atmosphere
of the hotel, resulting in a friendly and efficient staff and happy guests.

In addition to being great hosts, Victor and Katya perform minor miracles in the hotel restaurant kitchen, turning out such great meals that we ate here at least 50% of the
time, something we hardly ever do.

Katya arranged a Canopy tour with Tierra Tours for us that involved Ziplining 1500
meters down the slope of Mombacho Volcano (great fun). She later arranged a trip
with a private car and driver to San Juan del Sur for the day which gave us a much
greater appreciation of the diversity and lushness of Nicaragua.

To sum it up, the Terrasol is a great hotel at a very reasonable price, Granada is a
very historical city with interesting attractions and surroundings, and Victor and Katya
are fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TABlagunatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2010

What a great hotel this was!
Do not be misled by the comparatively low room rates. The quality is high. And this makes this hotel of such an excellent value! After several weeks travelling around Panama and Nicaragua and getting those half-broken, half-dirty rooms for the same price-range, Hotel Terrasol was an oasis (literally: a place of safety and sanctuary)! You are made to feel at home there!
We had planned to stay only one night in this hotel but kept returning, so we tried 3 different rooms there. All of the rooms were cosy and spotlessly clean, mattresses - very comfortable, bed linens- good quality.
The hotel is securely locked day and night, and it has a computer with internet for guests' use.
Breakfasts were great and dinners even better. The hotel has a marvellous restaurant with exceptional food and service. Do not miss their mouthwatering guava jam for breakfast and outstanding, memorable chocolate dessert for dinner!
The owners Katya and Victor are exceptional people! Locals, but speak fluent English that helps a lot. Extremely kindhearted and welcoming, intelligent and attentive to details, and ready to help with genuine sincerity. We experienced one problem in Nicaragua that had nothing to do with the hotel, but they did their best (totally out of what they had to do) to help us.
The place is absolutely recommended - both for sleeping and eating!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed 3 nights in this excellent hotel . We had a room with a balcony a view of Mombacho Volcano and the street below. Our room was immaculately clean, with a comfortable firm bed and air conditioning. The hot water was luke warm. The TV has a weath of English movies and TV programs. Fast internet is available, both wireless and at the public desktop.The location is very close to the square (a short walk).

Although some people have complained about the continential breakfast in the reviews, we found it to be very excellent. It consisted of a large croissant with butter and jam, a fresh fruit bowl, orange juice and coffee. The service was excellent.

The Hotel is a exhibition area of central american art. Art covers the walls. We enjoyed this immensely.

The hosts were Nicaraguans who spoke excellent English and were always asking if you needed anything? Victor and Katya arranged to have a driver to take us to Masaya and Mirador Catarina. They are a tremendous resource for information about the best places to visit in Granda and Nicaragua. They are a wonderful couple who strive to create warm and welcoming environment. We considered their efforts a great success. AVictor is a chef. I ate his creations two out of the three nights and they were excellent. The Calabaza Bisque is outstanding as is the Pork Tenderloin dish. You must eat there.

The Hotel Terrasol is great place to stay in Granada. We would recommend it to everyone and plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landrover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork,Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stay 3 nights here in this boutique hotel . The room with the balcony was fantastic with a view to Mombacho Volcano, and the local life on the streets. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The owners were extrememly helpful with advice for touring the town as well as recommending an excellent tour to Masaya. There were also English language movies on TV! The location is only 3 blocks from the main square. The restaurant was excellent in the evening. The only minor complaint would be the breakfast which was included in the price wasn´t great. Other than that it was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkcam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#14 of 43 in Granada
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#24 of 43 in Granada
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Property: Hotel Terrasol
Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing