We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run by local people who speak fluent english, with love for their business”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This is a hotel where you need to stay when you want to enjoy Nicaragua. The owners know exactly what a traveller needs, like laundry service, wifi, and good information about the beautiful city Granada. What we really liked is that they don't allow any child abuse in their hotel, which is the biggest downside of this city/country.
We slept very well in the quiet room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karintroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Terrasol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

we stayed at this hotel in April 2010 and really cannot find fault with it.

the owners and their team at the hotel offer a service nothing short of excellent (and with the all important personal, local touch). from helping with tours and directions to supplying us with a complimentary packed lunch for our early bus journey down to san jose every aspect of your well being is considered.

the hotel is also in a cracking part of town and you will find all the sites within striking distance as well as feeling a part of the town and local culture.

this really is a unique hotel and completes the great experience that is Granada.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zone1Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We thought all of the ´typical´ features of this hotel were very satisfactory for the rate but what converted us to giving Terrasol a strong recommendation was the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff as this went above and beyond what is ´typical´.
Especially from the oweners Victor and Catya, a good example being on our first morning, when they were very deliberate in taking time to introduce themselves and provide us with a map of Granada then talk about what we wanted from our visit and give advise from a local perspective on how best to get this.
They have also gone to more than usual effort to make their hotel warm and welcoming, including to furnish it with a lot of local art and craft.
We had a back room, and did get woken up early every morning by church bells, but it was our choice to sleep with the shutters open (we had friends staying in another room who slept with their shutters closed, and said they had no problems).
I would recommend to anyone and would stay again myself if we went back to Granada.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwilizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The attentive owners make this a great place to stay. We should have planned to stay longer.
Hotel Terrasol is close to everthing and offers very safe surroundings. You'll enjoy Hotel Terrasol

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalfbackHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We were referred to the Hotel Terrasol by a frequent traveler to Granada and his recommendation was very good. For a budget hotel, we couldn't have had better treatment. Victor and Catya, the owners, were wonderful. They are very busy now as they have just opened up a backpacker's hotel (Hostel La Casita; lacasita23@gmail.com) as well, but they and their staff took good care of us. Our only disappointment was that the hotel restaurant was closed for the month of May, as it is usually slow and they use the time to do maintenance. Victor is a well known chef, so we had been looking forward to tasting his fare. He did recommend a great place, but I can't remember the spelling.
They arranged some great tours for us at very reasonable prices.
The only negative is something they can't do anything about, and that is that the Nicaraguans like to set off fireworks, sometimes very early in the morning, especially on a Saint's day. So if you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room towards the back. Just part of the culture. Also, if you crave hot showers, you don't find them in most of Central America.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mousecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Hotel Terrasol in Granada, Nicaragua
Run by Victor and Kattya, a couple of locals who lived in the United States for over 10 years, Hotel TerraSol has been a great place for us to stay while we’ve been in Granada, Nicaragua.
Terrasol is about 4 blocks walking to the central park in Granada, and just two blocks from the tallest tower on the La Merced church in Granada, where you can overlook the entire city for a measly 20 Cordoba ($1) entry fee.
Despite this close proximity to everything, Hotel Terrasol is quiet in the evenings, and a great place to launch from for touristy activities during the day.
Victor was also a corporate chef during their time in the US (in California) and the meals he cooks in the restaurant downstairs are really delicious (think gourmet) and inexpensive.


My only complaints about the hotel:
- Our air conditioner (yes! They have excellent air conditioned rooms!) Our AC actually works, and a hotel with an air conditioned room comes recommended in Nicaragua. Anyway, our air conditioner would condense the humidity in our room and drip onto the floor. To catch the water, we took the trash can from the bathroom. To prevent the “ploink” sound of dripping water, we put a hand towel in it to catch the drips. However, the condensation still dripped all night and had to be emptied from the full bucket of water in the morning.

I complained about this and it was fixed very quickly.

- Hotel Terrasol says their showers have hot water… it’s more like half warmish water – at least it was in our room. But it’s beside the point because Nicaragua is really hot, and the cool/warmish shower actually feels pretty nice.
If those are my only complaints, you can imagine that at $40/night, Hotel Terrasol is a pretty great place to stay.
Our stay included a continental breakfast, which was basically a croissant, coffee, and a cup of fruit, but it’s central America, where it’s hot, and that’s enough food to carry me through the whole day (I’m just not hungry here in CA). The Internet works downstairs, but not in the rooms which is actually fine because it’s mellow downstairs and it’s a nice place to meet people.

We didn’t know how long we would stay in Granada, and Kattya and Victor have been able to accommodate us saying “one more night?” for three nights in a row.

Oh, and I didn’t mention the art yet, but the walls are adorned with awesome art from Granada’s local artists. Staying in the hotel lets you see some great art from some of Granada’s best artists (and it’s for sale too)!

We definitely recommend Hotel Terrasol for your visit to Granada, Nicaragua.

Say hi to Victor and Kattya from Carrie and Jonathan. (We think they'll remember us... and never hurts to have a good word put in for us if/when we return to Granada to stay at Hotel Terrasol again.)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrieandjonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Terrasol was a nice hotel, clean and very convinient. I didn't care for the windows.
The rooms have a tiny window, you feel inclosed. I would not stay for that reason.
There is no place to relax except the dining room. The staff was wonderful.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank jinogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#26 of 45 in Granada
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#17 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#28 of 45 in Granada
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#24 of 45 in Granada
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £21 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing