We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrific Experience”
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Xalteva
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Terrific Experience”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I recently rented a two bedroom condominium at Hotel Xalteva and had a wonderful time. The place itself is extremely comfortable -modern with all the necessary amenities including ceiling fans and air conditioning. The staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make your stay a more pleasant one. Xalteva is located in walking distance to the center of town, and is in a safe, residential area. Breakfast is served every morning either near the pool or on your patio -delicious fresh fruit, granola and yogurt. And Yvania makes sure she gives you a generous portion, always with a huge smile! Jay and Cathy, the owners, as well as Jennifer and/or Melissa, give wonderful advice as to restaurants and sightseeing trips. After a short time, you really feel "at home" and sad about leaving. I would recommend Xalteva without hesitaion, and look forward to returning there soon.

Room Tip: Any one of the condos is fine, but if you have difficulty with stairs, then I recommend you rent a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyp37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
We are happy that your enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for recognizing our staff members by name. Ivania was especially happy to see her name mentioned. Our staff members are highly qualified and they serve with a smile because they are naturally happy people with a positive outlook on life. We are so glad that you were able to feel that as well and hope to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
87
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I just came back from my trip to Nicaragua. I rented a condo at the Hotel Xalteva! Although there was some mis-communication about me needing two beds in a room, Jay (owner) honored my request and placed an extra blow up bed for the nights I needed my driver to stay the night. I can't say enough for the people who helped me who really went above and beyond to make me feel like home. Jennifer (receptionist) was by far my favorite, because she always had a "Can do" attitude. I didn't care much for the rest of the people there-- as they weren't so "inviting". They always have someone guarding the location but (Jackson) the night security made it feel so it's safe.They have all the amenities that you can think of which made it all the easier for me to cook and bake on days I wanted a nice dinner at my home away from home. I lost my credit card in Nicaragua- so Jay let me pay via pay-pal, which truly saved me! All in all the location is VERY clean, SAFE and the two people I mentioned were VERY nice... I might just come back!

Room Tip: There is no fitness center- and no restaurant, just fyi. They do have a laptop they allow you to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although there was a misunderstanding with your reservation, our staff, acted quickly and worked with Jay, the owner, to create a mutually beneficial solution. We are so glad you noticed that! Our highly trained personal work hard so guests feel comfortable. Upon check out, I heard very nice things about you and your mother from all of our staff members. It surprises me that you did not feel the same way about our team and hope you return again someday to see just how special they are. Again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our stay at Hotel Xalteva was one of the big highlights of our two-week trip to Nicaragua! They were SO comfortable and perfect for our family reunion. We rented two two-bedroom suites with kitchens and livingrooms and one separate bedroom for our in-laws. Everyone was comfortable and we all enjoyed gathering around the pool. We were surprised at how well finished the woodwork and details were, along with the unique set-up of the pool. The breakfasts of coffee, a big bowl of fruit with yogurt and pastries were a nice way to start the day. We spent New Year's Eve at the hotel and it was perfect! From the second floor, we set up a long dinner table and watched fireworks explode across the whole city for more than half an hour. There were so many fireworks we didn't even know where to look in the sky! It's an experience we'll never forget and the hotel has such a great view of it all.

We also enjoyed visiting with the guests that were staying there as well...we even shared New Year's dinner with some of them! It felt like a small community of fellow travelers, each of us sharing what we explored that day. The staff was incredibly helpful. My son was able to get onto the front desk computer and print out his homework. I heard they have since added a computer in the lobby for guests to use. We'll definitely come back to Granada and when we do, we'll stay at Hotel Xalteva!

Room Tip: We liked the second floor because of the great views. Any room would be fine, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for spending time at Hotel Xalteva. It was a pleasure to host you and your family while you enjoyed your stay in Nicaragua. We try to accommodate all of our guests and will be happy to welcome you back. Since your Trip Advisor review, we have since fixed our guest computer and now, once again, guests have a computer to use in our office for all of their emailing, homework and research needs! Have a great 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Great location and service to stay when you are in Granada Nicaragua. Hotel Xalteva Calle Obispo Ulloa ½ cuadra norte Trillo Santa Rosa Granada, Nicaragua is conveniently located and only a few blocks away from the Cathedral, the Parque Central and Calle La Calzada. We never felt unsafe at night time walking back from Calle La Calzada (where the main action seems to be) to the hotel. Xalteva is a small, well and tastefully renovated of what used to be an old property. It has a private and secure car park within the boundary walls so we didn’t have to worry about our rental 4X4 SUV. A simple but fresh breakfast is being served either next to swimming pool on your balcony. Xalteva has probably just over a dozen units, which are designed as a Main living room with two adjacent bedroom units. The room which we had was on the second floor. We were lucky that the ‘next door Main Suite’ (and the other bedroom) were not occupied when we stayed there as we had the balcony in front of our room for ourselves. Although the amenities are all brand new there was neither a safe (safety deposit box) nor a hairdryer in the two twin bedroom we had. My recommendation is to book a larger room or a suite as the boutique environment is excellent. We are fortunate to have traveled extensively and have had good experiences in boutique type hotels. I can safely say that the overall experience and service at Xalteva was excellent and therefore have no hesitation to recommend you to stay here. The staff is very friendly. And the Manager Melissa Lombardo goes absolutely the additional mile as it comes to assisting you in whatever you wish to plan in Granada or Nicaragua. Melissa is very knowledgeable about the Nica tourism industry and sorted us out with booking a car ferry from San Jorge to Moyogalpa as well as getting us accommodation on Isla de Ometepe and a guide to climb Volcan Maderas, during the high season period.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allard-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,
It was wonderful to have you both stay with us and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Meeting you both was a pleasure and we hope to see you again. Yes, you are correct to say that we do not have a hairdryer in the room. Currently we have two in our office for guests to borrow. You are also correct to recommend a full suite with kitchen facilities and a safe deposit box. We are currently looking into buying safes for all of the rooms but for now, guests staying in the rooms can use our office safe for their added comfort and security. Looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Our family of five had a very nice stay at Hotel Xalteva. We spent 10 evenings here in November 2012. The facility itself is beautiful, the rooms are great, and our kids loved the pool. What really sets Xalteva apart is the entire staff. They are always available to help, they are all very warm, kind people, and they are great with kids. We really enjoyed getting to know them.

This is an excellent place for families. Some previous reviewers have mentioned that the location is a bit removed from the main tourist area of Granada. However, please don't let this dissuade you from staying here. Granada is a VERY walkable city, and we rarely used taxis when we went out to eat. It is about a 15 minute walk to the main square. If walking isn't your thing - taxis are everywhere and they are very cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckywi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you so much for your review. You were truly wonderful guests and we were happy to host your family for your Nicaraguan reunion. You are correct to say that although we are not in the city center this should not dissuade others from choosing Hotel Xalteva. Our location is perfect for anyone looking to meet other travelers, disconnect from the city center and have a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Hotel Xalteva is a virtual Eden right next to the center of the city of Granada. The rooms are spacious, clean, and really wrap you up in luxury and comfort. The staff were very friendly and helpful whenever they could be. Melissa in particular gave a fine tour of the facility and some wonderful suggestions for activities while I was in Granada. The family friendly nature of the hotel and the convenient access to shops and restaurants makes it an easy recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. When guests such as yourself notice the finer points it makes my job all the more satisfying. We at Hotel Xalteva have very special guests and we try to make sure each individual is comfortable. Hope to see you again someday in Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Melissa, Luis and Fatima and the rest of the staff were fantastic. Melissa went out of her way to make sure we had the best experience possible (and is a native English speaker, which made our poor Spanish skills tolerable). She organized drivers and guides for day trips for us which added to our Nicaraguan holiday. Our room was comfortable, fresh fruit and coffee/tea for breakfast by the pool which is a relaxing courtyard with plenty of shade. Hotel is a short, 5 minute walk to the town square. Very highly recommended for short or long term stays. A gem!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drbrewdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Here at Hotel Xalteva we strive to bring the best possible service. We appreciate that you have recognized our employees and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.8 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Property: Hotel Xalteva
Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 43000, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Green Hotel in Granada
#8 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing