We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memory For A Lifetime!”
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Xalteva
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Memory For A Lifetime!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Condo Xalteva is a wonderful place to stay in the exciting city of GranadaThe pool is lovely and the unit is spacious and well-equipped..Breakfasts are delicious and healthy!It is interesting and fun to sit and chat with the other guests from around the globe.The staff is outstanding!Everyone is so accommodating...arranging trips to awesome places around Granada , making dinner reservations , and helping ...wherever needed!Melissa , Fatima , Jenn , Luis ...ALL the staff are outstanding.They did it all , including getting us tickets to a championship baseball game in Granada!Granada is an enchanting city. You can walk to everything in town from the Condo.People are very friendly and we always felt safe , even when walking at night!Anyone looking for relaxing holiday that they will remember for a lifetime should book at Condos Xalteva.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathOMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you so much for your review, I feel so proud of all of our staff knowing that they work around the clock to help our guests. That was a very exciting game played by the Granada Tiborones, Sharks in English. Here at Hotel Xalteva we offer a complete concierge service to help make each guest have a memorable vacation. We can also reserve special trips and plan special events. Thank you so much for your fine review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    33
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
86
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

From the moment we arrived (middle of the night) to the time we left (3am on Easter Sunday!) we loved every minute of our weeklong stay to volunteer with Education Plus, in the barrio, and enjoy the city. Giovanni, our taxi driver and Francisco the 24 hr guard who carried our luggage were so welcoming. Manager Melissa made sure we had a purified water jug in our room and offered to leave us a pizza for a late night snack! The next morning we were greeted poolside by fresh fruit and sweet bread -- huge smiles from Maria -- who was always helpful. Evankia delighted my children, exchanging English words for Spanish while she made our breakfast. Luiz made my kids laugh -- he was always kidding around. Fatima and Jenn were always helpful with directions, tour details, etc. Manager Melissa is a wealth of information. She recommended the best restaurants, sent us a daily email of city activities we shouldn't miss, and was our Granada ambassador, constantly making sure we were having a good time. She even hooked us up with an amazing woman at the library, so we could volunteer in an additional way. Our room! Oh yes! That was super too -- second floor, two bedrooms, two both. Full kitchen and dining room. Clean and comfortable. Wonderful views. Hotel is located just the right distance from downtown -- it's in a residential area -- so it's quiet, but walkable to the action in the city center. There's a 24 hr guard, so it's very safe. The pool is fun and warm. There's an Eskimo ice cream company very nearby that delighted our kids. We would definitely stay here again. The staff is incredible....we really felt like they were our extended family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuitcaseCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest,
No one can do anything alone and we are glad you had such a great experience at Hotel Xalteva. Each guest, each staff member and each outside provider be it the library, the education project where you volunteered your time, the local restaurants and the driver who attended to you during your stay are all integral parts of our success here at Hotel Xalteva. We are able to offer you so much because we strive to work with the best individuals and local businesses who are in line with our mission.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Your motivation to seek out more is commendable and what you are teaching to future generations...your two daughters is touching. The energy you brought to Nicaragua is still here at Hotel Xalteva and you will be remembered for it.

As you also mentioned that we offered to order you dinner for your late arrival as well as placed a bottle of purified water in your room prior to your arrival. As part of providing continued high quality service, we now offer a grocery list for guests wishing to have their entire refrigerator filled as well as an increased menu of food options for late night check in's as well as special events.

Thank you so much and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a great little hotel with a beautiful pool. They are away from all night noise but close enough to still walk to all the places you want to go to. Great staff as well very friendly and helpful, if ever in area again will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puravidatraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you valued guest!
We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please note that we now have a Facebook account so that you might be in contact with all of your friends at Hotel Xalteva. We are listed under condominiumsxalteva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while in Granada. Wish we stay here for our whole trip while in Nicaragua. Can't beat the price, free small breakfast (muffins and fruit bowl w/ yogurt), excellent service from manager Melissa and swift email responses from owner Jay. Very clean rooms with individual warm showers. We stayed during Valentine's Day and the staff left chocolates and towels in the shape of swans in our room. Although this is in a safe part of town, the hotel is in the outskirts of Granada (still only 5-10min slow walk to the city center). There is a 24-hr security guard that watch the hotel. My boyfriend got food poisoning during the trip in the middle of the night, and the security guard (who could not speak english) was kind enough to walk me to the only pharmacy open at 11pm to get medication. The pool is gorgeous and clean, and a great way to relax. Free towel service for pool.

I rec'd this hotel to everyone of all ages. There were a few families staying from days to weeks while we were there. The environment is quiet and still a stone's throw from all the city action. My boyfriend and I were able to enjoy the bars and restaurants in the city, and then walk back alone around midnight to our room without a problem.

**Make sure to tell you taxi to bring you to XALTEVA CONDOS (and not the hotel). There is another hotel with the same name, so drivers won't know where to take you.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad to have been a service. We offer a variety of amenities to help customize unforgettable moments. We are so happy you enjoyed the details. You are also correct to say that we have a name similar to another location. Casa Xalteva Spanish school is nearby to Hotel Xalteva and some taxi drivers have tried to drop guests off at the other location. We now offer an map and driving instructions to send incoming guests by email if they ask for it and hope that will facilitate travels. Thank you so much.

Great accommodations are only the beginning at Condo/Hotel Xalteva. Please ask to speak with Melissa Lombardo, our Operations Manager and Onsite Tour and Activity planner to see what Condos/Hotel Xalteva can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel/condo Xalteve is an excellant place to stay in Granada, Nicaragua. My wife and I were there 5 nights and our married children and grandchildren staye d there 5 weeks. The hotel manager is super helpful in answering questions, getting you places and suggestions on all kinds of businesses you may need. I can not say enought about all the hotel staff from the housekeepers, maintenance men and woman, night guards etc. They treated our family as their own.
The condos are only a 10 minute walk to the Central Park of town where everything happens. It is a fun experience and well worth the time and money spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Staff at Condo/Hotel Xalteva are here to help. Owners, Jay and Kathy Snyder are so proud of their team of talented individuals headed their Operations Manager Melissa Lombardo, Ivania, Ana and Maria Jose of the cleaning team, Jackson and Francisco on Security, Nelson and Luis onsite, full time maintenance members, and Jenniffer and Fatima of reception staff are all onsite and available for assistance to help make your stay pleasant and comfortable. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again...in fact we had the honor of hosting your family again for a few days and it was a joy knowing that they wanted to return to Hotel Xalteva!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stumbled upon this adorable hotel for two days in Granada. Located a short walk away from main square, it's a very beautiful, well-maintained hotel. Condos are available, as well as simple rooms which are very clean. Pool is perfect. The architecture of this hotel is amazing. You don't even feel like you are in the center of a city once you enter the gates. Small breakfast provided of fresh fruit and pastries. Staff is super friendly and helpful. They're really doing it right at Hotel Xalteva!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hals888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
We appreciate your attention to details. Our Hotel Xalteva is constructed in colonial fashion and being in a residential section of town we really fit in with our surroundings. Coming into the Hotel is like being transported into an oasis of peace and tranquility and our light breakfast is the perfect way to start your day.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Sincerely,
Jay, Melissa and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Fabulous hotel and suites. We had a suite with a huge living room and full kitchen. Everything was great, nice to have a pool to cool off in after hot days. Only thing is the distance from the main restaurant row. It's a short and cheap taxi ride but can be a long walk to evening activities after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruggedtraveldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. Hotel Xalteva provides a full range of activity, restaurant and transport recommendations and being a bit off the city center we are more than happy to arrange a taxi to and from your destination points so that you can relax and enjoy all that Granada has to offer.
We hope to see you again,
Sincerely,
Jay, Melissa and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.8 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Property: Hotel Xalteva
Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 43000, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Green Hotel in Granada
#8 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing